We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Union Victoria Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Union Victoria Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 145: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights when we went to Rotorua. The room wasn't overly large, but we also didn't spend a lot of time in it. We found the owner/manager to be very friendly and helpful - he couldn't do enough for you if you needed something. The motel was very conveniently situated for everything we needed - a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a group of Thirteen and six of them were Intellectually Disabled. Great value, Very Friendly and Helpful. Staff and Owner were amazing, nothing was a bother. Great facilities, the swimming pool was used every day , they also have a spa pool and two mineral pools. The games room up stairs was used a lot also. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dioz155
Yue S, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! It is good to know the boys enjoyed their trip here. It is our pleasure to serve you guys! Hope to see you again in the future! Yue

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a single travelling 'backpacker,' I never expect much, as I've stayed in some not so pleasant places. On arrival the lady who checked me in, was stern but was quick and efficient to show me to my room (maybe could have helped take my bags upstairs.) Room was bigger than expected, good spacious bed, kitchen equipped with everything and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladiee-bugg
Beerwah, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2016

One always says first impressions are a key to a good start. Well when we arrived it had been raining slightly was cold and there was no person at reception. Rang the bell to watch a person who we now know was the receptionist/proprietor walking between buildings and in a world of her own. She did glance at us but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We had a great couple of nights here. Rooms were very spacious which was perfect with a little one in tow. Hot pools were lovely and relaxing and the room was well heated. Had all the facilities we needed and staff / owner was friendly and accommodating. Will definitely return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whanau123
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Will never go back there we felt unwelcome pool was closed a hole day but when a tour of Chinese came in the pool was open I ask why and he said we were others rooms need to be up dated. When we at friends come over to say hello they would come over to them and say go your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tmtanz
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review

Hi, You can never come back again, because we no longer accept Work and Income paid family. Your accommodation was not paid by your family, it was paid by Work and Income ie Ministry of Social Development, literally paid by tax payers. Work and Income required us to accept the families that could not find a rental house and cannot...

Noumea, New Caledonia, South Pacific
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Hi it was good with thermal system keeps room hot hood hot pools and spa with mineral spa rooms where clean wifi was average not bad also near bye city centre and they clean the rooms daily basis they have sky channels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noumeadutyfree
tokoroa
Reviewed 24 July 2016

we have stayed at the Union on several different occasions and have always found it a great central place with friendly hosts and everything we need at hand which is why we always returned. We didn't realise there were new owners so booked another stay. The lady that served us was quite rude and wanted extra payment for a 2nd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaynetarnO
Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review! But I need to tell the other people what happened that day. You stay was paid by Flybuy points. As the motel policy, we asked for your credit card for a bond, but you refused to do so. When you checked in, you came as a couple. but when you got into the room,...

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Been hear for three nights with my family. The hotel is very old and tired and every thing almost broken the beds are not comfertable, and the room is Not very clean. But the owner tries to give a good service ... The location is not bad

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 636talt
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here because I remember staying as a kid (don't ask). Just as I remembered, really nice and comfortable, pools are great and owners try really hard to make your stay enjoyable. Excellent value and very clean. I loved my stay and happy to recommend to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kadinmac

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 km away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
112 reviews
1.1 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#49 of 93 in Rotorua
21 reviews
0.1 km away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#33 of 93 in Rotorua
111 reviews
0.3 km away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
79 reviews
0.0 km away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Union Victoria Motel

Address: 26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $117 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Victoria Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Union Victoria Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Victoria Hotel
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Union Victoria Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Union Victoria Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can't manage stairs, you'd need to ask for a ground floor room, as there are first floor rooms as well.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper level room if you don't have too much luggage to carry up the narrow stairs and hope the décor is updated.”
 of 5 bubbles G7399CDbrianc, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“L1 is accessed via stairs, if you need easy acess choose ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles HouseofJode, 2 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All of the rooms were lovely but I think a room upstairs is best.”
 of 5 bubbles ZaJaMa3, 15 Feb 2015 | Read review
“corner second floor suit sunny and roomy”
 of 5 bubbles ediface, 8 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay