We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Hotels.comUS$76*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$101*
US$76*
US$101*
US$76*
US$101*
US$76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
16 Northgate Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 16 Northgate Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Well we turned up early - would have been happy to return later if it was really a problem. However the lady seemed rather grumpy... asked where we could find a good coffee nearby? Response I don't drink coffee. Asked if there was anywhere outside of New Plymouth where petrol was cheaper - bearing in mind gas was nearly 30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopher1146
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your review and commenting on the unit being clean, comfortable and the sheets being of a very good quality as this is what we provide as a motel. I may have seemed irritated at the end of the lengthy checkin as you did unfortunately arrive complaining about the lack of parking around the art gallery... sorry...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Great motel. Very clean and reasonably modern. Units are well equipped. Units have kitchenettes with microwave, crockery, cutlery, nice glassware and plunger with complimentary coffee. Bathroom has shampoo, however no hair-dryer. Good location. Friendly service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your most welcome review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will definitely check that room has a hairdryer, perhaps it was in the back of the drawer in the desk. We do hope you choose to visit New Plymouth again.

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the motel for the Pouakai crossing. The owners are very friendly, the rooms are comfortable with everything you need, beds are comfortable. Spa is lovely. It's a short walk to a delicious buffet - Marbles Buffet. And a short walk to restaurants, supermarket etc. New Plymouth and Taranaki is a beautiful region to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your most positive review. We are really pleased that you had a stay with everything you needed. The motel is in a great location. We are pleased that you chose us as your accommodation while doing the Pouakai crossing! We hope you return to the region again.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Quite close to the CBD, beach and supermarkets. Quite and cozy. Barbecue and spa pool were clean and good to use. No complains whatsoever! We also booked the bikes for a ride around the city fro free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MatheusBeresford
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Well it looks as though you had a great stay while in New Plymouth. We are so pleased that the motel offered what you were needing. Please come and stay again. Thankyou for your positive review.

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Great motel and great staff. All the rooms are very clean, excellent facilities and unlike a lot of motels, have the full range of sky channels. Nothing bad or negative to say. Highly recommended and always look forward to staying.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skwonsee
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay. We are really pleased that you had a superb stay. Feel free to book direct with us as we always love to see regulars coming back.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Comfortable suite with 3 bedrooms for family of 5. Very clean. A pleasant private sitting area outside. Single unit through gate for another family member visiting from overseas. Well stocked unit in a quiet location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shewry26
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your most positive review. We are really pleased that you found the apartment all that you needed. It is a real gem. We hope to see you again in New Plymouth.

Reviewed 24 December 2016

We stayed in the 4 bedroom unit - there were 5 of us (including 2 teenagers - was quite comfortable and has just about everything one needs for a comfortable place to stay while visiting New Plymouth. While it is tricky to get to due to the one way streets and depending on where you need to get to, with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pio M
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your review. Yes, the four bedroom apartment is great for a larger family. Yes, there are only two one way streets in the city, but plenty of roads to access the apartment once you have your bearings. We hope you enjoyed New Plymouth.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the 3 bedroom family unit. Although the outside of the building is a little dated the inside is lovely. Soft fresh carpet throughout, lovely linen in bedrooms and bathroom, everything you need in the kitchen with one drawer dishwasher, modern bathroom and complete with your own private backyard with comfortable garden furniture. A lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulieMcGoo
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your review, we are pleased that you found your stay to have been comfortable. Yes, it is like a home away from home. The outside has recently been painted, which we feel gives it a more modern feel. We hope to see you again in New Plymouth.

New Zealand
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Good location - easy to find using Gmaps and easy to get out and about. Studio unit very spacious and clean with all amenities required for a short stay. Friendly hosts and cleaning staff. Would I stay here again - 100% definitely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank expatkiwiwairoa
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your most positive review. We are really pleased that your stay was all that you needed. We hope you come again to stay with us soon.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Its quite hard to get to if you miss the turn off because its on a one way street, however once there, the staff take really good care of you and are really lovely. This has to be the cleanest room Ive e er stayed in and whilst quite tiny, it has everything needed. The only thing we found was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shower1
Paul W, Owner at 16 Northgate Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your review. We are really pleased that you had a great stay. I'll definitely pass onto our staff how you found the unit so clean! Sorry about the bed, we normally get glowing reviews about our new Sleepyhead beds. But will look into it. We do hope to see you again. Thanks again.

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Plymouth hotels
1.6 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
296 reviews
0.9 km away
The State Hotel
The State Hotel
#3 of 30 in New Plymouth
138 reviews
1.6 km away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#6 of 30 in New Plymouth
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
Novotel New Plymouth Hobson
#2 of 30 in New Plymouth
198 reviews
0.2 km away
The Devon Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 km away
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
MY SKY HDi (50+ channels, recordable decoders) now in our Super King Studios! Or book a Queen Studio with GUEST SELECT, you be in control of what you'd like to watch!! 23 comfortable non-smoking serviced studio units. Fully equipped with cooking facilities allowing guests to be fully self contained. FREE wireless broadband internet and the use of a business centre. Quiet heat pumps/air conditioners in all studios adds to a comfortable stay throughout the year. Te Henui & Coastal walkway access on our doorstep. Enjoy Pukekura Park, the Bowl of Brooklands and the local beaches all within walking distance. Private and relaxing garden and BBQ area. Complimentary use of bikes, DVD players and a selection of DVDs. Park right outside of your room for easy access and security. Walking distance to supermarkets, takeaway outlets and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 16 Northgate Motor Lodge

Address: 16-18 Northgate, New Plymouth 4312, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > New Plymouth
Price Range: $111 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 16 Northgate Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your 16 Northgate Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in New Plymouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in New Plymouth
#12 Business Hotel in New Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 16 Northgate Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are rooms further away from the main road!”
andreaaM1015PA, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Back rooms quietest”
, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book at back of Motel so you can exit easily onto a quiet street”
grannygoracing, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great if you're coming with groups of people as rooms are close and have access to eachother”
, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“good spa & bikes”
E5091YYbobp, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$76* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$76
TravelocityUS$76
HotelQuicklyUS$101
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates