We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Christchurch

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$225*
US$188*
US$225*
US$188*
US$225*
US$188*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The George Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The George Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,237: English reviews
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 10 August 2016

A beautiful place to stay! The hotel was impeccable. I loved the updated bathrooms..all the way down to the heated towel rack and heated tile flooring. From the moment we walked in the front door, the staff was extremely attentive and personable. Customer service was top notch!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank becky y
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Becky Y, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you thought our property was 'a beautiful place to stay'. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all the features of the room as well as the attention you received from our team. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Pretty much perfection. The most wonderful people and gorgeous hotel. A very comfortable, luxurious room. The restaurants are so nice with great selections. Bar is beautiful with a really nice wine list featuring NZ wines. If you come to Christchurch, stay here. You won't regret it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coxm398
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay including the rooms and our guest bar. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we value all feedback. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Christchurch. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Room was generally nice and service was good. Some of the things that annoyed us: - dust - a really ugly recycling bin placed within eyeshot. - fiddly electronic light switches. - TV stations not working. - some of the cabinets were a bit worn. - poor sound proofing, noise from corridor was very loud. We were expecting a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank classicchch
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Classicchch, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We take all feedback very seriously and I will address all the issues you have mentioned with our team. I was very happy to see that you found your experience generally good. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff and concierge. Room very comfortable with attention to detail. Nothing better than when it's cold having a heated bathroom floor and anti fog mirror so when you have a hot steamy shower the mirror is still usable. Love the George bear left on the bed to take home. Allow a bit of extra time when having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank desinerg
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear desinerg, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our property. We appreciate all feedback as it provides us an opportunity to review our processes. We are delighted that you enjoyed the service provided and our facilities but will address the fact that there was some delay in receiving your breakfasts. We hope to welcome you...

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here at the last minute as our plans had changed and we were very pleased with our premium room. The location by the park was within walking distance of the city centre and on the right side for the airport. There is plenty of parking. The reception and concierge were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joby69
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear joby69, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is pleasing that you enjoyed not only the interaction you had with our team and the facilities of the hotel but that you also thought our location next to the beautiful Hagley Park was good. Our entire team work very hard to ensure we provide top level service for...

Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay at the george! Shower pressure was awesome! Friendly staff warm athmosphere I will definetely be back. Really compliments chch for the beautiful city it is and the room was so large too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marylovenz
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear marylovenz, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at The George right from your interaction with our team through to the room itself. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 August 2016

A very enjoyable stay in a very "fancy room" Beautiful view over the park and although next to the road was very quiet. Comfy bed and 'flash' bathroom. There was a fireplace but a sign saying do not turn on! A bit disappointing!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 439kirstyr
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear 439kirstyr, I would like to that you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologise for the fact that the fire place was not working at the time of your stay. We hope to have this issue resolved so that you may enjoy the complete experience. I am happy that you enjoyed the room,...

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I could not fault the service. Room was clean, presented well and well maintained, Staff were very helpful, the little touches you would expect at a 5 star. Bed was very comfy. George the bear was a nice touch. Breakfast in bed was very enjoyable too. Will return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catwood71
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Catwood71, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay including the service you received and the little touches. We welcome all feedback and appreciate the time you took to recommend our property. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Bruce Garrett General Manager

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 July 2016

the team here are professional, friendly, knowledgeable, it is nice to see, having stayed a few times, familiar faces. Lovely ambience, all the features of a top hotel included, very comfortable room and views over the park. Always love the bear on the bed at turndown.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas & Pip G
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas & Pip G It is always a pleasure for us to welcome back our returning guests and we are thrilled that once again all aspects of your recent stay were consistent with your previous ones. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Christchurch. Thank you for taking the time to post your review....

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great time at the George restaurant we had great meal with good service the food was great we really enjoyed this restaurant would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Christchurch

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freddixon50
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear freddixon50 Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent experience in our restaurant. We are pleased you had such an enjoyable experience and thank you for your recommendation to others. Kind regards Bruce Garrett General Manager

264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
625 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.0 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
0.2 km away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
179 reviews
1.2 km away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $263 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#6 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The George Christchurch staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Connecticut
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The George Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The residence has 3 lovely suites, nice and quiet and very modern!”
, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“the suite was lovely and suited 2 adults and 1 child”
nicolaq700, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“An upstairs room away from the traffic noise is good”
xtine2015, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Not applicable - seems park tree views everywhere”
boggle103, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try not to overlook the car park.”
RowePCCA, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$188* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$188
Orbitz.comUS$188
TripAdvisorUS$188
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates