We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Reef Resort

Show Prices
#4 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Reef Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

481 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Reef Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 466: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Stayed here one night on a trip from Wellington to Auckland and wished we could stay longer. Staff very friendly and attentive and everything was clean and tidy. Lovely to relax and wind down in the large spa bath. Would love to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It's always great to hear great feed back. You'll just have to make a special trip up :) Look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Julie and Khan - Managers

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Every year we stay at the reef resort and it's always a grea stay. The rooms are always so clean and tidy. Love the private spa bath in each of the rooms. The price is so affordable especially if your after somewhere spacious. Always so friendly.. will recommend all the time 😊 home away from home

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krissypul
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your top rating review. We are so glad you choose the Reef Resort as you place to stay in Taupo :) and we appreciate your feedback. I will be sure to pass on your comment about the rooms being so clean and tidy. They do a great job for sure. Look forward to seeing you again next...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a night recently in a really nice big studio apartment. The staff here were extremely friendly and welcoming after a long day of driving and there was lots of parking. The view of the lake from our room was great but unfortunately it was a foggy day. The hot pool was great for a cold winter morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always awesome to hear great feedback. You'll just have to come another day and sit back and enjoy the views of the lake and mountain without the fog :) Kind regards Julie and Khan - Managers

wellington
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We had a one-bedroom apartment that opened out onto the pool. The room was clean and while not spacious had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had our two children with us and we all loved having such direct access to the hot swimming pool. My husband and I could supervise the kids from our balcony when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lahanz
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love reading how our guests have enjoyed their stay. Our pool side rooms sure are great!! With 2 bathrooms, and separate lounge there's a spot for everyone to relax. We are glad you made great use of the heated pools. We hope to see you again soon :) Kind regards Julie and Khan -...

Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

The Reef Resort far exceeded our expectations. We were welcomed with friendly faces at the front desk who were quite helpful during our stay. We stayed in a poolside suite and it was amazing! This is our first time to New Zealand and Taupo is definitely a place to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your top rating review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. It's always lovely to hear great feedback. Hope you got to see some of the amazing sights of Taupo before you headed off to you next destination. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind regards Julie and Khan - Managers.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 July 2016

As soon as you enter the lobby either Julie or Khan are there with a friendly and warm greeting. The rooms are warm and comfortable, a great well stocked mini kitchen and a spa bath are appreciated. The swimming pool and hot pool are a real treat especially on cool days. Located on the lake front the resort has its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcuschandler1
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review. We love providing a welcoming atmosphere for our guests. Great that you made good use of our heated pools. With the pool being 35 degrees it's worth going outside for! :) Our cruiser bikes sure are a great way to see the sights along the lakefront. So glad you enjoyed your visit with us....

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We had a room upstairs which had all the necessary cooking utensils needed to whip up a quick bite when we didn't feel like braving the cold. The luxurious spa bath overlooking the sunset from the privacy of our room added to the amazing feeling of being spoiled. The heated room is very cosy and we don't have a need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen E
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. It's always lovely to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. So glad you had a great time. The spa baths in our luxury studios sure are a treat. Why would you want to leave the room! :) We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Julie and Khan -...

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great time at the Reef Resort hotel. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially with the special requests re kids. The room was clean and well furnished with modern conveniences. We felt very welcome and would recommend the location to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Julie M, Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We work hard to maintain and excellent standard. We hope to see you again soon :) Kind regards Julie and Khan - Managers

Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

This was a last minute trip to Taupo for my partner and I, we booked a room that really did have a view, so they upgraded us, so clean and tidy in the room, a lot of space, excellent view of lake Taupo. The staff was so friendly and showed us to our room which never happens when we go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Baylee L
reefresorttaupo, Front Office Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Hi there Baylee Thank you very much for your nice review. It was really lovely to have you stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the room that you were upgraded to and that you got to enjoy the beautiful lake views. We are really sorry that you were uncertain where to park, we try to let...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We make a point of staying each winter. The Managers were away for a month and a lovely bubbly lady was filling in for them. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff cleaning the rooms were also very friendly. The whole place has a lovely atmosphere and we will certainly be going back next year. A lovely stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine497
reefresorttaupo, Front Office Manager at The Reef Resort, responded to this review

Thanks very much Elaine for your lovely review. It was really nice to meet you both and to have you spend your holiday with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the Motel. We look forward to you coming back again next Winter (or maybe sooner):) Kind Regards Kathy & Brian Randall

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (162)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.2 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,910 reviews
0.9 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#3 of 71 in Taupo
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.0 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.9 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#8 of 71 in Taupo
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer modern, clean, quiet and comfortable motel accommodation right on the edge of Lake Taupo, New Zealand. We have a range of room options from studio suites to one Bedroom Units all with spa baths and heat pumps.to luxury three bedroom apartments with thermal spa pools. We have free on-site parking, a heated swimming pool, a thermal pool, free high speed fibre WiFi, and most rooms come with breath-taking views of the lake and surround mountains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Reef Resort

Address: 219 Lake Terrace | Town Center, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $161 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Hotel Taupo
Reef Hotel Taupo
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#2 Spa Hotel in Taupo
#2 Family Hotel in Taupo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#4 Business Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Reef Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Reef Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our second floor pool view room, also had a great view over the lake :)”
 of 5 bubbles Stephirey, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Even without an upgrade, this hotel is a fantadtic location”
 of 5 bubbles jand2017, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor to get view of lake”
 of 5 bubbles lindarB5623QJ, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a lake view room if it's in the budget. We had apartment 1, and it would be ideal for 2 couples, or a family.”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccad176, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check room size and parking acess”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5