We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

At The Right Place

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
At The Right Place
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 52: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been to 2 other hostels on bealey av and this one is definitely not 'the right place'. Not clean, fridge and kitchen sticky and I found out why. The 1 person they had for cleaning was vacuuming the counters instead of cleaning them. Owner was not nice. We checked out and cleared our room but wanted to make some food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The important things to know are that You pay for what you get, The bed has clean sheets ànd is very comfortable. Fixtures and fittings are minimal; window blinds have seen better days The showers are new, hot and have great water pressure. Clean towels are provided. Amenities for disabled are provided. The Kitchen is communal and 'lived' in, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Judy H
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting christchuch the room was okay, It had mold on the ceiling in the corner. I went and sat outside in the sun and found the area was covered in shattered glass. Im lucky my 4 year old didnt walk out with no shoes on. The room was spacious and was okay for what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-leeR92
New Jersey
Reviewed 24 June 2016

This was a classic backpackers, we booked a room originally for four people and asked for an extra bed. We stayed the first and last night of our South Island trip, and we got the room for a good price. Make sure you bring money to pay or else you will be charged for using a foreign credit card (I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristy L
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Room is spacious and very good for backpackers. Ample parking . Clean What i dislike is noise from can be hear from tv room and kitchen is dirty and messy. Plus there is person sleeping in the tv couch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad A
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

It was my first hostel in NZ. Easy to find, nice people and everything can be reached by foot, bike hire was very easy. Unfortunately it got very cold in the rooms and the kitchen and the heating was not turned on. You had to wear a jacket inside... Better keep a look on that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja S
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Had a short night to spend between 2 busses and booked tjat one... little to enjoy I'm afraid. The location is on a main street, at leasy 20 min walk from any bus station , even to find a pub around there was again 20` walk... Rooms are ok even if back garden is missing light. Lucky to have a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene Lisette C
Denise L, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate the travellers point of view as it help us improve our business. Our hostel offers great accommodation and at a good price. As you mentioned, you booked a dorm bed and you got a room with private bathroom, kitchen and garden for the same price. As you may be aware, there is...

Española por el mundo
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

The place is more than 15min walk to the centre...which can be a lot if you carry heavy lugage. The staff is not too friendly. Rooms with bunk beds and tiny ensuite bathroom are standard. Kitchen spacious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ViajeraJen
Denise L, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate the travellers point of view as it help us improve our business. Our hostel offers great accommodation and at a good price. As you may be aware, there is no town centre in Christchurch since the Earthquake in 2011. This mean that you won't find many hostels in town, so every backpacker...

Reviewed 11 March 2016

The location itself is nice. Near to the city center. But dont stay there for more than one night, and only if you have to! There was lots of mold in the double room I stayed in. The Kittchen that we got to use was terrible. The heatplates were not working, except for one. For poor service pretty expensive. Free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
Denise L, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this review

Thanks fro your review . We do appreciate comments that help us improve our business, we really would've love to have the opportunity to listen at your comments before reading them on trip advisor. We do our best to ventilate the rooms, however sometimes guest leaves lots of condensation through long showers and leaving wet towels on the ground. We...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We stayed here for one night as our flight got in too late to pick up our campervan. The staff were very welcoming annd helpful, the room was a good size and thankfully had a heater and a massive plush duvet and blanket. Good showers too. Only slight issue with our room in the backpacker bit was that our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zero353
Denise L, Manager at At The Right Place, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we always like having feedback from our guests. . WE do our best to keep the place safe and enjoyable for everybody, however It is unfortunate when other backpackers are not respectful to their own mates. Happy travels and hope to see you back again. Regards Denise

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.6 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#27 of 145 in Christchurch
938 reviews
3.9 km away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#69 of 145 in Christchurch
60 reviews
0.4 km away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#41 of 145 in Christchurch
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Achilles Motel
Achilles Motel
#119 of 145 in Christchurch
32 reviews
0.2 km away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#80 of 145 in Christchurch
94 reviews
0.6 km away
Courtesy Court Motel
Courtesy Court Motel
#91 of 145 in Christchurch
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At The Right Place provides diverse and comfortable accommodation and is situated only 10 minutes walk from the city centre, botanical gardens, Hagley Park and Arts Centre. There are also plenty of restaurants & cafes in close proximity. All rooms and accommodation are located at the end of a 70 metre driveway, set well away from busy roads to give you a quieter and more relaxing place to stay.Quality Backpackers accommodation with comfortable common areas, free tea and coffee for all guests and friendly staff. All units have their own kitchen and bathroom amenities, are double glazed for extra comfort and opening direct or overlooking our private garden, bbq and play area. On-site facilities include internet access (broadband and wireless), guest laundry, excellent off-street parking. Proudly Kiwi owned and operated! ... more   less 

Additional Information about At The Right Place

Address: 85 - 87 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand (Formerly Akron Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $30 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your At The Right Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from At The Right Place staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Detroit, Michigan
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from At The Right Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Watch out for mould!”
 of 5 bubbles R8967OZkevinm, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I only saw my room, room 6, which was great because it had red walls (my favourite colour) and has two huge bay windows that open and let a nice cross breeze in”
 of 5 bubbles KangaRoon, 23 Jan 2015 | Read review
“There are plenty of options here. The motel rooms will obviously be the most private and quiet. Choose a dorm if you are traveling alone or looking to make friends! Rooms nearest the kitchen will be the noisiest if you are an early to bed type, but the whole place is pretty quiet after 11pm.”
 of 5 bubbles Karmakaze303, 25 Oct 2014 | Read review
“The "Motel" rooms seem better than the other option.”
 of 5 bubbles 676kg, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Double room offers more privacy and better standard for the comparable amount of money as dorm”
 of 5 bubbles cezaryfree, 15 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay