We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ibis Christchurch

Booking.comUS$77*
View Deal
GreenLeadersBronze level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$77*
US$77*
US$77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Christchurch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

892 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ibis Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 812: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Stayed one night in January 2015. The hotel is comfortable and centrally located. The staff were friendly and efficient. Easy access to restaurants and the main sights of central Christchurch. Very good for short stays in Christchurch.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Seenabit1961
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Seenabit1961, Thank you for your extremely positive review and for complimenting our staff. We trust that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Ibis Christchurch is a clean, comfortable motel in a central part of Christchurch. Bear in mind that Christchurch is still in the process of rebuilding after earthquakes. We felt a bit ripped off we had to pay for parking - $18 to park in the vacant lot next door to the motel. Price of continental breakfast was exorbitant however we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Sue A, Thank you for posting your positive review. You mentioned about having to pay for parking. Can I point out that we lease that land from the land owner so we need to charge to recoup our costs. May I also point out that our breakfast charges compare favourably with other hotels in the city. We trust that...

Menai, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2015

My wife and I flew into Christchurch for a three week NZ holiday and this was our first night's stay. I had no idea of the continuing state of devastation of the inner city region. The hotel I surrounded by open demolition sites and buildings waiting their turn. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was OK. This was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Gary L, Thank you for posting your review and we trust that you enjoy your New Zealand holiday. The rebuild of Christchurch is happening at a pace that is quite amazing considering how much damage was caused by the major earthquake but not fast enough to satisfy everyone. Meanwhile we will continue to offer the best service that we...

Napier
Reviewed 19 February 2015

Ibis Christchurch Great wee hotel on the back of the square, right on the verge of the rebuilding cbd and a block over from the ReStart container shopping mall. If you're wondering what that is, after the big 2011 February quake most of the cbd was in lock down, horribly damaged, a place of death and destruction. I was here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keri M
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Keri M, Thank you for your very extensive review of the Ibis Christchurch. You raised some really good points and the main one was the television sets in the rooms. I am pleased to advise that they are being replaced this year and this is definitely a positive for us. I really appreciate you mentioning our friendly and efficient...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I stayed at the IBIS as it was really one of the only hotels left in Christchurch, looked to me the build that after the 2011 Earthquake. If you have your own car, its a mess right now with streets blocked every day somewhere else. The hotel offers for a reasonable price ( 25$/night) underground parking, but its not much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudi844
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Rudi844, Thank you for posting your review and for highlighting our very central location and service. Our restaurant prices are very similar to those in other city hotel restaurants and as the leading 3 Star + hotel in the city, Ibis is definitely priced at a lower level than the 4 star + hotel restaurants. Thank you for coming...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We stayed here recently. Very friendly, very helpful. Great buffet breakfast. The rooms were comfortable, enough for the 3 of us. Very compact but had everything we needed. The beds were both double, so plenty of room. A lovely outdoor (but closed off against the wind) area out from the bar area. Will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judith m
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear judith m, Thank you for posting such a positive review and for making special mention of our restaurant and rooms. We are very proud of our restaurant and service so it is really nice to have them recognised by you as being of a high standard. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards

Mount Prospect
Reviewed 17 February 2015

The hotel was nice and looked new and well kept. Was close to a lot of the damaged area, and looked like it had been built since the earthquake. The room was quiet and comfortable. The only issue at all was we had booked a single large bed, and our room had two small beds instead. So make sure to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Greg E, Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel. I apologise that you got a room with 2 double beds instead of the king size bed that you wanted. We do always try to give our guests the room type that they have requested so I can only assume that due to high occupancy we were unable...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We finished our NZ holiday with two nights in the City. This is a nice hotel in a city that is struggling to be rebuilt. The views from the 8th floor showed a landscape of cranes and metal framework. The rooms are smallish but very well appointed. They host a lot of coach tours and the restaurant is very noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear Heather D, Thank you for posting such an awesome review. We are indeed very fortunate to have staff like Francine and Evelyn working for us. Our restaurant can get busy but it was great that you enjoyed your meal. We trust that you took some great memories of New Zealand back home with you. Kind regards

Fernandina Beach, Florida
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Amazingly this hotel is at the epicenter of Christchurch. Near the Canterbury Museum, Botanical Gardens, cathedral, and re Start Mall. Extremely helpful staff, whose recommendations were all right on the mark. Rooms are very well appointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ocilla
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear ocilla, Thank you for posting such a lovely review. It is always pleasing to see that our staff recommendations were spot on and that you really enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best regards

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015 via mobile

Despite the tourist board making a mistake with my booking I was made very welcome and a room was found for me. The room was warm and comfortable, it had all the facilities you expect in a modern hotel. I ate in the restaurant one evening and the menu was interesting, the dishes I chose were well cooked and nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CareFree5
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review

Dear CareFree5, Thank you for posting your positive review and I am really pleased that we were able to meet your expectations and especially in our restaurant. We are very proud of the food that our chefs produce and it is nice to see such fantastic comments. WE trust that you take some great memories back to the UK with...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
1,532 reviews
0.3 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 144 in Christchurch
386 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#43 of 144 in Christchurch
353 reviews
0.7 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Price Range: $115 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Ibis Christchurch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views from the rooms along the rear are non existent.”
MOB68, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go as high as you can. We had 607 which was street facing”
Mayor_of_littleriver, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I liked the high up 8th floor rooms. Good views plus it was nice and quiet.”
PerryB137, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade & pre pay online for breakfast if it isn't part of your package. Cheaper.”
ChrisB529, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about directions to hotel due to the construction”
MrBrovold, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
ibisUS$77
Hotels.comUS$77
Hotwire.comUS$77
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates