We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 36: English reviews
Start your review of Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We found this lovely place purely by chance. I was looking at photos of the Bay of Plenty on Instagram when I spotted a photo of a glowworm (I very much wanted to see glowworms) and following various links lead us to Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary! We thoroughly enjoyed our experience here from feeding their beautiful Mt Tutu sheep, relaxing in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christi W
MountTutuEcoTauranga, Owner at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Christi and Christian, Thank you for your review. It was a privilege to have met you, shared your company and to have had the opportunity to share our sanctuary with you. We hope to see you again sometime and if you would like to keep up to date with what's happening at the sanctuary and see regular pics, don't...

Campbell River, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2017

A warm and friendly welcome by hosts Tim & Debbie Short dispelled any travel fatigue, thereby quickly ensuring a comfortable sense of "belonging." Our cabin was well appointed and, as with the dining room/lounge of the main lodge, facilities anticipated every need. Including diverse library resources. Tea and freshly baked scones, served in the adjoining grounds, from a grassy viewpoint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William N
MountTutuEcoTauranga, Owner at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary, responded to this review

You are very kind! It was a pleasure to meet kindred spirits and share our sanctuary with you. So pleased you had a memorable experience. Next month we are hosting for 6 days a film crew from Ocean Television in Canada, for a mother and daughter travel documentary. Recently we got a lovely surprise in the letter box! Thank you...

NA
Reviewed 18 January 2017

No one would believe it, but I actually dreamt about this place before I found it. Then, I happened to click my way into the website and realized the front page was the image from the dream. Trusting that it was "meant to be", I booked it and was not disappointed! Debbie and Tim were fabulous hosts, helpful and friendlier...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieTL
MountTutuEcoTauranga, Owner at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary, responded to this review

We are so pleased that your vision of our sanctuary appeared in your dream! You can feel as though you never left, by liking our Facebook page and see new images regularly posted. We have also featured your review on our Facebook page. Thank you so much for your lovely, kind comments. We were so pleased to meet you and...

Paris, France
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed for one night at Mount Tutu eco sanctuary in one of Tim and Debbie's bush whare. Tim and Debbie are lovely people who are passionnate about their little paradise and they can be. The place is lovely and quiet and we loved the wildlife in the sanctuary. We had an excellent dinner and breakfast but the moment that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AgnesandAlain
MountTutuEcoTauranga, Owner at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are so pleased you had a memorable visit. We hope to see you again in the future. Tim and Debbie

Reviewed 11 July 2016

Tim and Debbie have created a real sanctuary here, where you are woken by native birdsong and see constellations of glow worms at night. Once, all NZ was like this but these days it can only be achieved by thousands of hours of hard work controlling possums, rats and even mice (which would snack on glow worms if they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
MountTutuEcoTauranga, Owner at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind comments. We would love to see you and your family again sometime. We get so much pleasure in sharing our sanctuary and the reward from conservation efforts is the florishing of nature when given a chance. Tim and Debbie

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We stayed at Mount Tutu for a night on a trip to Tauranga and we absolutely loved it. The "whares" were cozy and had everything we needed including tea, coffee and biscuits. Debbie also brought over some delicious brownies which was a lovely touch. In the evening we went to the guest lounge and it was nice to sit by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monarch123
MountTutuEcoTauranga, Owner at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again sometime and we always offer a special deal for return guests, and also to referred guests if you ask them to mention your name. Tim and Debbie

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 6 June 2016

We were unfortunately only able to stay for one night as the Sanctuary was booked out but this is one of the best kept secrets in the North Island of New Zealand. It was a great way to give our kids an insight into kiwi life, rural life and the absolutely stunning and unique wildlife New Zealand hides. Tim and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisamareeinHK
MountTutuEcoTauranga, Owner at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Lisamaree, Thank you so much for your comprehensive review. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and share our sanctuary with you, we remember our time with you, and hope to spend more time with you and your family in the future.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2016

We were there for 4 days as a family. Tim & Debbie were very friendly and went out of the way to make our stay comfortable. Lovely bush walk, glow worm tours in their backyard, lovely cooked breakfast, friendly hens, lambs & parrots. Scenery takes your breath away. Comfortable stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank animeno
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary his a bit of an oddity in all forms; it is situated in the middle of native rainforest that has been protected in perpetuity but is surrounded by farm land. The rooms themselves are dated when it comes to the decor, however the beds were incredibly comfortable, and, after the fascinating glow-worm tour put on by Tim...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We chose the Mt Tutu Eco Sanctuary because of the very positive reviews, allowing for the high cost (our most expensive accommodation during two weeks in the North Island) as a special treat, but it didn't match our expectations. The photo of the 'whare' (an A frame cabin) on the website made the accommodation seem better than it was. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
MountTutuEcoTauranga, Owner at Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have met you and shared our sanctuary with you. As you paid for two nights, but only got to stay for one night due to a last minute change in your itinerary, yes, that would have been expensive, so we offer you one free night for you or a friend within the next 12 months....

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:18
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tauranga hotels
12.8 km away
Summit Motor Lodge
Summit Motor Lodge
#2 of 57 in Tauranga
285 reviews
14.3 km away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#5 of 57 in Tauranga
1,060 reviews
17.2 km away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#3 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
The French Country House
The French Country House
#1 of 44 in Tauranga
75 reviews
1.7 km away
Eagle Ridge Lodge
Eagle Ridge Lodge
#21 of 44 in Tauranga
12 reviews
18.9 km away
Capri On Pilot Bay
Capri On Pilot Bay
#5 of 19 in Mount Maunganui
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in an enchanting "Bush Whare" with en-suite at an Eco-Lodge and Nature Retreat. Guests receive hearty breakfasts, evening Glow-Worm tour, Rainforest tour (included in tariff), and feed Mount Tutu sheep. Enjoy woodland/water gardens, Rainforest Bird Sanctuary, and awaken to bird song. Protected (QEII National Trust) paradise, with trees over 500 years old. Free Wi-Fi for email in Guest Lounge and some rooms. MICROWAVE & FRIDGE in Guest Lounge close to rooms, BBQ available. SPECIAL NZ$69.00 DISCOUNT WHEN STAYING SECOND NIGHT, PLEASE ENQUIRE. NO PHOTOS HAVE BEEN PHOTO-SHOPPED AND ARE A TRUE REPRESENTATION. We offer a rustic and authentic experience with the charm and hospitality of yesteryear. Accommodation is built using recycled materials (1970's retro decor) providing cosy and comfortable Whare (cabins) with ensuite and Family Room with separate private bathroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary

Address: 1190 Ohauiti Road | RD 3, Tauranga 3173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga
Price Range: $148 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary Tauranga, South Pacific - New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Tutu Eco-Sanctuary staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pukeko faces out toward the field”
KatieTL, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Even if you're staying for just one night, you might still be able to join in the morning rainforest tour - just ask Tim!”
430mattj, 28 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Get pictures of all the rooms from Tim or Debbie before booking the room you want.”
  • Bedroom View 2
  • Bedroom View 1
  • Entrance to Cabin
Joe77062, 4 Feb 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in the whare furthest from the lounge, which came with the added bonus of a nocturnal possum visit - the closest we got to seeing one of these beasts. It was very comfy, and has a huge mosquito net - very romantic!”
829kirsting, 18 Feb 2014 | Read review
“It is an easy drive from Tauranga, but I suggest going during daylight the first time.”
650JulieS650, 16 Jan 2013 | Read review
5 of 5