We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Old Countryhouse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Old Countryhouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hi, The old country house was my first stay after I arrived in NZ. Let's begin with the "negative", the Hostel is a bit out of reach, at least when you are walking. It was half an hour from city centre, but I know now that there also would have gone a bus quite close. Anyways, the Hostel itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel, we are glad we could welcome you in to the country!! It is great to hear you enjoyed our facilities, and met our entertainment manager Max (the dog). Our team always enjoy chatting to our guests, it will be awesome to see you again when you return to Christchurch. Safe travels!...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An old backpacker, clean, quiet, well kept. A good bed, and a friendly staff, à really nice place to stay longer while visiting Christchurch and his vicinity. Pool and sauna for free, well equipped kitchen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olivier b
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi Olivier, Thankyou for your review of our hostel. It is nice to hear you had a good stay, and enjoyed all of our facilities. We hope your South Island tour is enjoyable, and we hope to see you again when you return to Christchurch! Kind Regards The Old Countryhouse team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi all. If in Christchurch I can recommend the OCH. First of all the rooms are spacious, comfortable beds with a light and 2 usb ports. The building is well maitained and clean. For recreation they have a good size gas barbecue, spa and sauna. The staff is very friendly and professional, and still they make you feel relaxed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacovandijk
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi Jaco, Thankyou for reviewing our hostel, it was lovely having you stay with us for an extended period. We are glad you enjoyed all of our facilities, location and that we were able to help make your time in here comfortable. Our team enjoyed chatting with you and hearing how your time in Christchurch was going. We hope you...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No complaints. We came late and left early, and they left a key for us which was nice. We stayed in a private room which was clean and neat with a modern hot shower. For an older married couple this was toward the lower end of perfectly acceptable - not particularly memorable in either a good or bad way -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcpolicysmith
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hostel, it is great to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us. We hope you had a great time in Christchurch and that you got the opportunity view and appreciate the city. Best Wishes The Old Countryhouse team

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hostel has a great atmosphere, located not too far from the center but still very quiet. It's clean and the rooms are spacious, and not to forget: free wifi! Only negative things are the shower pressure (bit low) and the pillows (bit small) but these are just tiny notes :) Best choice in Christchurch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geertje v
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and location of our hostel as well as amenities. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your travels, and we may see you in Christchurch again some time! Kind Regards The Old Countryhouse team

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Gorgeous backpackers! Lovely girls at reception did a great job of looking after us and creating a warm atmosphere. The facilities are exceptionally clean, tidy and well thought out. I was in a 7 bed dorm and was very happy with the room and bedding. Rooms are nicely laid out and provide a cosy and comfortable place to meet people....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evan_Callie
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hello Evan, Thank you for your lovely comment and we are happy, that we made your stay with us comfortable. We sure do looking forward to welcome you back sometime. OCH team

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Really nice, clean and friendly hostel, that's not to far of a walk to the majority of 'tourist' type things to do in Christchurch. Had a couple of quite helpful and friendly girls at reception, would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Christchurch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 276bladem
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi Blade, Thankyou for taking the time to review our hostel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and stopped to have a chat to the reception team. We hope you had a great time around Christchurch, and we look forward to welcoming you back here in the future! Kind Regards The Old Countryhouse team

Balmoral, Australia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We booked a double room here. The room has a good size and is clean. The cleanliness goes for the whole hostel. Well looked after. The kitchen has everything you need and it's all easy to find. The look of the hostel is nice as well with all the blue and wood features. Their motto is that hostel life works...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeuw605
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for your review of our hostel, it is great that you enjoyed the atmosphere and look of our hostel. We are please hear you had a good night sleep, as well as an over all relaxing time with us. It was nice that you stopped by to have a chat with our team, they alway like to...

Reviewed 27 September 2016

My husband and I had a great time in Chirstchurch and loved The Old Country House! They were very kind and helpful! We had a private room with a comfortable bed! Free WIFI! Bathrooms were clean and convenient. Deff great place for backpackers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle V
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi Danielle, Thankyou for your feedback of your stay with us. It is great to hear you had a lovely stay with us, made good use of all our facilities! We definately enjoyed having you stay with us and chat with our team. We wish you all the best for the remainder of your travels, and we look forward to...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Having paid a deposit we arrived late after a long journey to be turned away and not refunded. The woman owner was so rude it was unbelievable. I have stayed in many back packers and this was not in line with the others. Having travelled the world and arrived in many places late, no where was a problem except here....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 111111james
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this review

Hi James, Unfortunately we have no record of you booking or staying with us over the time period you have suggested, we do not have any emails in regards to this incident either so can not fully identify why this situation took place. As this was almost a year ago, our staff are also unsure why we would have turned...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.9 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#13 of 103 in Christchurch
96 reviews
2.5 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 103 in Christchurch
210 reviews
0.3 km away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#25 of 103 in Christchurch
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#6 of 103 in Christchurch
169 reviews
3.8 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
456 reviews
2.3 km away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#15 of 103 in Christchurch
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $40 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Countryhouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check booking.com for good deals on the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Leeuw605, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Nice place, a little outside town”
  • Kitchen
 of 5 bubbles V2C, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“if you arrive after 8pm, pick a private room”
 of 5 bubbles carinas90, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“room 21 house 3”
 of 5 bubbles COLINBRIONY, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Clean Backpacker”
 of 5 bubbles 340fabriceg, 19 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay