We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Waterfront

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 February 2017

Had a two night stay at the Waterfront Hotel which I highly recommend. The staff were wonderful - very friendly and attentive but not overly so. They made our stay a comfortable one and we would go back for sure. We had a business studio on the first floor which was quite spacious and it looked out onto the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loopylady
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Loppylady. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Its great to know we come highly recommended and that would would return again. We appreciate your business greatly and do hope to see you again one day in the future. Kind regards Mark

Parua Bay
Reviewed 9 February 2017

we booked a extra night here as the quest in New plymonth where we stayed the previous 2 nights couldnt fit us in for an extra night, we now wish we had booked to stay at the waterfront for the whole of our stay, the two rooms we had were beautiful, everything was spotless, beds were very comfy, everything provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemknits J
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Gemknits, Thank you so much for staying with us at The Waterfront Hotel. We wish you had stayed here for your entire visit to NP as well! Great to hear you enjoyed all our amenities and location. Noted that you thought the breakfast was just ok - I am very sorry about this. We will see what we can...

Tennessee
Reviewed 7 February 2017

The check in was smooth, handled by very pleasant young lady. The room was clean, spaceous, and had a good TV channel selection. Very comfortable beds. The dinning room staff at "Salt", the in house restaurant, were most hospitable and friendly. Great service. I found the fish of the day, wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeEZTraveler
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello TennesseeEZTraveler, Thank you for staying with us at The Waterfront Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and its always nice to receive comments like this. Kind regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I went to Taranaki on a business trip and have stayed at other hotels before and was so happy I stayed here this time. There's not much difference in price and you get so much more - beautiful location right on New Plymouth's beautiful promenade, close to town, a beachfront restaurant and really nicely appointed rooms. It almost feels like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PonsonbyGirl
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Evelyn S, Thank you for giving us a try @ The Waterfront Hotel. We know there is a lot of choices in New Plymouth now. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed what we have to offer, especially our location, compared to other establishments. We hope to have the opportunity to build on our relationship in the...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Great location with great sea views, rooms were really beautiful & extremely comfortable. Even more of a plus here, the Customer Service was Outstanding, a visit to their restaurant Salt is a must during your stay. We had booked for 1night but our flight got cancelled so we stayed for one more. Highly recommend the Waterfront. Looking forward to my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fi R
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi Fi R, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Waterfront Hotel. Great to hear you also dined in our house restaurant Salt. We love to deliver the entire experience to our guests. We are not a big Hotel - but we have a great team of staff that makes up for that. Until your next...

Reviewed 31 January 2017

We stayed here with our family of 6. The receptionist was so lovely and got us two interconnected rooms at short notice. The rooms were fantastic: spacious, comfortable beds, great TVs and excellent bathrooms. You can't get a better location than this in New Plymouth. The dinning options in walking distance are outstanding and the in-house restaurant Salt is one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Shane C, Thanks you staying with us at The Waterfront Hotel. Its very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love the chance to host you again one day if you return to New Plymouth. Regards The Waterfront Hotel Staff.

Hawera, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2017

A sophisticated, modern, well-appointed hotel in Taranaki's provincial main city, New Plymouth. Just across from New Plymouth's exceptionally wonderful coastal walkway, two blocks from the city's main shopping street and next to Puke Ariki, the museum - the location couldn't be better. A warm, efficient welcome greets guests. The rooms, while not luxurious, are extremely well-appointed, with many little surprises....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaweraNZ
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hi HaweraNZ Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Its great to hear you had a great experience at the hotel all round. We appreciate your comments and business. Kind Regards The Waterfront Team.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2017

We were accused of smoking in our room when we did not. We were charge $150 for something we did not do. We should called the Police but it was to late. They have some sort of scam going on here so be careful everyone

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shaunbarnes2
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Mr Barnes, Let me correct you. We actually charged you $300.00 but you neglected to mention that we refunded you $150.00 after some debate. All our rooms are smoke free and there is no way we would check anyone into a smokey room. We have strict policies about this and yes we do enforce them. The room you occupied...

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

One of the best hotels I staged at. It is located right in front of the esplanade so you can enjoy a walk along the boardwalk beside the sea. Centrally located there are cool cafes etc close by and if you have time visit the museum right next door. On site parking, warm friendly staff and top restaurant on site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LyndaAukino
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello LyndaAukino, Thanks for your amazing comments and for your business. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you will return in the future. We would love the opportunity to host you again. Until then, we wish you well. Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 January 2017

First class service from the time you check in to the time you check out, the staff here are amazing and the restaurant is a quality dining experience. Modern clean decor, rooms have great sea views and ideally located for a stroll along the waterfront or into town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrybid
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Hello Barry Bid, Thank you for staying with us at The Waterfront Hotel. Its great to know you had a fantastic time here and that the staff went the extra mile and looked after you so well. Hope we can host you again one day if you return to the region. Regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.3 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
290 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
189 reviews
0.7 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
5.6 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
278 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: $169 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waterfront staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Specify your requirements on booking.”
71SheilaM, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Waterfront would be best but even on the side street was still pleasant.”
198robc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side have perhaps a better perspective of the coastal view.”
bbcw, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The second floor was very nice and quiet”
TennesseeEZTraveler, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with north facing sea views”
Barrybid, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$106* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$106
Hotels.comUS$106
Orbitz.comUS$106
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates