We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dawson Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Dawson Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Start your review of The Dawson Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The motel was warm and comfortable, breakfast was yum and arrived at the time rerquested. Clean amenities. Easy parking and tidy environment. Barb (host) was welcoming. Free Wi-Fi. Definitely stay again!! :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review on The Dawson Motel. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast- nothing says your on holiday more than breakfast in bed! We do our best to keep the motel to a high standard of cleanliness, both in the rooms and out! We hope to have you again. Kind Regards, Barb and Lloyd

Morrinsville, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a long weekend in New Plymouth at the Dawson. Clean, comfortable, modern and quiet. Friendly and helpful owners. Handy location with a short stroll to resturants and shops.. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aidsnang
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review on The Dawson Motel. We are glad you enjoyed your long weekend away with us. We do our best to be able to help in anyway we can to ensure an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for the recommendation, we definatley appreciate it. Kind Reagrds, Barb and Lloyd

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very well appointed room. good quality and fresh fixtures and fittings with very comfortable bed. Very close to town and Len Lye centre and museum. Also sea views with a lovely walk along promenade.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjrouse
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review on The Dawson Motel. We do our best to keep our rooms to a high quality so we are glad this is recognised. We certainly are lucky to be such a short distance from town!! Kind Regards, Barb and Lloyd

Mandurah
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Looks like a typical motel but the rooms were very comfortable, from the bed to the bathroom. Modern clean and inviting. Quiet at night, when it counts. Travelling around the south and north islands we've stayed in some expensive shockers. This was well worth the relatively modest tariff. Staff are super friendly. Close to town, a short pleasant coastal walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zigzagMandurah
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. Here at The Dawson Motel we do our best to make sure our rooms are kept to a high standard so our guests enjoy their time with us. We are glad that we stood out on your trip around NZ. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday. Kind Regards,...

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely, clean and new. No sound from street or other rooms. Short walk to restaurants and bars and best of all a wonderfully comfortable bed! Great value for money, friendly helpful staff, will go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbMason
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review on The Dawson Motel, we are glad you enjoyed our bed, we get a lot of great feedback from our guests about them, nothing is better than a comfortable rest while your away! We hope to see you again! Kind Regards, Barb and Lloyd

Italy
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Very clean and modern motel. The internet was fast and we liked how there was an air conditioner in the room. I was really surprised that there was no noise from the upstairs, i have to say that this is the only one we have stayed at where you cannot hear foot traffic from above. Friendly staff including the cleaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klara V
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We have just had our internet updated and good to get the feedback on it. We pleased you found the room nice and quiet our double glazed windows and concrete floors between levels certainly helps. We hope to have you stay again- hopefully in better weather next time! Kind regards, Barb and Lloyd

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Very nice and clean Motel- perfect getaway with my partner ... Unfortunately the "Kitchenette" only had a microwave. I appreciated that u could lend some bikes - but they need more looking after- poor bikes were soooo rusty!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ximena T
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review on The Dawson Motel, we are glad you enjoyed your getaway. As explained in the room descriptions our smaller units do only feature a kitchenette -Mircowave, jug and toaster- however our larger units do offer full kitchens if you were wanting to cook. Our bikes are very popular, because of this we do our...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We had a twin room (one king bed, one king single) for 2 adults and our child (6 years old) for one night and the room was perfect - good beds, well equipped kitchen and nice, modern bathroom with fab shower. Motel is very close to boardwalk and city center with good food options, but because the weather was bad...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingET
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review on The Dawson Motel. Our twin rooms are a great fit for families. Its a shame you didn't get a chance to walk along our beautiful walkway, hopefully you will get the chance to come again with better weather!! Hope to see you again, Kind Regards, Barb and Lloyd

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, well maintained bikes free to borrow, clean rooms, great location with only short walk to city centre and good food options. Would highly reccomend and be back again! Thanks for a nice stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonNZL
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Hi Simon Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Dawson Motel. We really appreciate the recommendation and we look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards Barb and Lloyd

Porirua, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We booked for a longer stay (8 nights) and would recommend Dawson Motel for short stays. Location is very good. Walking distance to Coastal Walkway, Puke Ariki, mall, cafes and restaurants, and other walks. Cleanliness excellent, including the laundry facilities. Room servicing always within the stated time frame - we never came back to an unserviced room. Only downside was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonJen
dawsonNewPlymouth, Owner at The Dawson Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time for writing a lovely review on The Dawson Motel, we find our long term guests usually find their stay more comfortable when they book a larger unit such as our one or two bedrooms, this way they have more space which really makes it a home away from home -especially when your in there...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.3 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
282 reviews
1.7 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
176 reviews
1.0 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
222 reviews
2.0 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located in New Plymouth The Dawson Motel opened in January 2011 providing affordable luxury for our guests.Whether visiting New Plymouth for business or pleasure , The Dawson Motel is the ideal destination for those seeking comfort and superior service.Guests can enjoy stylish interiors in our 23 suites with 19 studios with a number interconnecting to give greater flexibility, two one bedroom and two two bedroom suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dawson Motel

Address: 16 Dawson Street | Cbd, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: $151 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Dawson Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dawson Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
#1 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dawson Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even ground-floor rooms are quiet (one level above ground-floor).”
 of 5 bubbles travellingET, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Seaview is standing at kitchen only, not sitting down in the lounge.”
 of 5 bubbles WellingtonJen, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Unit 19 is upstairs in the corner, so nice and quiet”
  • Dawson Motel, Unit 19 master bedroom
  • Dawson Motel, Unit 19 kitchen
  • Dawson Motel, Unit 19 lounge/dining/TV
  • Dawson Motel, Unit 19 master bedroom
  • Dawson Motel, Unit 19 lounge/dining
  • Dawson Motel, Unit 19 spa bath & shower
  • Dawson Motel, Unit 19 shower
  • Dawson Motel, Unit 19 bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Tribe_Mooresy, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms closer to reception get better wifi connection”
 of 5 bubbles schaafgreg, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Best views upstairs, convenient downstairs both with sea views”
 of 5 bubbles T8996RWrobinm, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5