We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tower Junction Motor Lodge

253 reviews
Save
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (39)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good37%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“train station”(54 reviews)
“motor lodge”(26 reviews)
“trans alpine”(12 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (253)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Tower Junction Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
126
94
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
126
94
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationmotor lodgetrans alpinenext morningspeights ale housetrain triptranzalpine expresscoastal pacificroom was cleanwithin walking distancegreat place to staywell equipped kitchenettericcarton mallminute walkmain roadfree shuttlebusy road
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Stayed here for business. I find that whenever I walk into the motels my eyes revert downwards to the carpets. They were a sore sight covered in stains it made it look dirty even though it was probably not. Kitchen was clean and tidy. Showers...More

Thank Grant O
Response from Towerjunction, Owner at Tower Junction Motor LodgeResponded 27 September 2017

Thanks for your review and comments. We have recently taken over the Tower Junction Motor Lodge and although we can't do much about the parking due to the width of the property I am aware that in a few of the units the carpets need...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Let's just say I was confused yet very intrigued at the whole key thing at the start of our stay! The key must be placed in a holder on the wall by the door in order for the lights and power to work! I stayed...More

Thank livvyando_
Response from Towerjunction, Manager at Tower Junction Motor LodgeResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay even though the keytag also is used to activate the power - not uncommon though in hotels and motels.

Reviewed 11 September 2017

This motel is an excellent choice for easy access to the Tranz Alpine Rail Station. The owner was even nice enough to give us a ride to the train station! Motel was very clean and comfy. Highly recommend.

Thank Kathleen H
Response from Towerjunction, Manager at Tower Junction Motor LodgeResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review. I am glad your enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Great place to stay if doing the TranzAlpine Rail Trip to Greymouth with friendly hosts who dropped us at the station in the morning. Nice décor with comfortable beds and very clean and warm. Would happily stay here again when in Christchurch.

Thank leannearcher
Response from Towerjunction, Manager at Tower Junction Motor LodgeResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you and hope to welcome you back again.

Reviewed 24 August 2017

Fantastic experience, spacious room, comfortable bed, very clean. Owner was very welcoming from moment I arrived, and was very thoughtful and asked how my stay was and what I did in Christchurch when I left. Asked for a room in the back away from the...More

Thank Faisal E
Response from Towerjunction, Manager at Tower Junction Motor LodgeResponded 14 September 2017

Thanks for your positive review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
13456749
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#30 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$80 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#2 Spa Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Best Value Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#30 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
263nikunjk
4 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bwucee |
Taxi will cost between $30-45 but there are plenty of shuttle services, try AirNZ taxis website to get started. Need to leave about 1.5-2 hours before that depending on who you use. Taxi would be quickest. you should be... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Upstairs, back units away from Blenheim Road."
Read review
"The road is a bit noisy early evening so probably the further back from the road the better. Does quieten..."
Read review
"Get in Early to get a park."
Read review
"if your looking for location to many areas, then accomodation maybe secondary to your needs, all rooms much..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing