We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Base Taupo

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2016

I've gotten stuck in many Base hostels because of limited availability. Usually they are my last option, and that is mostly how I ended up here. Base is always overpriced for what is offered and this location was no exception. Wifi costs extra, check in is very late into the day (in this case 2pm) and you can never bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katherinenb
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. I noticed from your survey response that you were not particularly happy with the cleanliness of the hostel, which is bad news for us. Here at base we strive to provide our guests with a premium hostel to stay in...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner spent a night in here and comparing others bcpkrs this was the worse one. Kitchen is big mess, BBQ not working, bar downstairs with weird taste drinks and squeezing beds. All you might find in high student house.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. Here at base we strive to provide our guests with a premium hostel to stay in both though the facilities we offer and the service our staff provide. Here at Base we go to great lengths to keep everything...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

a good little pad to base yourself at for a few days. I stayed with the Kiwi Experience bus and it was a good laugh. Speak to the staff about where the rope swings are and theyll direct you - really good day to be had around town cliff jumping etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It sounds like you had a great time with us here at Base Taupo which is exactly what we would hope for. We agree, we are very lucky to have such knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff. We wish you Happy travels for the rest of your Kiwi Ex trip and...

Española por el mundo
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Good location. Standard dorms with bunk beds. Little space to move. I was in the girls only area. Kitchen is spacious and clean but still a bit crowded. Nice fresh towel and gel. Wifi is with payment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ViajeraJen
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us which is exactly what we would hope for! We wish you happy travels across NZ and hope to welcome you back to this or another Base property in the near future. Happy Travels!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We stayed for two nights as part of the Kiwi Experience trip and booked a private room. The room was small, but well appointed, and it had a nice modern private bathroom (a luxury after using 'rustic' shared bathrooms!). The hostel itself is big and busy, the kitchen and terrace attached to the kitchen were good. We hired bikes from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephJ_Sydney
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to complete such a lovely review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay which is great and exactly what we would hope for. We are lucky to have such a modern and well planned hostel. We are lucky to be in such a central location and hope you thoroughly enjoyed your stay...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

We had room 303 which is a twin / double room with shower and toilet. It was clean and the bed was comfy. We had a view over Lake Taupo. It has no lift and we were on the 3rd floor. You can't drink your own alcohol in the hostel but they do have a bar. The kitchen was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review of our property. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay which is exactly what we would hope for. We are lucky to be in such a prime location in a beautiful town. We hope that you will enjoy the rest of your travels around NZ and to welcome you back to...

New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here recently and woke up to discover we had been the victim of a bed bug feast. After speaking to the GM, who assured us there hadn't ever been bed bugs in that room, and that our mattress was new (Double room), we found the telltale signs of them in the framework of the bed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank totaltravel94
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to apologize that you found your stay with us below par. Here at Base Taupo we pride ourselves on the service we provide and customer service we offer and aim to have every guest enjoy their stay. At Base Taupo...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 January 2016

My stay here was great, the room was clean and reasonably quiet on the top floor. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the activities in Taupo. It is in a good location in the middle of the town and right near the lake. I would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kez-lou23
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us at Base Taupo which is exactly what we would hope for. We are lucky to have such a prime positioning in Taupo and we pride ourselves on our customer service and knowledge. We thoroughly hope you enjoy...

Girona, Spain
Reviewed 24 January 2016 via mobile

I stayed there 2 nights and it was one of the worst hostels where I stayed in New Zealand. My room was on the 3rd floor, my luggage weighted 15 kg and there was no elevator. The room was small but nice though: ensuite bathroom and great views to the lake. And to the music bars in front. Music bars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordi P
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review, your thoughts are important to us. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the en-suite. We are not so thrilled that the noise from other bars impacted on your stay, we would like to take this opportunity to apologize for this issue. Due to our central location we can experience noise...

Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Wanted to stay in Taupo for 4 nights, our first two nights were guaranteed as part of the Kiwi Experience. We got a 6 bed dorm overlooking the Main Street - 4 bed dorms have ensuite, our bathroom was down the corridor. SO SO noisy at night as there is a bar on ground level (just below where we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTeacher22
BaseTaupoManagement, General Manager at Base Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey, we value your comments submitted. I noticed in your response that you noted that the noise from the Bar affected your stay with us which is disappointing. Although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 km away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.0 km away
Finns Global Backpackers
0.7 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#3 of 34 in Taupo
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
177 reviews
0.3 km away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#15 of 34 in Taupo
176 reviews
0.7 km away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Taupo is a modern and convenient (built in 2008) backpackers with a range of accommodation options from dorms to private ensuite rooms to suit every budget. Come party with us at the Element Bar, Taupo's leading party and late night venue. Base Taupo is situated centrally in the heart of the main restaurant and bar area on Tuwharetoa St. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Taupo

Address: 7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $65 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Taupo 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Base Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get one with a road frontage if you want to sleep in”
 of 5 bubbles craigbE5793DB, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“4 Bed with ensuite is good- bathrooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlyBrisc, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Private rooms have great bathrooms!”
 of 5 bubbles StephJ_Sydney, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Level 3 or 4 give a little better sound quality”
 of 5 bubbles LaurieR96, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Requesting a quiet room got me an incredibly noisy room (maybe they ignore requests?)”
 of 5 bubbles Atheoretical, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5