We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Prince Motor Lodge

Show Prices
#25 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Prince Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This little hotel is tucked away off the main drag, which was perfect because the street was quite and it made for a good night sleep. The person who greeted me at the front desk was very nice and gave great tips about the area, where to pick up groceries, and where to grab a bite to eat. Stayed here... More 

Helpful?
Thank H L
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi H L Pleasure to hear from you, and we truly thank you for the feedback, as guest feedback is what lets us know whether or not what we are doing are the right things for our guests. Our location is conveniently alongside the Town Centre but as you say, on a quiet street. As you also mention our rooms... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful clean,modern and spacious motel in the heart of Taupo.Felt more like a self contained apartment rather than a motel room. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to friends. Given the quality of this place the tariff is surprisingly reasonable

Helpful?
Thank Diane H
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Diane WOW! thank you letting us know we provided you with a 5 Star experience - 'very' encouraging when we are making so many changes. We hope the rest of your trip went well, and send our best to you and yours for the coming festive season. With our kind regards, Mairi & Ron More 

1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice, big, clean comfortable room to stay in but what really stood out was the helpfulness of the staff, especially Rachel. I was looking to do a hike in Tongariro and Rachel explained to me everything that I needed to know and even went so far as to deliver to my room a bunch of extra information that she printed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam R
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Adam What great feedback, thank you - we hope your Tongariro hike was everything you were wanting it to be. We also thank you for noting our rooms are - nice, big, clean, and comfortable - as that is what we are working to provide our guests. Oh, and yes, our Rachel is a real god send, very bright,... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a last minute decision and we were so lucky to get the last room. Ron (the owner) and his Daughter Rachel were so pleasant, helpful and friendly.Thank you both. Any problems and they were there straight away to sort them out, no hassle. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. An ideal location for the centre, lake and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat O
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Pat O Good to hear from you, and thank you for letting us know what we did helped your stay work well for you. It is great to know we are doing the right things well for our guests - very encouraging feedback. As you say we are in a great location with large clean and comfortable rooms. Hopefully... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 3rd time I have stayed in this motel. There was a group of 31 of us and we all enjoyed our stay. It is within walking distance to the town and not far from the RSA or Cossie Club. The new owners had only been there for about a month and they have started doing up the... More 

Helpful?
Thank onetreept
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi onetreept Being new here yours was our first large group at PRINCE - and what a fantastic group of people you all were! Happy, cheerful and some great singers and musso's too. Thank you for letting us know we did a good job looking after you all, and that you found the rooms to be quiet with comfortable beds.... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While this is an old style Motel it is in good condition and handy to town and a Thai restaurant in the same building. The rooms are quite large and there is a basic kitchen and a small TV. The rooms facing the road do not suffer from too much road noise but the view is limited to the Ford... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

As the new owners and we thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review, and for noting our great location which is just a 100 metres or so from the central restaurants, and down to the Lake. Glad you also noted our rooms are large, in good condition, and that even though close to the town centre... More 

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

STE & JOSIE from Liverpool. Came over to visit family in n z. So we came to taupo to see the sights .oh wot a place the lake the town loverly. We stayed in a place called prince motor lodge for 2. Days disappointed. NOT. The staff are so helpful. The rooms are brill. Big and really dead tidy Fare... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Guys - We so enjoyed meeting you all. You have a fabulous sense of humour, were on holiday and it was all about getting out and about and enjoying yourselves. We are so glad we were able to introduce you to Wai-O-Tapu on your way back down to us, as that really is a very beautiful valley. We are... More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights here, the unit is quite basic. One bedroom, massive bathroom (which I really don't think it needs to be that big), very small kitchenette which was unclean and had rubbish on the top of the shelves and a lot of dust so you can tell it hasn't been cleaned for a while, decent size lounge/dining room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shaneen18
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Shaneen We are very sorry to learn that you stay with us was not all you (or we) were wanting it to be - particularly the standard of cleanliness. We just wish you had mentioned what you found while you were here. As the new owners we can confirm that has been well and truly addressed, with new systems... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed three nights in one bedroom studio unit, very clean and tidy. This was a access unit with a wet floor shower ideal for my wife to walk in and shower. This was a excellent unit for us. The manager was very helpful she showed us around the units before we booked our room. It was very nice quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank pmjennings2016
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi pmjennings2016 Great to hear from you, and thank you for kindly letting us know that your stay was all we were wanting it to be for the two of you. Yes, our location is excellent, and we are delighted to know that our Mobility Unit worked so well for your wife Maureen. Hopefully you will be coming this way... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at the lodge even though it is only for a night. Good amenities. Walking distance to the lake and Pak n save supermarket. Very helpful hotelier. There is a Thai restaurant next door. Some rooms are under renovation but that does disturb us

Helpful?
Thank r0snani
RonPH1, Owner at Prince Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi r0snani Thank you for kindly taking the time to write a review for us. Much appreciated, as are your kind words. Yes, the renovations are progressing well, and we are confidant that another stay will prove to be even more comfortable. Hopefully we will see you again soon. With warm regards, Mairi & Ron More 

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.7 km away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
0.5 km away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 71 in Taupo
142 reviews
0.2 km away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Lake
The Lake
#26 of 71 in Taupo
102 reviews
0.2 km away
Birchlands Motel
Birchlands Motel
#15 of 71 in Taupo
155 reviews
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn Cascades
Comfort Inn Cascades
#8 of 71 in Taupo
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated alongside the heart of Taupo township with an on-site Restaurant and Conference Room, PRINCE motor lodge offers 32 fully appointed units only a two minute stroll to both the town centre shops and restaurants, and the shores of Lake Taupo. PRINCE has 32 generous ground floor units including Spa Bath Suites, all being serviced daily. With Free, Unlimited, Fibre based WiFi, new 42" Netflix enabled TV's with SKY, King, Queen, and Single sized beds. This all helps to create the ideal location for your next holiday, corporate stop over or conference. We provide a choice of Studio's or 1 Bedroom Suites... or why not enjoy one of the 1 Bedrooms with a Spa Bath and a separate shower? Owner Operators, Ron and Mairi Hunter look forward to welcoming you to PRINCE, "We look to provide all our guests with clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation" from where you can enjoy the wonders of the Central North Island, the stunning Geo-thermal valleys, and "Great Lake Taupo" itself. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince Motor Lodge

Address: Cnr Titiraupenga & Roberts Streets | 100 Roberts Street Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $140 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prince Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Prince Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Taupo
#13 Family Hotel in Taupo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Prince Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This motel is on one level, although some of the units are up a couple of stairs, where as the others are flat.”
 of 5 bubbles onetreept, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the side away from the road are quieter. Good parking for each unit.”
 of 5 bubbles rodneyb298, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Easy reach to lake and u are in the town”
 of 5 bubbles stephenb362, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles pmjennings2016, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room 117 or 118 from memory, and it was fine for couple.”
 of 5 bubbles 304AndrewS, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay