We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 440: English reviews
Woodland, California
Reviewed 14 February 2017

booked by work travel office. has all the essentials, and most importantly a comfortable bed. a bit untidy in terms of wallpaper and paint. handy to some good eating places and handy enough to the waterfront (for walking/running).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluejack45
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is helpful and greatly appreciated. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Basel
Reviewed 2 February 2017

The rooms are a bit worn down. We had a junior suite which offered enough space, but the furniture is old and the sofa was heavily stained. Our room was facing the street and very noisy. The restaurant and bar was during our stay only open for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shiketing
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your helpful feedback. Your feedback is appreciated and helps make a difference. We have an on-going refurbishment programme and will continue to make improvements. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Very disappointing about this hotel as the staff there have no passion to engage with the guests or make them feel welcome. No assistance with luggage, no air-conditioning, restaurant lacks service quality or a price of meals that represent in quality. Welcome drinks were for one person, despite there being two of us.. no milk for coffee in room until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kwok320
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I was disappointed to hear about your experience. I have personally followed this up with the team. Our team work hard to ensure our guests have a good experience and you will see from other feedback that we normally achieve high standards of service. I sincerely apologise that we did not meet our normal...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Great service checking in and out. Every other time I passed through reception all I saw was the top of head/s. Room was average. Unfortunately it wasn't until I checked in that I was told no restaurant or room service during my stay due to holidays ( 10 - 12 Jan ). A large part of my choosing this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WWDreamer
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I have noted your feedback regarding the restaurant and will look into ways we can better inform guests. Your feedback is helpful, valued and appreicated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Whanganui, NZ
Reviewed 2 February 2017

This hotel is in a pretty good location and provides the essentials however it is an older building and has signs of wear. Facilities in the room were ok but overall the impression was of a fairly tired set-up that seems to me only just meets Mercure standard. Everything was clean and the suite I was in had a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RT-Whanganui
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have an on-going refurbishment programme an your feedback helps make a difference. Your feedback is valued and appreciated. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Everyone was very pleasant and the room was spacious and nice. The facilities were adequate and the bed was comfortable.We enjoyed the view from the 7th floor. We had a full breakfast, which was very enjoyable.. We would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenjp2017
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is great to hear you will stay with us again on your next visit. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Mercure Wellington My wife and I are on a round the world trip and 5 of the 8 hotels are Accor group hotels Mercure Wellington is by far the worst, it was nothing more than mediocre Branding on the outside of the hotel in Wellington in many places shows a this to be a “Prime Hotel” which is a different...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J5424ZLchrish
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occassion. I have addressed your feedback with the team. WE have recently upgraded a number of beds in the hotel. We have an on-going refurbishment programme and will continue to make improvements. Your feedback is valued and...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Nice enough hotel but thread bare carpet at the entrance made the place look a bit tacky. Paid $140 for the stay which is about average for a 3.5 traveller hotel. BUT They advertise Sky and have a Sky mag but you cant get anything but the basic freeview channels. The cheaper IBIS where I normally stay has SKY and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bustedblonde
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have an on-going refurbishment programme and I am delighted to report the carpet in the lobby is about to be replaced. Thank you for your feedback on the sky channels. I will personally look into this. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2017

This is an older hotel, but the room was clean and we found it a good base location for our visit to Wellington. Be aware that no part of this hotel is air-conditioned. Given Wellington's typical climate this is unlikely to be a huge problem even in summer, but we did need to borrow a small fan (early January) as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OzGypsy73
AbelTasman169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location and found the hotel value for money. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed making the most of the Wellington attractions. We hope to see you back next time you visit Wellington. Kind Regards Jody Dickinson General Manager

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.8 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,045 reviews
0.2 km away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#20 of 46 in Wellington
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.5 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,427 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#21 of 46 in Wellington
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman is perfectly positioned in the heart of Wellingtons, cultural, business and entertainment districts. 73 spacious guest rooms. Newly refurbished conference facilities are on site and offer a balance between style and practicability. All with natural light. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation Wellington)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $113 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 309 has a good kitchenette with microwave oven, crockery and cutlery for 3 people.”
  • Kitchenette with crockery and cutlery
  • Twin share (single and a queen size)
 of 5 bubbles BelC0001, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I was on the 6th floor..a bit of traffic noise.the room was on the south side,a good view”
 of 5 bubbles kellyfR8040IH, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Kwok320, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher up are quieter - although its a noisy hotel they do supply ear plugs!”
 of 5 bubbles bustedblonde, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms overlooking the Wilson Car Park if you are a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles OzGypsy73, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5