We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

PricelineUS$51*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$131*
US$51*
Great Deal
US$53*
US$53*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

650 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 623: English reviews
Start your review of Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We LOVED Taupo, and this accommodation had everything we needed. The cabin was lovely and the site had a very friendly, family atmosphere. The bathrooms/showers were well maintained, very clean and modern and the spa is a total added bonus - fun to head up there for a relaxing couple of hours after a day out. The staff are friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emsped
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Emsped, Thank you for your wonderful review. It's great to see that our facility is making the impression that we intended. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your return :) Kind regards, Peter

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have stayed here a few times as there is always heaps for the kids to do. We could only get a 2 bedroom chalet this time and it was clean and had everything we needed. The room was cold at night but it had a heat pump so we were fine. Kids really enjoyed the hot pools and hydroslides....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sully0000
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Sully0000, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you guys had a great time at the pools. Thank you for your suggestion, we will add this to the list of items in our continuous improvement plan. We hope to have you back again soon :) Kind regards, Peter

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great night at Taupo DeBretts. Staff are friendly and the campsite is well appointed. Our daughter loved the trampoline mat! The sites are just a 5 min walk to the mineral pools, which are nice although busy. It might be better to visit in the evening to avoid the crowds. Taupo DeBretts is a good option in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Groovetrain77
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Groovetrain77, Thank you for your comments. We are glad you and the family enjoyed your stay with us. The pools can be busy if there is a rush, but most of the time it is very pleasantly populated and there is plenty of room to relax. I find that the mornings are great as there are not many people...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The pools were good and very warm, but the hired togs are not very good. Otherwise a great hot pool place! The pools were very warm and nice to bathe in and I would recommend this to anybody staying in Taupo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hgghjghggtufe
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi hgghjghggtufe, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great time at the pools and hope that you had a go on our three hydro slides as well. We thank you for the recommendation and hope to have you back again soon :) Kind regards, Peter

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
16 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great choice of mineral pools! From very hot to just lovely, this place has hydro slides which seem to entertain bigger kids but you have to be 1.2 m tall. There is a water splash area for the little ones but we found the water to be really cold there! Also a separate pool for little ones however again the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comprehensive review. It seems you were able to enjoy our night lighting which is fantastic. Our locker hire is only $2 for a large locker and $3 for a very large locker. We are sorry that you found the water playground a bit chilly, we have it heated at all times so we will investigate...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great facilities in the pool area and we loved the actual pools. Unfortunately we were let down by inaccurate signage and the attitude of the lifeguard on duty. All the signage both online and at the pool said the kids water play area opened at 9:30am so we decided to get to the pool at about 9ish so we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidgA733RJ
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi davidgA733RJ, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed the pools. We are sorry that you have had this experience with the pool attendants and we assure you that they don’t intend to offend anyone when responding to these issues. At these times, they are caught between the needs of two different...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed on a powered site, kitchens and bathrooms are a good size and spotlessly clean. The resort is ideally located for the spa and water slides. There's a nice spot to watch the sunset over the lake - the only drawback is it's a bit of a walk into town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Emma, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you have noticed our commitment to cleanliness. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We hope to have you back again soon :) Kind regards, Peter

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed these modern cabins for 2 nights. Kids were entertained all day on the pools slides and didn't want to leave. Perfect for my 10 year olds. Short drive into town for lots of cafes and restaurants, etc. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vans414
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi vans414, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you and the kids enjoyed your time here. We hope to have you back again soon :) Kind regards, Peter

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved it. Thank you. Pools are awesome. Lovely and hot. Slides and play pool fun for us grey hairs too. Private pool so relaxing. Great accomodation. Very clean and immaculate. You need to fix slide shower in SL22 . It slides down. We used a rubber band. And a few more glasses and cooking utensils would help. And a 2nd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Simon, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you for your suggestions, we will add them to the items to be discussed in the next development meeting. We hope you come back to stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Peter

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Being Good Friday we expected this camp to be busy, and it was. Thankfully we had booked a couple of nights. Rebecca checked us in and even checked to make sure we had found our allocated site. We hooked up the electricity (we're in a camper van) however while I was doing that master 5, who had been in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwifire66
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Kiwifire66, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We were very sorry to hear about the aggression from your neighbour. This is unusual and certainly unwelcome behavior here at DeBretts. It's great that Rebecca was able to deal with the situation to your satisfaction. We hope the issue is...

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
1,959 reviews
1.5 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.1 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
3.0 km away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
2.5 km away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 33 in Taupo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $81 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for view of the lake if staying huts”
peninaf2017, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Whilst cabins and sites along the road-edge are closer to the traffic they also have the best views of the lake and mountains.”
  • View from Villa 1 of lake and mountains
richardfP8835PD, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to the chalet if your budget can stretch - king size bed in main with two singles in the other room. Great kitchen facilities.”
christmascrazy002, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some of the bungalows looked a little small - the two bedroom chalet was great for a family.”
norfolkmags2017, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You can choose your room online and book it.”
SuenAndy1983, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$51* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$53
Expedia.comUS$53
TripAdvisorUS$53
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates