We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cityview B&B Homestay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cityview B&B Homestay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 23: English reviews
Start your review of Cityview B&B Homestay
 Click to rate
Reviewed 7 December 2015

The hosts were great! They helped me with my trip within and around Dunedin and gave me advice on what to do and see while driving to Invercargill. I couldn't have asked for anything better! The room was clean and the bed was so comfortable that I had one of the best sleeps while I was traveling around NZ. Even...

Thank Kbelw
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed one night in Dunedin at Robert's house, it is a homestay setup and your room is on the upper floor, though it is not an ensuite, but the toilet is just few steps from our room. We had complete privacy upstairs as these are the guest rooms only and we are the only couple staying. We had a...

Thank Sculhana
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We experienced a very warm welcome at Cityview B&B. The accommodation and facilities are very comfortable, spacious and private with great views of the city. Sue and Robert are extremely helpful and knowledgable of the area making recommendations where to eat and what to see. Would highly recommend staying here.

Thank Maurice L
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewed 30 October 2015

We enjoyed our time in this homestay and the hosts were delightful. The accommodations were private and comfortable with great views. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. My husband and I would highly recommend this location.

Thank Annh6150
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

I usually stay at Cityview whenever I am in dunedin and always find my hosts most charming and helpful. The past review that states they advised they wouldnt be taking the extra room the night before they arrived and expected to not be charged on the night of neil diamond is a little naive. The city was pretty much full...

Thank 971kayed
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Gave 24 hr notice one of our party of three wouldn't be coming because of illness . Were still charged full price of $95.00 for her room. There reason being they did not have time to fill the room. There website states only one party per reservation any way. Robert then tried to tell us they normally only take 2...

Thank Gemaka31
dunedintraveller, Owner at Cityview B&B Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our homestay, we are glad you enjoyed the view and breakfast. Dunedin city accommodation was fully booked out months ago for the Neil Diamond concert. As it says on our website, and again in our confirmation email, cancellations less than 48 hours will be charged for. You rang the night before you were...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 14 April 2015

When we booked a room at Cityview, it was a contingency plan because all the other rooms in the city were taken due to a Rod Stewart concert being in town. In retrospect, however, it should have been our first choice - it was just fantastic. Rob & Sue are super nice and accommodating and gave us some great tips....

Thank AndyLexKY
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Robert & Sue were great, very welcoming. The location is really quiet, a little out of town but taxi's were easy to get and there is parking if you have a car. Would certainly recommend. Rooms were nice and nothing was too much trouble.

Thank GregR322
Johnson CIty, TN
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Cityview Homestay is a lovely home located above the city of Dunedin in a neighborhood. Sue and Robert were wonderful hosts, and offered helpful advice about what to see in the area, even on a rainy day. Our bedroom was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was across the hall and was also well appointed. The deck overlooking the...

Thank TNLady60
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Just spent 2 nights staying with Robert & Sue at CityView and it couldn't have been much better. This is a Homestay as opposed to a B & B but the facilities are private and very clean. The location was ideal as I was visiting family who lived close by but it is also very close to Dunedin centre and...

Thank NickiCom

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (2)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (13)
Bathroom (2)
View from Room (1)
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.4 km away
BEST WESTERN 555 On Bayview
5.5 km away
Porterfields Bed And Breakfast
7.9 km away
Chy-an-Dowr / Rosemary Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
439 reviews
6.0 km away
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
1.2 km away
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 63 in Dunedin
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay with a friendly "Kiwi" couple in a quiet relaxed atmosphere. 5 Minutes to Dunedin city, and on the way to the penguins, albatross and Larnachs Castle. Stunning views of the city with wonderful sunsets. Your choice of a queen sized bed, or 2 singles. Continental breakfast and GST included in the price. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cityview B&B Homestay

Address: 29 Aytoun Street | Andersons Bay, Dunedin 9013, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $108 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cityview B&B Homestay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cityview B&B Homestay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room well out of town which we were aware of.”
 of 5 bubbles Gemaka31, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
1 of 1