We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

KIWI basecamp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
KIWI basecamp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've had a really great stay here. The rooms and facilities are clean. It's a social hostel, where it's easy to meet new people. It has also a good location, as bus stops are really close and you can get everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alena G
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We are glad you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all the facilities that we have to offer, our location is pretty perfect for getting around and going out and enjoying Christchurch, Come see us next time your in town, Kind regards, Laura, Lisa and Harley

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night with a friend in a 6 bed mix dorm. The hostel itself very clean. Great location, cheap and cheerful. The room however was so small could hardly move in it, then when theres another five people in the room with you and six peoples luggage, you can hardly breathe let alone move. Probably wouldn't stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terri1990
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for staying with us and we would love for you to come and see us again, the dorm is a little tight when so many people are there we are looking into that and this may become a four bed share, If you do come and stay we would like to put you up in a...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my fiancé landed in Christchurch fresh from a year in Australia when we got to the hostel we was greeted by a German fella who was very friendly and helpful. We was told what was what and places near by shops,banks,postoffice,dominos pizza (5 dollar pizza always a win)All of these are within a 20 min walk. Plus the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karl B
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have no complaints. It is actually a hostel for back packer so please do not expect anything from a 5 star hotel. It's a shared bathroom and it comes with a kitchen, so you can cook yourself if you would like to. No parking lot specially designated to the hostel, but you can park at the public parking lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We would like to thank you for staying with us, and that you enjoyed our awesome backpackers, although it is not a 5 star hotel we like to think that we provided a great service for those on a smaller budget, Hope to see you again, Kind regards, Laura

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and would defiantly stay again. This hostel has a lot of workers in the local area but they are all on working holiday visas so are travellers at heart. Great facilities with brilliant reception staff who are very helpful. Looks very new and modern and the showers are the best I've ever had. It has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky_212013
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for staying with us, we are so glad you enjoyed your time here. We have a great mix of people staying with us and love the love that we have lots of really cool areas to hangout in. The showers are amazing and nothing nicer than jumping into one after a long trip, Come say hi next...

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Nice and clean, well and new equipped hostel with a lot of space to socialize, relax or just to do own stuff. A different fresh baked bread every morning for free, which was just delicious! I arrived with few patience, but the amazing sincere and considerate staff and owner made my stay great! You realize they don't just try to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miri A
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We are super happy you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our freshly baked bread in the mornings. We love the relaxed vibe that we have going on in different areas of the backpackers. I hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels and come back to see us soon. Chris, Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 26 August 2016

I stayed in Kiwi Basecamp for 2 weeks and had an amazing time there. The hostel is really clean (and new), centrally located (only a 15 minute walk to the cathedral), it has a really clean kitchen that is equipped with everything you need and actually has lots of space to store your stuff. There is a nice TV Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnemarieBerlin
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Unfortunately our room (#7) shares a wall with the kitchen. It certainly wasn't a pleasurable sleeping experience with people using the kitchen at literally all hours. The room itself is simply a bed with a portable heater. It would have been nice if there was at least a table to put things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teague G
KIWIbasecamp, Owner at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We are sorry you didn’t have the best experience in Room 7. This is generally a very popular room, as it is close to bathrooms and the kitchen. We have added furniture to this room, and apologise if it was a little spartan during your stay. Unfortunately we have new fire doors and closers for fire safety....

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

This hostel is o.k, it's modern and has a fresh comfortable feel. The room we stayed in was spacious and quiet. However we were disappointed that the advertised free breakfast was the end of a loaf of bread and packet spreads. Milk and cereal and a bit of fruit would have been acceptable but advertising a free breakfast and providing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holiday1990
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for the review, we appreciate it, and take on board your comments. The breakfast is advertised as fresh bread made daily. We also offer free tea, coffee and hot chocolate all day. It is true that you have to be in early to get more than the end of a loaf as the bread is very...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Nice staff, delicious free bread and awesome people. Everything is clean and new, the beds are really comfy and you have free coffee, tea and hot chocolate.The hagley park is just 5 minutes and the city center about 15 min. You just feel like home here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lis5689
KIWIbasecamp, Manager at KIWI basecamp, responded to this review

Hi There, We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed all that we had offer, Please look us up next time your in Christchurch, Kind regards, Laura and the Kiwi Basecamp Team

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 103 in Christchurch
210 reviews
1.6 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#12 of 103 in Christchurch
98 reviews
5.4 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#6 of 103 in Christchurch
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#15 of 103 in Christchurch
359 reviews
2.4 km away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#20 of 103 in Christchurch
199 reviews
2.8 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Kiwi Basecamp, we are situated on Bealey Avenue not far from Hagley Park we are an easy 15/20 minute walk from the center of town. Kiwi Basecamp has a variety of room options from Dorms, shares, singles, doubles and Triple rooms, all bedding provided, we are a cosy hostel, we have hot showers, bathrooms, kitchens,sunny deck area and T.V lounge, we have a book exchange a variety of movies and games, The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the local area as well as New Zealand and are always here to help. We are located next to Victoria Street where you can relax in one of the many cafes and bars, You are a 15 minute walk from Merivale shopping center there you will find a variety of shops banks and a supermarket, we are about 15/20 mins from the center of town and close to bus stops also ... more   less 

Additional Information about KIWI basecamp

Address: 69 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $31 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kiwi Basecamp Hotel Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from KIWI basecamp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from KIWI basecamp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Clean and good beds”
 of 5 bubbles Hoogie2015, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Get a room on the second floor towards the Street. The back rooms are next to the bathroom, kitchen and loud backyard patio. Stay off the first floor if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles BluewaterGypsy, 29 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Avoid the room with the broken ladders!”
 of 5 bubbles ej_18, 28 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles TomFT, 17 May 2014 | Read review
“Room 12 can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Jonescl34, 1 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5