We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Waterfront

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

Excellent hotel, very large studio, superking bed, great location, very clean, great service from all staff, will recommend to all, free parking, free WiFi, excellent restaurant Salt on-site, across road from coastal walkway, walking distance from bars abnd theatres and art galleries

Thank LawrieGibbons
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you Lawrie, We really appreciate your comments about your experience. Its super to hear you had a great time and thought so highly of our facilities and service levels. all the best!

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights in a superior suite on level 3, and I could not recommend this place highly enough. From the minute I walked in everything was incredible. Talia at the front desk made checking in a breeze, and gave some fantastic tips about both the hotel and the city and its sights. The room was large and...

Thank Aimee B
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Aimee B Thank you for the amazing feedback! It was our pleasure looking after you for the duration of your stay, we are very excited you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and what New Plymouth has to offer. Talia will be very pleased her name is mentioned too. Kind regards The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We were in New Plymouth for the weekend and decided to stay at the Waterfront Hotel as we had stayed there three times before. From the moment we started to book in we realized why we go back there. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. The rooms we had were clean and tidy with nice views and quiet. We had...

Thank d0nt50
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us again. We love hearing that return guests continue to have positive and enjoyable experiences when they come back. We value your custom and feedback greatly and it is our pleasure to look after you. Best regards The Waterfront Hotel Team!

Masterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Absolutely gorgeous and wonderful seeing the mounga as well as the wonderful sites of the waterfront of Taranaki. There is so much wonderful wairua in the area as well and the place is stunning to eat at. We loved it immensely!

Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you TNTIT. The team is very pleased you had a brilliant time at the hotel and it was certainly our honor looking after you during your stay. We do hope you return one day soon. All the best.

Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Very nice, clean hotel. Great bathroom! Across the street from the coastal walkway. Air conditioning and a very tiny balcony. We didn't eat here. Free parking and wifi connection was good. Comfortable beds, refrigerator in the room. Modern hotel, not a motel.

Thank dietcoke75
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Cheers Dietcoke75. Yes we are a Hotel. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on this forum. We are all very happy you enjoyed your stay and also the FAB location we have. Its is the best in town by a long shot! All the best, The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Reviewed 29 January 2016

Selected the hotel based on Trip Advsor and we were not disappointed. We had a spacious room with a sea view and did not find the room noisy as some seemed to have done. We dined at the restaurant and though service was a bit slow ( new chef on duty ) the food was superb and well worth the...

Thank David716
Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you David for your review. We appreciate your business and we are delighted you had a enjoyable stay, including the superb food in our restaurant. All the best.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 January 2016

From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, our stay (3 nights) at The Waterfront was fabulous. We were greeted by Talia on Friday January 8th, 2016. She was very friendly and efficient. She explained about the hotel (including Salt restaurant) and things that may be of interest in the New Plymouth area. Our large room (304) was...

Mark D, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks you NZ_NURSE. All the staff here love receiving feedback like yours. Another testament to how hard they work and the passion they have for their profession. Talia will be very pleased to see her name mentioned here twice. We really appreciate your business. Best wishes The Waterfront Hotel Team.

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

If you are coming to New Plymouth to enjoy the waterfront, restaurants, downtown shopping, or the Len Lye Center, the Waterfront is a wonderful place to stay. I would definitely recommend asking for a waterfront view room. The rooms are well appointed but not luxurious. Our bathroom had both a jetted tub and an excellent shower. The king size bed...

Thank jonesfamilyma
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you Jonesfamilyma, Firstly for choosing to stay with us, and secondly for sharing your feedback with fellow travelers. We are thrilled you had such a great time in the Hotel and found our service and facilities very good. We agree the free Gym next door is fantastic - alot better than any hotel gym can offer! Best wishes The...

Napier; New Zealand
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Great hotel on waterfront. In one bedroom room. great views, space has two king beds. Parking free WiFi good coverage. Check in smooth helpful and gracious. Staying three nights...looking forward next two. Len Lye et al.

Thank IrishGinaG
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you IrishGinaG, for you business and comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in the 1 bedroom suite. It was nice speaking with you on your departure and we will certainly come and check out your hospitality and beer when we are over your way! Best wishes, The Waterfront Hotel Team.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights 10/11 Jan originally only booked 1 but on seeing the area and hotel decided to stay for the extra night the reception staff were very helpful in doing this..... On the first night we had an issue in the hotel restaurant, again without any prompting or suggestion both the reception (Dina) and the restaurant (Fran...

Thank PaulBham
Mark D, Owner at The Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you PaulBham for taking the time to publish your feedback. The Waterfront hotel and Salt restaurant team are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly love having the chance to leave a positive impression on every person the we host here. We do take great pride in our location,cleanliness and our amazing staff and I am pleased...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (52)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
View from Room (12)
Room/Suite (15)
Bathroom (7)
Dining (4)
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (14)
Room/Suite (7)
View from Room (1)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
0.3 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
290 reviews
1.4 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
187 reviews
0.7 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
5.6 km away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
275 reviews
0.3 km away
Copthorne Hotel Grand Central New Plymouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Simply watch the waves roll in... from New Plymouth's newest and ONLY Hotel on the Waterfront and yet only 1 minute to the CBD! Next door to the famous Puke Ariki Museum, Library and Information Centre! Complimentary FREE 1 hr wireless internet access daily. All rooms have super king size beds, or queen and single configuration if requested. Sea or City views from your step out balcony, most feature a step out Balcony and single spa bath, with all rooms including 12 channel sky TV, wireless & broadband internet & coffee/tea facilities. The Waterfront Hotel is a non-smoking hotel however you are most welcome to use the Balcony. Salt Restaurant and Bar on level one overlooks the sea! What more would you want!? Salt on the Waterfront offers an excellent range of seafood and contemporary cuisine with great views from every table. FORGET THE REST! TRY THE BEST! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 1 Egmont Street, New Plymouth 4310, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: $169 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront New Plymouth
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Family Hotel in New Plymouth
#8 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Waterfront staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Specify your requirements on booking.”
71SheilaM, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Waterfront would be best but even on the side street was still pleasant.”
198robc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side have perhaps a better perspective of the coastal view.”
bbcw, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The second floor was very nice and quiet”
TennesseeEZTraveler, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with north facing sea views”
Barrybid, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$108* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates