We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel St Clair

Show Prices
#25 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel St Clair
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel St Clair
 Click to rate
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We upgraded to a suite that included a kitchenette, sofa and view of the ocean, although across a public parking lot. The room was very clean and bathroom large. It sits right on the promenade in St. Clair, which is about a 15 minute drive into Dunedin city center. We walked the promenade and beach and enjoyed a couple restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank advicetaken
HotelStClair, Reception at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would absolutely welcome you back if you return in the future. Kind regards Hotel St Clair Team

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Important thing to remember....Everything closes early...an No 7-11, or kwiki market,not being from New Zealand an known the water is much colder i didn't think i would see people swimming so early in the morning in just a swim suite

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wylie J M
HotelStClair, Receptionist at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Good luck in your future travels and we would gladly welcome you back in the future if you were to return to Dunedin :) Kind regards

Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful in perfect location. the rooms are huge. Very warm welcome upon checkin and very helpful staff, large underground parking as well with lifts up to room level. especially the views are fantastic. Actually nothing I could think of to improve, and as it is likeley not to get that hot in Dunedin even without aircondition no problem (at least...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are happy to hear that your positive experience with us started right from arrival. You have a very valid point with the air-conditioning. Though it is not usual for Dunedin to reach extremely high temperatures, it is good to have air-conditioning as an option for when we do have those hot days. We...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We dined in the restaurant back in 2014, it was amazing! Great service, fabulous menu that didn't disappoint. This time the wait and bar staff were disappointing, as was the food. Change of ownership most likely has something to do with this. Room itself was great, wonderful view, clean and tidy, very quiet despite overlooking a very busy beach. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony_Annette
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind, yet constructive review! We are pleased that you found the accommodation enjoyable, but in regards to the restaurant I will pass this review onto them so they can work on these points and improve. Thank you again, and we hope next time we don't disappoint! Kind regards, Hotel St Clair Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fabulous stay at Hotel St Clair at the end of our NZ vacation. Our room was comfortable, spacious and immaculately clean with a terrific balcony overlooking the beach. The quiet town with the gorgeous beach steps away was the perfect place to end the perfect vacation. We loved Dunedin and hope to visit again soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eliza H
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you for your top review! We are so pleased to have been such a positive contributor to your holiday, and that you had such a great time in Dunedin! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation! Kindest regards, Hotel St Clair Team.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous location right on the beach front. The reception staff were very welcoming with great knowledge of local restaurants etc. We had two rooms with carpark/side on beach views. I did happen to walk past a room that had full ocean view, simply stunning wished I had had one! The rooms are spacious with a seating area and kitchen facilities,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyspencer7585
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Dear wendyspencer7585, Thank you for your glowing review! Our staff take great pride in what we do, and we are pleased that you were happy with our service! Next time you are wanting to stay, feel free to give us a call so we can talk you through our different room types to make sure you get what you prefer!...

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a fairly average hotel with not a great deal of atmosphere. The restaurant was closed so we had to go out for dinner and breakfast at the Esplanade cafe along the seafront. The room was satisfactory with a side view to the ocean. It was OK for a one night stay but we were not inspired to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ge0n
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you Ge0n for your constructive feedback. We are quite disappointed to hear that you found our hotel average. We are a small beach front hotel which provides an atmosphere of relaxation and rejuvenation of our guests. However as you have brought to our attention perhaps not everyone finds it very inspiring, and we will think of what we can...

Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Although we did not book to stay at the hotel we did take advantage of evening meals at the restaurant on a couple of occasions during our stay at Dunedin. We did not need to pre book. The staff were friendly, the menu was varied and the food was well presented.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
xx
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

The St Clair is a great hotel, right on the sea front at Dunedin, with fantastic ocean views. We received a warm friendly welcome. The room was a good size, although the shower room seemed rather squeezed in to the generously sized room. Location is, of course, everything. Sadly, this particular piece of sea front is also the location chosen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDonkin
HotelStClair, Reception at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Hi Michael Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beach front views but also disappointed that your stay was disrupted due to outside noises. We have a huge university in Dunedin and unfortunately your stay did coincide with the week the students returned to the city, which is...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

The views are awesome across St Clair bay and the room was very comfy and clean The staff were helpful and we enjoyed dinner at the hotel restaurant. Walking distance to lots of other little bars and cafes. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianehQ1708SF
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and your experience in our restaurant. We wish you all the best in future travels, and would love to welcome you back the next time you are in Dunedin. Kind regards, Hotel St Clair Team

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:56
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
5.5 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
702 reviews
3.8 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
4.9 km away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#5 of 58 in Dunedin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
271 reviews
12.2 km away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 58 in Dunedin
591 reviews
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel St Clair is perched above St Clair Beach and represents Dunedin's finest beachfront living. Built with the environment in mind, this boutique hotel offers 26 contemporary rooms - each beautifully designed and furnished to complement the stunning South Pacific Ocean that dominates the views. Features include - 50+ Sky Channels - Free Wi-Fi - Free Car parking - Daily room cleaning - In house Restaurant (Pier 24) - Room service - Kitchenette in every room (Luxury ocean view room has 2 cook tops) - Complimentary newspaper delivery on request - Conference room hire ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St Clair

Address: 24 Esplanade | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand (Formerly St Clair Beach Resort)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $203 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St Clair 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel St Clair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair Beach Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#17 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St Clair staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St Clair staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“i only saw the view from my room.....amazing!”
  • what a great view from my balcony in the morning....
 of 5 bubbles wyliejm, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a full ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles wendyspencer7585, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A sea view room would be best.”
 of 5 bubbles Ge0n, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room facing the ocean for amazing views”
 of 5 bubbles 700Gaby, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view is fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles phototravelers2016, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5