We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Scenic Hotel Marlborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 287: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed 1 night with friend last month, front office staff was very helpful with all the questions regarding to local attractions. Room are clean, big and has everything we need. Restaurant waitress was very friendly and patient but the food was awful. I had the special of the day-pork belly, came out with 3 potatoes and 2 pieces of pork... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daisysmith_05
adrian c, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your feedback. I am delighted that you were well looked after and you enjoyed our facilities. It seems the food quality was not the issue but the presentation? I will certainly spend time with the Chef to review the whole menu, including the dishes you have highlighted, and look at what improvements can... More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel at the weekend and was lovely. The rooms were emaculate and the staff very helpful and friendly. The food was great. Only complaint was the bed. We found them too soft. As a result we both came away with sore backs. Perhaps offering a firmer bed for those who need it would be awesome.

Helpful?
Thank 41janice52
adrian c, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you were well looked after but was sorry to hear that our beds were not to your liking. Our beds are made with a thick feather and down bed topper which gives that luxurious sinking feeling when you get into them. However, I understand that these can... More 

Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We did two nights in Blenheim while we were doing some New Zealand wine testing. The room was fair and the food was aweful. There was very little food on the buffet table and what was there was either over cooked, dry, or terribly stale. Even the wait staff apologized for the food. I do not recommend this establishment unless... More 

Helpful?
Thank Harvestdrmr
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast buffet. I will be checking with my team to see what happened. Normally I would expect for the buffet to be replenished so that it looks as good for our later guests as it does for those dining early. Our hot food should also be taken away... More 

Yarragon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Scenic Hotel doesn't have panoramic views or superfluous frills but our room was spacious and well serviced with everything we needed. It's only a short through the park to Blenheim CBD. Speaking of views, the outlook from the dining room across the park at night when the beautiful fountain is on, makes for a very pleasant dining experience. The food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Max T
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Max Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you were well looked after and had a pleasant stay and thank you for choosing to stay with us in the first place. With best wishes Adrian More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Staying in Blenheim for a few nights and just picked the Scenic randomly. Check in was very efficient, the place was very clean and the room large with everything you needed. Went for a walk into the town which is literally through a lovely park across the road so the location is also ideal for town and visiting the numerous... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan111060
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and also for your kind words about Susie - I will make sure she sees this review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to have the position that we do in the middle of town, by Seymour Square... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2016

This hotel is in a quite location, but a short stroll to the shops and park. Our room was on the top floor at the rear away from the street. Good clean room with big ensuite, towels were large and thick. The bed was sort and comfortable. The hotel has sauna and pool and a bar area in a seperate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine R
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Geraldine, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. With best wishes Adrian More 

Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We had a one night stay in March as part of a tour. The room was very pleasant without being outstanding and the staff were helpful and pleasant. We had a very nice meal with wines chosen to accompany each course. We didn't stay long in Blenheim so didn't gain much of an Impression of the town.

Helpful?
Thank rdjdavies915
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay albeit a short one. Hopefully next time you visit you will be able to explore more of the Marlborough region as we have lots to offer - as well as plenty of good wine! With best wishes Adrian More 

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Very clean, nicely set out room with modern, minimalistic, stylish fittings. Comfortable bed. The room has two rubbish 'bins' -- one for recyclables and the other for general stuff; unfortunately they were neatly located within a drawer so I didn't locate them until late in our stay, but full marks to the hotel for its greenness. It has an outdoor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Michael Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. I am very pleased to hear that you had a great stay. With best wishes Adrian More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This is a very nice place to stay. Part of our tour included an Highlight dinner served with wine to match the courses, this was excellent and the staff were amazing the way they served up the different choices. Next morning the breakfast menu was very varied. We also found the WiFi excellent for our needs (free)

Helpful?
Thank Richard G
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you for your review - it sounds as though you really enjoyed your stay and I hope the rest of your trip around NZ was equally good. With kind regards Adrian More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The hotel is basic in format, but offers great service, a very comfortable room and an excellent breakfast buffet for those looking for a base from which to explore the Marlborough wine district and Queen Charlotte Sound.

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Richard A
adrian c, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you very much for taking the time to review Scenic Hotel Marlborough. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay. Best wishes Adrian More 

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blenheim hotels
0.1 km away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
519 reviews
9.9 km away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Heritage Boutique Collection
2.1 km away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel d'Urville
Hotel d'Urville
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
183 reviews
1.4 km away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.2 km away
Blenheim Palms Motel
Blenheim Palms Motel
#3 of 32 in Blenheim
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scenic Hotel Marlborough is a contemporary and stylish property located in the heart of sunny Marlborough. The result of a multi-million dollar upgrade of the former Heartland Hotel Marlborough, Scenic Hotel Marlborough offers guests the ultimate in modern comfort and service. Located in the heart of Marlborough, the hotel is just minutes' walk from the centre of Blenheim, and puts some of New Zealand's finest food and wine virtually on your doorstep. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Marlborough

Address: 65 Alfred Street, Blenheim 7201, New Zealand (Formerly Heartland Hotel Marlborough)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Blenheim
Price Range: $160 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Marlborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Blenheim
Scenic Hotel Marlborough Blenheim, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blenheim
#4 Business Hotel in Blenheim
#10 Romantic Hotel in Blenheim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Marlborough staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Miami, Florida
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Marlborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most room are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Suziqs, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet we were at the end of the corridor leading from reception ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles b_s_hodgson, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Fantastic bed linen and pillows.top floor great.”
 of 5 bubbles janeenw2016, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“First floor rooms are handy. Weekdays are lightly booked relative to weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles Arbor253, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the park.”
 of 5 bubbles FloridaMyrtle, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay