We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cambridge Hotel

Booking.comUS$34*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$96*
US$34*
Great Deal
US$58*
US$58*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cambridge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

657 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cambridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 613: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Good old pub with history. Rooms are fairly clean. Interesting to have a bathroom sink in the room next to the bed. Not great position for some of the rooms being above the kitchen with the fan going, can be quite loud. But the noise from the customers in the pub below was not that bad. And although the facilities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhea-Dew
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rhea-Dew, Thank you for for taking the time to leave a review of Cambridge Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are proud of our historic building, and have kept the original room layout to reflect the heritage of the hotel. This sometimes means that bathrooms and fittings are not always in places that would now imagine them to be! I...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night before taking the ferry to the south island. The hotel is decorated with old furniture which gives it a unique style and makes u feel u traveled 100 years back in time. Rooms are clean stuff is friendly, bars and restaurants are in close walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrickfromchina
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Patrick, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the unique and historical building. We pride ourselves on reflecting the heritage and history of the hotel. It's lovely to hear that you found the rooms clean during your stay...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 October 2016

My room was not like the photos. Plaster was flaking off the wall, leaving holes in the wall. I cleaned it off the floor myself, as the flakes hadn't been vacuumed up. I didn't use the jug, as it was dirty inside. Very noisy. The website mentions weekend noise from the bar, but this was mid-week, so I wasn't expecting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris212013
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to read about the maintenance issues you experienced during your stay, and wish we had the opportunity to rectify these matters while you were at the hotel. I would be grateful if you could provide us with your...

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a pub feed and a beer, then this will do the job. Meals are very reasonably priced for the size, however it's not amazing and scrumptious - pub food! If I had to recommend something for the bloke, it would be the ribs stack. Hearty and is sure to fill the gap, leaving room for an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josh E
Whitianga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Good room, own ensuite. Servicing of the room a bit hit and miss, not enough towels and no tea or milk replaced at times. A little noisy through the night with the communal bathroom entry right beside our door. Lovely old stained glass windows and excellent food. Easy to walk to all the places we wanted to go to.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynmW6061TA
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kathrnyn, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the historical features, tasty meals and great central location. We're sorry to hear that the servicing of the room affected your stay with us. It is unfortunate, that we did...

Melbourne
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The Cambridge is a historic hotel in Wellington that has been around since the 1880's. I booked a private room as I needed some well deserved solo time and loved my little room. It came with everything: TV, fridge, wardrobe, wall heater and my own sink! There are other types of rooms as well depending on what kind of travel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willow800
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed all the Cambridge Hotel has to offer during your recent stay with us. We hope if you return to Wellington you choose again to stay with Cambridge Hotel. Kind Regards, Carissa...

Reviewed 29 September 2016

Very friendly staff. The room was clean and great value. It was mid-week and there was no noise. You just have to live with sharing a bathroom! I think it would probably be fun in the weekend. I would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Matt, Thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found the hotel to be clean and great value. It's lovely to hear that the staff were friendly. We hope if you return to Wellington you choose again to stay with Cambridge Hotel....

Dargaville
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Have stayed several times. Centrally located. Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. Staff are very polite and efficient. Breakfast in the bar - start with eggs and add extras as required - is very enjoyable and reasonably cheap.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivt751
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello vivt751, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast in the bar - we agree it's a great start for a day of exploring Wellington! It's lovely to hear you found the team to be polite and...

Brisbane
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Even allowing for no ensuite, $44 a night for 3 nights was excellent value, particularly when I found out that the All Blacks were in town on the Saturday night and the city was heaving with Wallaby fans. Design your own breakfast starting at $3 for scrambled eggs on toast could hardly be beaten, and the $15 rump steak was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott I
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Scott, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us, and enjoyed your meals in the Bar/Bistro. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team. It's a shame to hear that other had...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 September 2016

So there is supposedly free one day wifi if you reviewed this place during your stay, but that aside, this hotel is really a good option for an overnight stay at wellington. Price is pretty decent and affordable and the room is pretty good, with cable tv, a fridge and facilities to make your own coffee or tea in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm_See
MightyCambridge, Manager at The Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Malcolm, First of all we’d like to extend a warm thank you for taking the time to review Cambridge Hotel on TripAdvisor. We’re glad to read that you enjoyed the in room amenities and hotel facilities. Our central location is great for exploring all that Wellington has to offer! We hope if you return to Wellington you choose again...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,095 reviews
1.2 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,526 reviews
0.5 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#22 of 46 in Wellington
590 reviews
1.3 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 km away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful heritage building.Immensely popular for our value accommodation and our central location in the heart of the city. From traditional rooms upstairs, to state of the art backpacker facilities.Come, join us in the bar for a free kiwi BBQ every Wednesday,or our fab menus with breaky starting from only $3 for eggs on toast! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cambridge Hotel

Address: 28 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $26 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cambridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#15 Business Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“106 has a dodgy door handle in the bathroom :)”
tessacai, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you require lots of sleep or are a light sleeper I recommend a room not facing the street. ”
10ScottM, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only one hour in 24 hours for the free wifi but nearly all the bars around had passwords to give you for free wifi”
KateFife_Scotland, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room....”
433josephl, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“check what rooms they ahev wehn you make your booking. Not sure how many private rooms they now have.”
jOnathOn49_19, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$34* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$58
Hotwire.comUS$58
CancelonUS$96
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates