We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Cambridge Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cambridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

605 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 564: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel/hostel for over 6months from May till December.....what more can I say about the place then perfect..,with a wide range of rooms to pick from including dorms and privates....I stayed in all types of rooms....privates room comes with big flat screen tv...backpack dorms are amazing with the best showers in New Zealand and free shower gel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jack, What lovely comments to start the day with! Thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. I am sure your detailed comments will be a great help to future visitors to Wellington, and guests of the Cambridge. It's wonderful to read all that you enjoyed during your time with us, and thank you for...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unlike the some people reviewing this hostel like hotel I have to say I really liked it! The rooms are spacious, the beds are standard, but comfy. Pricing is unbeatable: For a bunk bed in a four bed dorm only 26NZD. The bathrooms looked very well furnished and recently updated with modern wall ceramics, nice water pressure and free soap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarcAnton W
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Marc, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found the staff to be friendly and professional. We offer a range of different accommodation types, to cater to most budgets, so it's great...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent service - very friendly and hospitable staff. For the price the standard of the rooms and amenities is very high. Great breakfast in the restaurant and the shared kitchen facilites are very good as well

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairp2017
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Clairp2017, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It's lovely to hear that you found the team to be friendly and hospitable. We take pride in providing excellent service, and I know the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Cambridge Hotel for one night while passing through Wellington. The weather was crazy, but the room managed to keep us warm and cozy. This is pretty much a backpacker's hotel, so expect nothing fancy. The room was a bit dated, with the exception of the bathroom which appeared to be renovated (we had a room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rwyhuang
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello rwyhuang, Thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you were able to stay warm and cozy during the recent bad weather. It's disappointing to read about your check-in. I will certainly be following up with the team, as we do pride ourselves on our customer service. It’s unfortunate that...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We'd a lovely room on the second floor. The room has toiletries, TV and fridge. The room and hotel are very clean, reception staff friendly and helpful, lots of hot water, fast 60 minute free WiFi per device. In a great location too. We stayed a Saturday night and there was a bit of noise from outside until the early...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simongb
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Simon, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The team will be delighted to hear, as they all take great pride in their work!...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's a grand hotel but quite affordable. I stayed a couple of night there and didn't have any issues. The location of the hotel was perfect for me...it was smack dab in the middle of the city...everything was within walking distance...and if you're looking for some great places to eat then I'd recommend a great African restaurant that is just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neishaq06
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Neishaq06, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found our great central location handy to explore all that Wellington has to offer. We hope if you return to Wellington you choose again...

Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 December 2016

my room was good you had shared toilets and shower. some rooms have there own. i was only wanting some where to sleep. you had hotel bar down stairs and restaurant. plus other places close by. if you don't mind walking you can take a good 20 - 30 min walk to the water front te papa isn't that far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Tony, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed our great central location, and onsite Bar and Bistro. We hope if you return to Wellington you choose again to stay with Cambridge Hotel. Kind Regards, Carissa Hancock Accommodation Manager

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

we stayed in November .The room was very good. Cleaned every day and we could choose when the sheets were changed during our stay .The staff were very friendly and help full .The Cambridge is very close to bus stops Courtney place a really fantastic 8 day adventure thank you. Jane Watson

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jane w
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jane, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you had a wonderful adventure in Wellington. Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff, they will be delighted to hear this. I know the Cambridge team enjoyed being able to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Location, outside view of hotel & staff all good. My room for the night was minging, stained dirty,looking towel & bed linen, so bad that that I turned the pillow cases inside out. The window had a broken pane of glass, the sink only had 1 tap working (the cold one). The shared bathroom had lots of water on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 123nyfb
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the central location, and staff during your recent stay with us. It's very disappointing to read the cleanliness and maintenance issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is certainly not up to our usual standard,...

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I expected a degree of noise in the hotel from the street or the wind in Welly but the noise I experiened was far worse than expected and from neither of these sources. My room (402) in the backpacker wing of the hotel was extremely noisy due to what I believe was an extractor fan from the kitchen or laundry....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank an0nyn0n
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on Trip Advisor. It's great to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful during your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to read that you shortened your stay with us, due to noise, and wish we had the opportunity to offer a solution...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
1,978 reviews
1.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,316 reviews
1.7 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#27 of 46 in Wellington
460 reviews
0.5 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
663 reviews
1.9 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $37 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Amazing rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 196jacka, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“check out its rooms on its website then decide from there”
 of 5 bubbles TonyM431, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room was away from the street, but very noisy with partying past 2am in the morning on nights I was there.”
 of 5 bubbles joyh671, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They are all noisy sorry. I did ask but they did not have an ensuite rooms away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles , 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are both ensuite or shared bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles t0nyb36, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay