We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cleveland Thermal Resort

Show Prices
#11 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Cleveland Thermal Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

512 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cleveland Thermal Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 485: English reviews
Porirua, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Cleveland was well situated, very handy to town and also the luge. Very clean and tidy, quite and great bedding. Children friendly great area for them to play and the pool was kept at a good temperature. Friendly staff from the great people at the desk to the cleaners.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjavison
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you, we are very happy with where we are located making it nice an central for the majority of locations within Rotorua, making it easier for our guests to tour our beautiful city. We are extremely happy that you found the new beds comfortable. We are looking at some improvement within the pool area to make it even better...

Rushden, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights and had a great time. The swimming pool and trampoline were a hit with the kids and the mineral pools were a bonus. The room was clean but very dated. The rooms are going through a re-furbishment which is much needed,sadly ours hadn't.One big negative was that there was a 3% charge for overseas...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam S
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Cleveland. We get a lot of great comments about the pools and the trampolines. Unfortunately we cannot refurbish all rooms at once, however be assured they are a constant work in progress to bring the rooms back up to a modern standard. We are sorry about the...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The room was clean and fresh. The grounds are tidy and family friendly. The pool is fantastic. The warm water was just what we needed . I had trouble getting in and out without anything to hold on to. Thanks for a lovely stay

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wendyhQ3523SA
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the response. Our team take great pride in their work and I will pass the comments onto them. The pool is due to be refurbished and I look at getting a handrail installed to assist with getting up and down the pool stairs. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We were 2 families 10 people we all said we would love to come back and stay. The pool is very deep so life jackets for the young ones but also the challenge of the deep pool has helped my children's swimming improve. Great outdoor area for BBQ and play.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wardnat
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

It was great seeing the kids swimming improve while you were here and that you enjoyed the spacious bbq and play area. We are planning on putting a toddlers pool in as part of our improvements program to cater for the less confident swimmers. Looking forward to seeing you all again!

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Great spot for our family of six. Plenty of room, the pool is fantastic and warm. Mineral pools were also a hit. Friendly and very helpful host too. Would definitely come back here, and recommend to families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sezlinc
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

Thank you! We are very happy that you were able to relax and have so much fun with the kids! We highly recommend that kids be kids and have fun! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip and be able to show you the upgrades that are planned.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Nice room with comfortable beds. Great for kids with heated pool and trampolines. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Received discount voucher for Thermal park. Good location, close to town. Parking out front.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wimm45
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

We are glad that you found the new beds comfortable and got a great nights sleep! Having the kids running around happily playing is important to us and giving them the freedom to be kids is a must! Looking forward to your next stay! The team @ The Cleveland

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I must say we were only looking to stay here for one night and loved it so much we stayed three. Best recommendations, close to everything and great facilities for children. The pool was great and good BBQs. A great area with trampolines etc for children to play in and also you get to experience thermal pools. Because of Shelly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

It was great having you stay with us and letting us use our knowledge to help you plan your holiday! We love the sound of kids having fun. Happy children = happy parents! Looking forward to your next stay with us, and we'll show you a lot more of our beautiful city!

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 January 2017

My hubby, myself and our youngest son love coming to stay here a couple nights every 3-4 months just so we can get away from everyday life in Hamiltion, we especially love the heated controlled pool where you can swim in it all year round, night or early morning, which we enjoy best, summer or winter we always enjoy our...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulaj90
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

We are glad to see you still enjoy coming and staying with us here. We certainly enjoy the heated pools as well and cannot wait to show you the new upgrades as they progress!

Pukekohe, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The unit we had is due to be upgraded this year, but we had no complaints. The living/sleeping area was very comfortable, lovely beds and bedding. The kitchen and bathroom were large but showing signs of age. However everything was very clean. Great service from Tim.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary L
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed the new beds. They certainly are very comfortable, and we look forward to showing you the new upgrades on your return back to the Cleveland. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Orewa, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Once again we had the most amazing stay at the resort. 4 1/2 years on from having our wedding weekend there, we were there once again as a family and the hosts outdid themselves again. There is no better place to stay in Rotorua than here. We will return. Barry & Rhonda Thomas, Orewa

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 447barry
ShelleyTim, Manager at The Cleveland Thermal Resort, responded to this review

It was a great pleasure having you back here at the Cleveland! It was great seeing the kids enjoying themselves and having such a great time and we look forward to seeing you guys back in the future to expand on the family memories and adventures!

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.0 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
641 reviews
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.7 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
363 reviews
3.0 km away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Econo Lodge Cleveland. Econo Lodge Cleveland is perfectly situated only minutes from both Rotorua's lake front and city centre, and in close proximity to many leading tourist attractions. Econo Lodge Cleveland is an outstanding accommodation option for those visiting this tourist haven in the central North Island. Set in over 2 acres of spacious grounds with manicured lawns and beautiful gardens, the motel also offers a great outdoor heated pool, two hot thermal mineral pools, and a large children's playground area. Our comfortable rooms and amenities make Econo Lodge Cleveland the perfect accommodation choice for couples getaways, large groups, and in particular, family holidays. We have plenty of parking for boats, trailers, second cars or large vehicles, and with our location within walking distance of the markets at the lake, the central city, and the hospital, we are ideal for those without transportation too. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cleveland Thermal Resort

Address: 113-119 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Econo Lodge Cleveland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $129 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cleveland Thermal Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Cleveland Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland Hotel Rotorua
Cleveland Motel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#13 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cleveland Thermal Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Cleveland Thermal Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“One bedroom units are at the back and very quiet. Adjoin play / BBQ area”
 of 5 bubbles Cathy255118, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bring own towels for pools as other than the room towels which was advised not to be used at the pool, you can hire some towels from office for $2 (I think) for the duration of your stay. Other than that the room was tidy and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 145alexw, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Overnight stop while touring”
 of 5 bubbles Wookie1957, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles 842SamS842, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ear plugs just in case you're a light sleeper (thermal pump makes a humming sound at night) Apart from that it's great!”
 of 5 bubbles 70jjk, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5