We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sumner Bay Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Sumner Bay Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 October 2016

A Choice made again, having stayed & Enjoyed previously. Management & Team all Friendly and helpful. Walking Distance to all Eateries, Beach and other Amenities. Very Comfortable and Clean, will be back. Bus to Town or Car park outside your Unit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garry T
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2016

The staff at this motel were exceptionally helpful and on-hand to answer any questions. The rooms were very clean and well proportioned with toasters and microwaves in addition to traditional kitchen wares for your convenience. Free wifi was very useful. My only slight complaint - which was admittedly not communicated with staff - was that the single beds were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
Temuka, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We have stayed several times in the past and have never had a complaint before. This time I was disappointed, and found the one bedroom upstairs unit to be very tired, dusty, dirty and ill equipped for the price ($185). Sumner is still a beautiful place but has a long way to go to recuperate it's attraction and prices should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathrynh937
Reviewed 23 February 2016

This place is a stones throw from Sumner and Scarborough beach. We really loved our time here and being beach lovers was the perfect place to be during our stay in Christchurch, we got the 2 bedroom suite which has lounge, 2 rooms and a kitchenette with mini fridge, stove and kitchen utensils etc, place has free wifi which is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark P
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We had a nice apartment in Sumner, the bedroom is on the first level and the kitchen/lounge was upstairs, with a balcony. Although it had no views. The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable, staff helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Net M
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2015

We stayed at the Sumner Bay Motel while at a friends 40th who lived in Sumner. I wish we could have stayed longer! Modern and comfortable with a superb location. Clean, light with all the amenities you could ask for. I come to Christchurch often and this would be my preference of accommodation. To wake up next to the ocean,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sezman12
brentmanager, Manager at Sumner Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for kind review. We hope you choose Sumner Bay Motel again on return visits.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 October 2015

When we stayed had a woderful time the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff and manager were helpful and friendly so nice to be close to the beach and shopping fabulous resturants as well had a great time very comfrtable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sadergeorge
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 August 2015

I hardly know where to start. After looking at the web site with the word 'luxury', I felt comfortable making my booking for two nights. The one bedroom unit was shabby and dirty and I felt like I had arrived in a student flat. For $200 per night I felt ripped off and left after only one night, still paying...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Inverness1966
brentmanager, Owner at Sumner Bay Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Inverness1966 for posting your review. I am not sure if you have posted this review for the correct place, where you were accommodated in July. I have gone back through our records for July, and can't find anyone that booked and paid for two nights accommodation and then left after only staying one night. Quite often guests will...

Reviewed 14 November 2014

Only 15 mins drive outside Christchurch, I stayed at Sumner as options were very limited during cup day. Fortunately, the Sumner Bay Motel offered a great option. Compact, reasonably equipped, functional and a comfortable bed. For one or two nights, it's an ideal stopover motel. Worth a try.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CEK0001
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I'm staying here while my house is having earthquake repairs done. Brent's patience while waiting for EQRs start date was much appreciated and very helpful. The location is very convenient, with cafés, supermarket, chemist and cinema in walking distance. It's only about 3 minutes to the beach too - lovely for swimming in the summer, surfing and walking all year...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Daring2Go

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 km away
Le Petit Hotel Sumner
Le Petit Hotel Sumner
#15 of 134 in Christchurch
104 reviews
0.1 km away
Sumner Re Treat
Sumner Re Treat
#27 of 103 in Christchurch
35 reviews
0.7 km away
Abbott House Sumner B&B
Abbott House Sumner B&B
#55 of 134 in Christchurch
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cave Rock Guest House
Cave Rock Guest House
#84 of 134 in Christchurch
3 reviews
6.8 km away
Arcadia Motel
Arcadia Motel
#53 of 145 in Christchurch
56 reviews
10.8 km away
Governors Bay Hotel
Governors Bay Hotel
#24 of 134 in Christchurch
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Sumner Bay Motel

Address: 26 Marriner Street, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $138 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sumner Bay Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sumner Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumner Bay Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sumner Bay Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sumner Bay Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground Floor or First are all Easy Access, we had a choice & chose, Ground Floor”
 of 5 bubbles 357garryt, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles sadergeorge, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The rooms at the far end would have less road noise - not that there's a lot of traffic at night; no trucks these days, with Evans Pass closed.”
 of 5 bubbles Daring2Go, 28 May 2014 | Read review
“I am guessing that they are all good rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles sbhbeachlover, 13 Feb 2012 | Read review
“First or second floor may be a little quieter than the ground floor units we had but it wasn't really an issue”
 of 5 bubbles gibraltarwgtn, 16 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay