We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gilmer Apartment Hotel

Hotwire.comUS$73*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$73*
Great Deal
US$74*
US$74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

341 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 321: English reviews
Start your review of Gilmer Apartment Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Helpful and friendly staff on the phone and at reception. Very clean, comfortable, all the amenities for cooking including a washing machine. Very central for shopping, restaurants, but still very quiet amid all the noise of the city. Also, very good value for money. I would highly recommend these apartments to the city hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
Aimee J, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback, we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As expected we arrived after the 5pm close of reception. It was dark, cold & damp when the taxi took us to the entry. Several calls on the intercom were futile. Our luck was in when another couple arrived with their cases. They had been sent a code to open the security safe where the keys were left for those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
GilmerGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Malcolm and we're happy you enjoyed your stay. We do close reception at 5pm on weekends, this is outlined in the confirmation email you received when you made your reservation. We do advise guests to contact us for a lock box code where you can pick up your room key and the necessary information if...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very happy with this property! I needed to apply for a South African Visa in Wellington and this property is RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the South African Application Office. It is also right next to the New Zealand Passports Office. Location could not have been closer, which meant I didn't miss my early morning appointment. I arrived late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shogz182
Aimee J, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to place such a detailed review, we really appreciate it. All the best for your future travels.

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the apartment and had a really pleasant experience. Our room was small but clean and exactly what we needed. Nice shower with great water pressure and SKY tv so can't beat that. We were a bit confused on check in that there was no receptionist and were not told in advance we needed a code...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
Aimee J, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Monica Thank you for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Upon every reservation being made we send an information template email which outlines the after hours check in if required. We do not give out the code in this template, only when requested by guests due to security as I'm sure you can understand. It is...

Elstree
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We found the Gilmer Apartment hotel to be just right for our 2 night stay in Wellington. There is a quick cut through to the centre of Wellington making it an ideal location. From the moment we arrived till we left we found the reception staff to be amazing. They went out of their way to be helpful with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andyko
Aimee J, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best and hope to see you again.

Glasgow
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We initially booked through a third party but then realised booking directly would be cheaper. Daily car parking $15 instead of $20 and room rate less. Reception staff were very helpful in accommodating the switch, which was quite involved as we had 2 separate stays booked, and particular rooms selected on basis of TA reviews! Once we arrived staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zhena
Aimee J, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we really appreciate it and are so happy you had a great stay.

Reviewed 2 April 2017

The apartment was faultless, as was the staff, the location and the amenities on offer by this hidden gem. Ignore complaints about the (lack of) view - the hotel doesn't sell you one, and you don't pay for one. The bed was super comfortable, the bathroom clean, and kitchen facilities a god send. The price I paid for my 7...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank U646PBtonym
Aimee J, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to having you back one day. Thanks again.

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Visited here in February this year for 10 nights, was suitable for sleeping as we were never in, disappointed with room there was no where to put your clothes lived out of suitcases during our visit the wardrobe space was only about 18 inches wide, no drawers for your clothes this was not suitable for a ten night stay, large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherine T
Aimee J, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Catherine, thank you for your feedback and I'm sorry to hear you did not find you had enough space in your room. We have wardrobes and several hooks for clothing in the studio apartments. All the best for your future travels.

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night in a self contained apartment. This apartment was modern & equipped with cooking facilities as well as a washer dryer (with two sachets of washing powder!). The bathroom itself was a little dated, but sufficient for our needs. The bed was comfortable and the apartment was clean. The reception staff were very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya F
Aimee J, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback Tanya, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate you taking the time to place this review.

Reviewed 26 March 2017

We had a very nice stay here. The apartment was very cozy and in central Wellington so it was easy to get just about anywhere we needed. The room also included a washer/dryer and a small kitchen with pots and pans which was very convenient for us on nights we wanted to cook in. For what we got, the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Aimee J, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback Michael, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 km away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,092 reviews
0.1 km away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,515 reviews
0.1 km away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.8 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
731 reviews
0.7 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Wellington's vibrant CBD, Gilmer Apartment Hotel is the perfect place to stay a night, a month or even a year! Gilmer offers guests who book direct access to the exclusive Habit Health and Fitness club which boasts a spa, sauna, steam room, salt water pool and excellent gym facilities(located a short walk away) . All guests have access to UNLIMITED FREE WIFI. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gilmer Apartment Hotel

Address: 10 Gilmer Terrace | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Gilmer Serviced Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $94 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gilmer Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gilmer Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmer Serviced Apartments Hotel Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gilmer Apartment Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Gilmer Apartment Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet. Perfect if you want be in the city, but with not the noise.”
, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room away from elevator”
U646PBtonym, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Maybe a higher level floor as lowest level is access to lift to upper floors and possibly noisier?”
173joannet, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to find one without wind noise.”
MikeD602014, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you ask in advance for short cut directions to the Gilmer via the James Cook Building elevator.”
535juliel, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$74
Booking.comUS$74
TripAdvisorUS$74
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates