We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

CancelonUS$112*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$126*
US$112*
Great Deal
US$115*
US$115*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,400: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I stay almost every week in Welling for work and was booked into the Copthorne. I was give big room with two double beds (!?!) with a sea view. This loooked great but the room was close to the noisy road and the lift... I was woken up several times during the night by noise in the hallway / lift...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Willem V
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Willem V Thank you for posting your comments on your experience. It very disappointing to read that we did not meet your expectations in any way. If you are returning to Wellington please allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves as we have faith in our standard of service and the product we have on offer. Do not hesitate...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Heading down for the weekend, our first impressions were good until we began to look at small details. We stayed cheap which was just as well given at full price it wouldn't have been worth it. For a self claimed 4 star hotel, the lack of air conditioning in the room was surprising and so was the lack of free...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thronodor
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Thronodor Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I was disappointed that we were a mix of good and bad during your stay. I have used your comments to review our operational standards and implement positive change. Kind regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

Woodville
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two night in early December, we needed some where to stay close to the appointment we had. This was less than 2 minute walk. On check in we had a rather sour faced receptionist check us in after telling the guy to go park some cars. Her shirt was untucked and looked very frazzled. We were told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear David M Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and provide informative feedback. We pride ourselves on our guest service and as you say the first impression is of high importance. We have discussed your comments and implemented training to improve. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can return in...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 December 2015

Good place to stay when you don't have your own transport So easy to walk into town and all attractions However very disappointed that there is no free wifi in the rooms,I stayed 7 days and having to pay..or sit in a public area is quite inconvenient ( considering the cost of the rooms)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Bruce P I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and our location was a winner. Rest assured we are currently reviewing our wifi policies. Many thanks for your comments. Kind regards Kenneth Orr General Manager.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I stayed at this hotel for several weeks while on a work assignment. The staff at the hotel, particularly the reception staff, went out of their way to look after me, which was lovely and very much appreciated. My room was clean and comfortable, although some of the soft furnishings are becoming a little worn now. The food in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mairi_annemacdonald
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear mairi_annemacdonald helsie57 many thanks for posting your positive review. It is great to read our staff were a standout during your stay. We look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 6 December 2015

This hotel was recommended by an Australian Friend of our who lives across the street from us in Dubai. We were booked at a AirBnB place, but upon arrival we discovered we had to make other arrangements, so we called Copthorne Hotel Wellington and they had a room available and we will always stay there when returning to Wellington. Fabulous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adoral955
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear adoral955 Many thanks for your review and room tip. I look forward to your next visit to the capital. Kind Regards Kenneth Orr, General Manager

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 December 2015

This was a wonderful location just a short walking distance from shopping area and Te Papa Museum, super comfy bed, great water pressure in the shower, rooms very clean and modern with mini bar. Front reception staff very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine H
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Nadine H Many thanks for your positive comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Kind Regards Ken Orr, General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

We decided for our Dad's birthday we'll surprise him a nice weekend away. Especially my sister and I both live in Australia. Mom and Dad was very impressed with the room and especially the service. We requested the hotel to look after Dad for us and they did a great job. They got an amazing room, a very nice birthday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Jackie S Many thanks for allowing us to play a part in your dad's birthday. I was pleased to read it all went to plan and your parents had a great weekend. Kind Regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

We arrived quite late after traveling from Auckland. Check in was quick and we were in our nice comfy bed in no time. The room was big and clean. The wifi is not included which is a bit rubbish. We paid the extra for 24 hours but within 2 it had run out. I think due to my emails downloading...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HannahMumbai
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear HannahMumbai Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your room and our facilities. I hope you can return again in the future. Kind regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Rooms are clean and well set out; the staff friendly and very helpful; location is perfect to get to town by foot and the view is amazing. Thank you for making my work trip comfortable. Complimentary use of the gym just down from the Hotel was appreciated also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Work39
Ken O, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this review

Dear Work39 thank you for choosing to stay with us and posting your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your work time in the capital. Kind Regards Kenneth Orr General Manager

346 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (289)
Viewed
View from Room (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.2 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.8 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,373 reviews
0.6 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,817 reviews
0.4 km away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,563 reviews
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Where location is everything! A $10 million refurbishment and its prime waterfront position overlooking one of the world'€™s most beautiful harbors makes the Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay one of the most luxurious accommodation experiences in Wellington. Contemporary decor, exceptional dining options, heated indoor swimming pool and state-of-the-art technology with all the convenient comforts you would expect from a modern city hotel such as broadband internet, modem points and a large wall-mounted LCD TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Address: 100 Oriental Parade | Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $155 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#6 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a high room we were on floor one and could hear people on the street below.”
KidsfashioNZ, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“The higher the floor, the better the views :)”
rhopenz, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a view and one of the very comfortable king beds.”
kayeliz2016, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Water views are beautiful and did not hear any road noise”
saresh2015, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Superior Harbor View in the front tower for excellent unobstructed view but back tower also offers good views.”
ravinon, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$112* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$115
Hotels.comUS$115
HotelQuicklyUS$126
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates