We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Christchurch

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ibis Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

884 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 804: English reviews
Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 April 2015

A great hotel to stay at,positive, helpful and friendly staff. Great restaurant and bar. Views of city were tremendous, you could view a lot of the rebuild. Good underground carpark and wide choice in the vending machine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Mark M, Thank you for posting such an awesome review and for highlighting our staff and their service. We will be sure to pass on your comments so as to reinforce what a difference it makes to our guests to receive good friendly and helpful service. We hope to see you again. Best regards

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 April 2015

We stayed in the fully refurbished Ibis hotel in order to go to the theatre and to attend a convention, The service was very good and the room ideal for our purposes - comfortable and clean. As the available food outlets were limited in the centre of Christchurch after the theatre we opted for room service. The only disappointment was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Adrian H, Thank you for posting such a great review and for also highlighting our comittment to the environment with regards to the reuse of the towels and bedding. We do donate a considerable amount to our replanting of trees programme as a result of savings made by our guests choosing to not have their linen and towels laundered....

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Anyone who has stayed at an Ibis knows that you get a modern but small, comfortable not luxurious, affordable no frills accommodation. The Christchurch Ibis certainly fits into this and whilst its not the highest end 5 star accommodation you'll stay at it is value for money. As mentioned in other reviews the bathroom is the size of two airplane...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wotevanz
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Wotevanz, Thank you for posting your very extensive review and it was pleasing to see that you enjoyed your stay and our buffet breakfast! We do only have a limited amount of food available once the restaurant has closed for the evening but thank you for mentioning that. We are looking at ways to enhance this offering. Once again...

Yandina, Australia
Reviewed 13 April 2015

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank henryg555
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 April 2015

room very small bathroom even smaller but it was clean and tidy and got a good nights rest I loved having the restaurant on the first floor for breakfast lunch and tea. Room service was a added bonus and meals are well priced as well only problem I found was having to pay for internet in my room if I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank masterpiece2015
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear masterpiece2015, Thank you for your very postive review and it is pleasing to see that you found our restaurant and service to your liking. We are working on enhancing our internet plan so that we are able to expand our service. Once again thank you for staying and we hope to see you back again in the future. Kind...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Having read good reviews on TripAdvisor, I was left pretty disappointed. The rooms are TINY. The bathroom is TTIIIINNNY. We were faced with 4 boring walls. The room was quite ugly with absolutely no décor but a tiny black and white painting. The bathroom was so mall the door was made to open outwards. It fit a tiny corner shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crumpetdog
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear crumpetdog, Thank you for your review and for highlighting our helpful and friendly staff and of course our very central location. We do have compact rooms and bathrooms that are well appointed as set by our world wide Ibis brand. We would love to have you back again one day and assure you of a warm welcome. Regards

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 April 2015 via mobile

Came back to chch after few years, the last time in chch was with my friends and stayed at the ibis as well, this I came back with my mum n husband. Was excited about this trip as everything is kinda different from the earthquake. The hotel definitely was renovated better and brighten but the service definitely gone down the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barbara Z
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Barbara Z, Thank you for posting your review and I apologise that we didn't get it right during your stay. We most certainly should have cleaned the room properly and once you found it hadn't been done our Duty Manager should have come up to the room and completed the job that was only partially done. Our rooms are...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 27 March 2015

This was the sixth of eleven hotels in which we stayed as part of a 17 day package tour of New Zealand. Stay duration: 2 non-consecutive nights (Night of day 9 and final night). 30 minutes complimentary WiFi available in lobby. Also four PCs for use free of charge for 30 minutes. Chargeable high-speed plug-in internet access in bedroom. Accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DonalGD15
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Donal, Thank you for posting such an extensive review. It was great to read that you enjoyed your 2 different stays at Ibis and that you rated us so highly. We trust that you enjoyed your tour of New Zealand and that you have taken home some great memories. Thanks and best regards

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We arrived late (after 10pm) and were given a room on the 7th floor, right next to the howling air conditioning unit which you could hear from your room. They never bothered to ask what bed layout and so we ended up with two queens and you couldn't even push them together as the unit in between is bolted to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HypnoWarrior
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Hypno Warrior, Thank you for posting your comments. I am sorry that you didn't get the room type that you wanted. The room you did stay in has 2 double beds and is classed as a twin. It is a shame that you didn't book a King room which by the sound of it would have suited you better....

Novi, Michigan
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I realize that Ibis is not a Park Hyatt or JW Marriott but I could have stayed at one of those for the cost I paid for the Ibis. The room was dirty, the shower drain fell off, the view was nonexistent, the shower water went from cold to dangerously hot without even touching the knob, I had to beg...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris R
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Chris R, Thank you for your review and I apologise that we didn't meet your expectations. Our prices vary according to the time of year and are always comparable to similar propertires in the city. I am sorry that there were issues with your room and to enable us to ensure that these do not happen again I would...

222 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
1,408 reviews
0.3 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 148 in Christchurch
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 148 in Christchurch
374 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#45 of 148 in Christchurch
336 reviews
0.7 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $121 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I liked the high up 8th floor rooms. Good views plus it was nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PerryB137, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade & pre pay online for breakfast if it isn't part of your package. Cheaper.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisB529, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about directions to hotel due to the construction”
 of 5 bubbles MrBrovold, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher room facing the Cathedral”
 of 5 bubbles nirvikary, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher up is best from my point-of-view!”
 of 5 bubbles PerryB137, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5