We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chelmswood Motel

Show Prices
#32 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Chelmswood Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chelmswood Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a Queen Studio unit. Really liked that there was a microwave and toaster as well as the standard tea and coffee facilities. Also a good variety of supplied drinks. Plenty of space and spotlessly clean. Hot mineral plunge pool was lovely. Staff were extremely efficient and friendly. Would recommend this motel and will definitely be back

Helpful?
Thank scorp30
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Hi Scorp30 Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate your kind words and look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Located at the south end of Lake Terrace, approximately 3 minutes drive from the Taupo town centre. We were there for a 1 night stay as we were only passing through the area this time. The facilities at this motel were excellent; free wi-fi, free guest laundry, 50+ TV channels, heated pool, heated spa's, the list goes on. We stayed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time at this busy time of the year to write us a review. It is really appreciated and all the staff are always thankful when their efforts are praised. More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Lake Taupo is just across the road from the Chelmswood Motel, the sunsets over the lake are amazing. There is plenty of grass for kids to play in front and behind the motel. There is a service station just down the road in case you need basic supplies. The Ensuite Studio (Queen Bed) was small and stuffy, a fan is... More 

Helpful?
Thank flyingdutchdude
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for tanking the time at this busy time of the year to write us a review. We are pleased that you were very happy with your stay and enjoyed time in Taupo More 

Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2016

This establishment is to be avoided at all costs. Exceptionally rude and deceitful management and shoddy rooms. It doesn't take much to make me happy, and they failed here abysmally. For me to highlight what went wrong, I'd need triple the number of characters that this post will allow.

Helpful?
2 Thank Charpest
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

You were true to your word in writing a review that you threatened to do. readers what Charpest hasn't stated is that she was turned away by our duty manager and her friend who she was visiting, was fully refunded and chose to leave. This occurred at 9 pm at night and the action was to ensure the comfort of... More 

Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Had planned to stay at the Chelmswood for 2 nights as we weren't prepared for all of the wonderful things to do in Taupo! After realising we would need another night's accommodation we asked at reception to see if we could get another night - told that we could but we would have to downsize the room, which we didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank dcddsugar
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Really appreciate your great feed back, and we look forward to your next visit to Taupo. Check our web site for updates and return guest specials. More 

Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2016

In a lovely position, set back from the road and opposite the lake. Received a very friendly welcome. Able to relax outside in the evening as garden furniture is provided and even barbecues should you wish to use them. Outdoor pool was far too hot for us in the very hot weather but would be good in cooler times. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2016 via mobile

Awesome friendly staff amazing service. Loved the bath in our unit but could use a freshin up was abit scratchy on our skin. Liked being so close to the lake and the huge section of grass between the units and road. Pool was nice could lower temperature abit though.

Helpful?
Thank Kourtney01
BH
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2016

Location is great. The laundry equipments at our disposal at no additional cost is very nice too. Hot swimming pool after crossing the Tongariro is super. Negative remarks: loud Chinese guests won't keep it low especially after late hours. One of the clerks at the front desk was ironic and had no patience to listen to our demands (one lady... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mat_123456789
Chelmswood M, General Manager at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time at this busy time of the year to write us a review. It is really appreciated and all the staff are always thankful when their efforts are praised. Particularly the man at the front desk. The Bit Chubby and Blond lady, me, is the one that makes sure the man ,my husband is around... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We stayed in this motel recently for a night and found it clean and tidy. I had let them know ahead of time we would be a late check-in so they had filled the spa bath for us (takes about 4 hours their information says) and left a note on the door welcoming us. A thoughtful and unexpected touch was... More 

Helpful?
Thank KiwitravellerAkl
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Hi Kiwi Traveller Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is greatly appreciated . Your comments reflect a number of positives and a couple of negatives that have upset you. on arrival and check-in you are offered a number of payment options of which Eftpos Cash and direct credit transfer do not incur any additional charges.... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We stayed here only one night. I had asked for a quiet room. Our room was good size......But the room is in need of a freshen up, very drab. Very noisy with banging doors. No Air con either which badly needs as was very humid. Bed was so uncomfortable was like laying on a trampoline. But we only paid 117... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cherie2014
Chelmswood M, Owner at Chelmswood Motel, responded to this review

Hi Cherie yes you were in a budget room but since your visit that room has had a freshen up with new paint and fittings and shortly will have windows removed and ranch sliders to exterior fitted thus improving ventilation and access. More 

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 km away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#31 of 71 in Taupo
194 reviews
1.7 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.5 km away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 71 in Taupo
143 reviews
2.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#28 of 71 in Taupo
124 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Cascades
Comfort Inn Cascades
#12 of 71 in Taupo
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo Overlooking Lake Taupo New Zealand. Chelmswood Motel Taupo is a Tudor style complex consisting of 36 units (24) with their very own natural thermal mineral pools. Located at the southern entrance to Taupo with beautiful views of Lake Taupo. One of only 10 properties with SKY Guest Select (60 Plus TV Channels). Easy to find, conveniently located on Lake Terrace (old SH 1) which passes through Taupo on the way to either Auckland or Wellington. Just a few minutes from town, with off street parking for cars, boats, trailers, trucks and more. The complex sits on a very peaceful two acres of grass land with stunning views of Lake Taupo. Asure Chelmswood Motel Taupo is the perfect choice for the whole family, the couple wanting a romantic peaceful break, the over-nighter looking for a great nights sleep to break their journey, or the club who want all the facilities on one site. (Function room and large kitchen). Secure off road parking for your trail bike trailers, race rigs, boats etc. While staying have a fun filled break and use the heated outdoor swimming pool, redwood sauna, grassed BBQ area or one of our bikes to ride around the lakes cycle-ways, or just sit along the front of the complex and soak up the magnificent views of Lake Taupo. Keep in touch by utilising our high speed internet access including free wireless, and catch up on the washing in our Free Guest laundry. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelmswood Motel

Address: 250 Lake Terrace, State Hwy 1 | Waipahihi, Taupo 3330, New Zealand (Formerly Chelmswood Manor)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $110 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelmswood Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chelmswood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmswood Manor Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Taupo
#21 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chelmswood Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lake facing rooms have wonderful lake view.”
 of 5 bubbles LMB27958, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are really quiet while the ones at the front have a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles gregsnell3110, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for View of Lake”
 of 5 bubbles Crissybuka, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lakeview Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles KomalA_12, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with the mineral pool are worth the extra cost, larger rooms with better view, and of course the mineral pool which is amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles 389MiriamC, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay