We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 540: English reviews
Hunterville, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had an issue with a room because of the earthquake but we were sorted out Very quickly they were always ready to help and we had a lovely meal and when we returned from the concert they were only to happy to serve us at the bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jilden
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading a lot of negative reviews I wasn't keeping my hopes up, but was pleasantly surprised. The room was perfect for our needs, although extra pillows would have been nice. The restaurant served beautiful food (the WOAP dish was amazing!) and they can cook a steak perfectly! Limited parking can be an issue, although if you arrive early take...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank step0286
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was a good overnight stop in one of the newly renovated rooms. Room was clean and well presented. The service by all staff was friendly and helpful. However, I wouldn't want to stay for more than a few nights due to the size of the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Jade is very helpful and makes great flat whites and Amy helped me move the bed around the room so that the bed head was not by a crack in the wall by the stairwell. She also helped me find my handbag when I lost it. The staff are very helpful. One of our delegates was on crutches and they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jacinta G
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this review

Dear Jacinta G, Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate the feedback that you have provided about the staff. Regards Jeff

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very basic hotel. Surface clean but don't look too close. I have stayed three different times for work and each time have had problems with room - a leaky shower, fridges that freeze drinks, next to stairwell with noise from about 5am, musty smell, bed throw with cigarette stain on it. Breakfast is satisfactory however friends who have eaten other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this review

Hi Angela, Thank you for the feedback. Please let me know when you are next staying and you can try one of our refurbished rooms. Please contact me on jeff_hermes@evt.com. Regards Jeff

New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice easy walk from where the airport bus dropped us off. Friendly receptionist who was happy for us to leave our bags as we arrived early. Room was perfect with a great view of the Beehive and surrounding area. Very clean and tidy and exactly what we needed for the night on a girl's trip away. Within easy walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debann68
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's two months now still waiting for my refund . When i m ringing them, they are always saying " we will check it,ring tomorrow ". But didn't get my money back till now. If you don't know where customer deposit is going and when to return them STOP charging money then. OR Maybe you need a new account for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricky C
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this review

Dear Ricky C, Thanks for your feedback. We generally refund at checkout but sometimes there are delays with the bank. If you can contact me at jeff_hermes@evt.com I will personally look into it for you. Regards Jeff

York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed two nights and thought it was a very nice hotel. Our room had a kitchenette which was equipped with a toaster and fridge. The toaster saved us a lot of money since the exchange rate is rock bottom at the moment and we could make our own breakfast. The down side was the $30 PER NIGHT parking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Borntobewide
wellingtonhotels, General Manager at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges, responded to this review

Dear Borntobewide, Thank you for your feedback about the hotel. We will be reviewing our prices for parking in the future but currently they will remain unchanged. Regards Jeff

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Thorndon Hotel in Wellington for three nights in November 2016. The room was incredibly basic for a Rydges property with more of an 'Ibis Budget' feel to it. Parking is also extremely limited and can be an issue if you're arriving back to the hotel mid to late evening. On the upside the staff were all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeanK_82
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms basic but clean and comfortable. Staff all very friendly especially the nice Japanese girl "Nona" she was a star! Breakfast and evening meals far better than you would expect, in fact exceptional. Happy to stay here again on any visit to Wellington.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ducatiexpert

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
2.3 km away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
598 reviews
1.0 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,946 reviews
1.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
1.8 km away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#27 of 46 in Wellington
445 reviews
0.7 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The recently upgraded Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges is located on the doorstep to the CBD and on the edge of the Government and Corporate precincts of Thorndon. The hotel is the closest hotel to Westpac Stadium providing the best location for all your sporting, concerts and major events. The hotel offers FREE WiFi throughout the building. The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges prides itself in providing excellent facilities and all rooms are light, comfortable and fresh. With the back drop of Wellington's famous beautiful hills choose between panoramic views of the Harbour, City Skyline or overlook New Zealand's oldest and historic suburb Thorndon. The Hotel is perfect for both the business, conference and leisure traveler. When staying at The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges, the CBD, Lambton Key, bus, train and ferry terminals, Parliament Buildings, Government offices and Botanical Gardens are all on your doorstep. Nothing is better than being accommodated by a hotel which has everything at its feet. Guests of The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges can also enjoy complimentary access to city fitness and competitive pricing for off street car parking. Try our tantalising menu in Glasshouse Restaurant or relax and unwind in Glasshouse Bar. With contemporary cuisine and a beautiful setting overlooking established gardens Glasshouse Restaurant & Bar is perfect for all your dining occasions. Open for Breakfast and Dinner 7 days a week why go anywhere else? Additionally our conference rooms have natural light, air-conditioning, sound proof interconnecting doors and can seat 2 - 150 people. The Thorndon Hotel Wellington - by Rydges is a 3 Star Plus Qualmark Rated Hotel and has an Enviro-Silver rating. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges

Address: 24 Hawkestone St | Thorndon, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $96 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
north balgowlah
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floors higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles ducatiexpert, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Was on road side and it was quiet - in quiet street.”
 of 5 bubbles 783Alice, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one of the recently refurbished rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles GordonA720, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose another hotel”
  • the mirror is on the left of the sink.
 of 5 bubbles chimayred, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any room on any floor apart from those rooms on the 9th floor when it's windy outside. Ono offered to change the room.”
 of 5 bubbles Diksue, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay