We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
30/07/2017 31/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Finns Global Backpackers

    8 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    30/07/2017 31/07/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    US$28US$32
    View Deal
    Taupo Urban Retreat
    195 reviews
    #16 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Base Taupo
    245 reviews
    #19 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Finlay Jack's Backpackers
    215 reviews
    #6 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Haka Lodge Taupo
    336 reviews
    #2 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Overview
    • Excellent18%
    • Very good27%
    • Average18%
    • Poor21%
    • Terrible16%
    Travellers talk about
    “laundry” (4 reviews)
    “noise” (7 reviews)
    Paid Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    All hotel details
    {"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null}
    Taupo Urban Retreat
    195 reviews
    #16 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Base Taupo
    245 reviews
    #19 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Finlay Jack's Backpackers
    215 reviews
    #6 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Haka Lodge Taupo
    336 reviews
    #2 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (37)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 33 reviews

    Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

    The hostel room had a weird smell to it and it was super loud in the surrounding area so it was hard to sleep. Beds were comfy though. The bathrooms were pretty grimy and the sink didn't have soap. Kitchen was in good condition, and...More

    Thank Josie H
    Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

    The staff was friendly and the kitchen was well equipped. The beds were comfortable and the room with 7 people had its own bathroom, but it was grimy. There was no soap with the sink. There was only one really dim light in the room...More

    Thank Alexi M
    Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

    Cheap and quality together. Quiet hostel, in the center, with all facilities needed for a short/long stayed. The room are small but clean and tidy, so is the kitchen. The staff was amazing and make this place one of the best. Good mood, helpfull, give...More

    Thank So0ophie
    Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

    From the outside it looks ok and yet as soon as you walk in....filthy walls, filthy floors, filthy everything. I felt like i was about to catch ebola just from staying here its disgusting. The beds looks horrible, bathroom and shower are as old as...More

    Thank WanderLady28
    Reviewed 15 February 2017

    We are local and have been to all sorts of backpackers in NZ when we travelled around the country. I would say this is the worst experience we have had. Think carefully before you book. Here comes the nightmare. First, unlike any other rooms, the...More

    Thank TanoshiiRyoko
    Response from Shane C, Manager at Finns Global BackpackersResponded 24 February 2017

    If we may Tanoshii, is it possible you are confusing us with another hostel whereas the majority of what you have stated in your feedback appears to be inaccurate, misleading and for the most part false and will go through all the points you have...More

    Taupo Urban Retreat
    195 reviews
    #16 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Base Taupo
    245 reviews
    #19 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Finlay Jack's Backpackers
    215 reviews
    #6 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    Haka Lodge Taupo
    336 reviews
    #2 of 34 Speciality lodging in Taupo
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$29 - US$44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Number of rooms
    • 32
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Finns Global Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • New Zealand >
    • North Island >
    • Waikato Region >
    • Taupo District >
    • Taupo
    Nearby
    Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
    312 reviews
    .63 km away
     
    Chantilly's Lake Taupo
    164 reviews
    .67 km away
     
    Chevron Motel
    57 reviews
    .60 km away
     
    Prince Motor Lodge
    193 reviews
    .46 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Waterside Restaurant & Bar
    477 reviews
    .11 km away
    The Steak House Taupo
    213 reviews
    .06 km away
    Tomi's Restaurant and Bar
    168 reviews
    .04 km away
    Indian Delights-Lake Front
    177 reviews
    .11 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Taupo Museum
    169 reviews
    .21 km away
    Taupo i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
    113 reviews
    .16 km away
    Tongariro Expeditions
    206 reviews
    .15 km away
    Taupo Market
    24 reviews
    .53 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Finns Global Backpackers staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "Parking is limited and around the area is 2 hours. get there early and claim a park."
    Read review
    "Rooms on the North side are quieter."
    Read review
    "Request one away from the street if your staying at a weekend"
    Read review
    "If you want a quiet room i suggest you kindly ask staff to place you in that particular room."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing