We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Expedia.comUS$114
View Deal
#3 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$114*
US$114*
US$114*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Start your review of The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
 Click to rate
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a well appointed room overlooking the pools, with views of Lake Taupo. A restful idyllic home away from home for one nights peaceful rest. Our Hosts Rob and Sharon added to a wonderful experience as their knowledge of Taupo was invaluable Will be back for another visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine19581124
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Hi Christine 19587784 Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and you managed to have a peaceful rest. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the very near future. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to review the Reef Resort and for...

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely resort and benefits from being away from the hustle and bustle of Taupo. We booked a lake view studio but on arrival were given a limited lake view apartment. We did complain to Sharon but she was fairly dismissive and said it still had a lake view (between the buildings!). We decided not to make a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gadabouts95
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Gadabouts95 Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding the accommodation here at the Reef Resort. It means a lot to know that you found your room clean and well appointed. I am disappointed though that you felt you were unable to voice your concerns regarding your type of accommodation to me. (I know you say that you...

Auburn, Alabama
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I simply can not say enough wonderful things about this hotel. Sharon and Rob, the owners, made every aspect of our stay absolutely amazing. Before we even arrived, Sharon arranged for our shuttle service to the Tongariro Crossing. Upon arrival we were surprised to learn that we had been upgraded to a larger apartment. The rooms and accommodations were truly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mnal345
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear mnal345 Oh my goodness! Thank you so much for your lovely review! It means so much to us to know that you have enjoyed your stay here with us and we appreciate your feedback. We hope that you were able to enjoy the rest of your holiday here in New Zealand and your flight back home was a good...

Waihi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were thrilled that when we arrived we were upgraded to a room overlooking the pools. The resort is very well set up for all guests with the facilities being presented magnificently. The room was spotless, well set up and just what we wished for. A large bathroom with spa bath impressed as did the bedroom and lounge area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosscooper
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear rosscooper Thank you so much for your outstanding review and for taking the time to write it! We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us... and it was our pleasure to have you stay. I will pass your lovely comments onto our housekeeping staff regarding the spotlessness of your room, as they are proud and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hospitality extended to us was exceptional. From the moment we checked in, having received an upgrade every aspect of our stay was taken care of by friendly informative hosts. The accommodation over looking the impressive Lake Taupo was 5 star in every respect. All facilities were of best contemporary nature and quality. The ambience in every respect is tastefully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clivebartleet
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Clive and Denice I can not thank you enough for your delightful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and found the resort to be restful and welcoming. We strive hard to make sure that our guests are comfortable while having an enjoyable break away. Do take care and we hope that we...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the ground floor lakeside apartment and were blown away by the quality of the accommodation and the absolute lakeside position. Quality rooms with excellent furnishings, first class service- we'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NICK R
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Wonderful to have your feedbackand to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We loved having you and look forward to your next visit. Thank you.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We picked property after reading TripAdvisor reviews. Stayed two nights and were not disappointed.Unit was very clean & tidy.No road noise with all units close to the two wonderful pools.Very helpful & friendly staff.Property is right on the lake front and as a bonus property has bikes you can use at no cost.About 5-10 min drive to Taupo CBD. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeGlobal
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Hi MikeGlobal Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and you enjoyed our complimentary bikes! Hopefully you are still enjoying the brilliant sunshine and enjoying your holiday. We look forward to having you stay again in the future. Warmest Regards Sharon...

Gisborne
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once again another fantastic stay. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfy. Amazing lake views and access. The bed is so warm and snugly too. Our hosts were really friendly and helpful. So much fun to grab one of the Reefs bicycles and ride along the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tasj P
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Hi Tasj Thank you so much for your fabulous review! It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are so pleased that you had a great time. We hope the Skydiving was amazing! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thank you once again for taking the time to...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was great, very clean and had all the gadgets that we needed. The thing that sets this hotel apart from the rest of them is their amazing staff. They were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Attention and care was put in even the smallest detail. We would highly recommended this resort to anyone and are looking forward to returning!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asilwashere
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Hi Asilwashere It was so delightful to have you stay with us and thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you had a great time with us and we are looking forward to you returning for another stay! Take care & Warmest Regards Sharon & Rob Bell Managers

White Pine, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our huge room was just off the lobby on 2nd (ground) floor. Large kitchen, dining and living areas with large, comfortable bed. Bathroom was also large with nice shower tub. The only issue I had with the bath was not much vanity counter space for such a large bath. Balcony was large with good views of lake and mountains but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
SharonAndRobBell, Manager at The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan L Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It means so much to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay here and that everyone was comfortable. The pools are such a popular amenity here at the Reef Resort and our guest come back time after time to use them. We are so...

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.2 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
1,989 reviews
0.9 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.0 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.9 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection

Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $156 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A view of the lake or overlooking the pools”
Christine19581124, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Bring your togs, heated pool is a must”
TasjP, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on at least 3rd or 2nd floor with balcony facing the lake”
JDL1966, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“For the ultimate in luxury book the 3 bedroom apartment. It will not disappoint.”
brownekasey, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our second floor pool view room, also had a great view over the lake :)”
Stephirey, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$114* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$114
Orbitz.comUS$114
TripAdvisorUS$114
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates