We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

634 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 608: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

The resort is not located in the main shopping area so a car will be desirable. It is right next to the Hilton hotel. We booked the 2 bedroom family family motel and it is massive inside. Fully equipped and immaculate throughout. Parking is next to the unit and free wifi available. We also purchased the spa tickets via the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wiz2014
Sydney
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Really liked this place. Had a villa. It was clean and functional. Stunning views out to the lake. The water park was fun but expensive. The accommodation isn't comfortable walking distance to town so if you're wanting to explore you will either need a car or want to do a lot of walking!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoRainbowBear
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Staff were very friendly and always seemed happy to be there! We got the basic room and it was neat, clean and the bed was comfortable. The hot pools were nice and affordable pricing. The only two things I can criticize is the kitchen pans and utensils supplied in our room were a little old...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Krinie
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Nice soak after a 4 hour drive. Wet and cold out. Lovely in. Variety of pools and lots of kids stuff. Clean changing rooms. Motel we're at gave us a discount but reasonably priced with a Seniors discount. Carpark was full so a fairly long walk in the rain but would def go back 🐳🐳

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb C
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Popped to DeBretts for a relaxing dip in the hot pools after a long drive from Wellington. Disappointingly the hot pools were not as expected. He top pool was hotter but very over crowded with the bottom pool being Luke warm in places. Even parents with young kids were moving to the other pool as it was not hot enough....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Mark S, Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to Taupo DeBretts. We are very sorry to hear that your hot pools experience was less than ideal. We do try our very best to maintain temperatures but given the nature of the geothermal water, this can prove quite challenging at times. Our pricing is competitive with similar...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We visit Taupo Debretts very year for the relaxing thermal pools. It's always de-stressing and always fantastic. We usually stay at the studio room, it's ok, the rooms are clean and private. The staffs at the pools are friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon1506
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

Very impressed. Cabin was super clean and well appointed and came with an air conditioner too. Thank goodness as it was a 27 degree day in Taupo!! Although no bathroom, the communal facilities were super clean and close by. Nice place. We will stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
Featherston, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

We've stayed at Debretts a few times but today just popped in for a soak in the pools and a spa treatment. It's always fantastic with a range of water temperatures to suit everyone. What stood out for me today was the customer service. I booked a spa treatment and mentioned that I needed to pump breast milk beforehand for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmamccleary
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 December 2015

We arrived at 9pm to find quite noisy music coming from the common area and hoped this would end by 10-11pm as you would expect, it didn't!! At 4am finally the music stopped and no one did a single thing to solve it. Unacceptable!!!! The shower area stunk oif human body odour and my nose is usually poor at smelling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cdrabble
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi cdrabble, Thank you for reviewing your stay here at Taupo DeBretts. We sincerely apologise for the disruption caused by that particular group during your stay and I can assure you that our night manager tried his best to move the group along numerous times, however, unfortunately, there were too many for one person to handle. Rest assured we have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

As stayed one night here in a cabin, with a shared toilet/bathroom located close by. The room was cosy, clean and nice to stay in. We were glad to have a stove and fridge, and cooked our dinner for the night. The water park was nice to go to, which we go half price for staying here. Water slides were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank curki
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi curki, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here at Taupo DeBretts. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a great time at the pools. In regards to the DVD player, we charge an $85 bond (for security purposes) and upon returning the player, you would receive an $80 refund, this should...

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
1,910 reviews
1.0 km away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
481 reviews
1.5 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
2.5 km away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#12 of 34 in Taupo
178 reviews
3.0 km away
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose to stay ahead of the game with our awesome Luxury Accommodation - self contained villas, lodges and spa chalets, providing an indulgent escape and complete with panoramic lake and mountain views. Or stay true with our ever-popular Qualmark rated 5 Star Holiday Park accommodation - from camping to van sites, cabins and motels, all spacious and excellent value.We have pools,water playground,slides,big bouncing air pad,Day Spa,Cafe-the ultimate all-year-round relaxation and recreation destination! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

Address: 76 Napier Road | PO Box 513, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $83 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taupo Debretts Hotel Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Whilst cabins and sites along the road-edge are closer to the traffic they also have the best views of the lake and mountains.”
  • View from Villa 1 of lake and mountains
 of 5 bubbles richardfP8835PD, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to the chalet if your budget can stretch - king size bed in main with two singles in the other room. Great kitchen facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles christmascrazy002, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some of the bungalows looked a little small - the two bedroom chalet was great for a family.”
 of 5 bubbles norfolkmags2017, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You can choose your room online and book it.”
 of 5 bubbles SuenAndy1983, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a Campervan - but the powered sites are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles troodles2010, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5