We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Expedia.comUS$110*
View Deal
#13 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

739 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 708: English reviews
Start your review of Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
 Click to rate
Weaverville, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel was modern, clean, well located and friendly. Hotel staff was very accommodating. Hotel was nicely located in downtown area. Many restaurants within walking distance as well as a number of local attractions. Room were nicely appointed. Moderately priced and very nice and good buffet breakfast. I recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I am glad you had a good stay and that our team was able to look after you well. It is also great to hear you found us such good value. With best wishes Adrian

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our check in was so simple quick and easy, our room ( superior room ) was bloody huge the most comfy bed in the world ever didn't want to get up, very well appointed room had everything you would need bloody great size bath room once again had everything plus more of what you would need, the breakfast was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garytrish6
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. I am delighted you enjoyed the size and standard of our rooms and we hope to see you again soon. With best wishes Adrian

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room had a beautiful view over Dunedin harbor. The room was spotless and the bed was sooo comfortable. . We arranged room service for our breakfast and the breakfast was delicious. There was plenty of tea and coffee supplied in the room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette R
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Dear Annette, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you had such a great stay. I am also glad that you were able to enjoy the wonderful view from your room - the harbour views are great both day and night. Many thanks once again. Best wishes Adrian

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Super friendly staff, quick check in and check out. The hotel is not over the top however it has a great feel, rooms were really clean, after a four day bike ride the hot shower with great water pressure was a life saver. The hotel is centrally located to the Octogon and many local attractions

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Hi Anthony Thanks for your review. It is great to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed the hotel's amenities and proximity to the city centre. We hope we will see you again soon. With best wishes Adrian

Wellington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked 2x Interconnecting Rooms for 8 people. The rooms were clean, roomy, modern, warm once you know how to use the thermostat, which is the only non-modern item and the location is perfect. We used the valet parking which was so easy, The majority of the staff from the Room Attendants/ Reception Staff/ Valets/ Bar Staff were lovely, helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Argentine
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! I am delighted you had such a good stay and that our team were able to look after you so well. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Dunedin! With best wishes Adrian

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was above expectations, spacious with a good bed. Good location. I was only in and out of Dunedin for business and this hotel was well suited for that. I didn't use the restaurant so unable to comment on how good the grub is.

Review collected in partnership with Scenic Hotel Group
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Otama1
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will have time to make use of our restaurant next time you come and stay. With best wishes Adrian

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights here while touring the South Island by car with extended family. We had 3 rooms for our family and everyone had a very spacious room/bath. We stayed on the upper floors. Light sleepers be forewarned the road noise is evident in the a.m. The location in the heart of the city by the Octagon is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 878patg
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you all had a great stay and enjoyed our location in the centre of the city. Rooms at the back of the hotel are away from the street and also have fantastic harbour views but the street facing rooms do have secondary glazing which does cut out most...

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for business for 2 nights and would definitely recommend! Rooms were well equipped and clean and modern. The service from all staff was fantastic! The only reason it didn't get 5 stars was because the breakfast let them down- most of the cooked items were lukewarm only.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hidez_12
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted you had a great stay although I am disappointed our breakfast did not wow you. Thanks for the feedback and I will work with my team to see what went wrong and what changes need to be made. With kind regards Adrian

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was only here over night but the staff amazed me with their quality service. Firstly I had landed early and needed an early check in. They shifted my room so that I could check in early and had somewhere to work until my first meeting. They also valet parked the car (at a small cost.) I accidentally left my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CFents
GopinathRandhir, Front Office Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. With best wishes Randhir

Mission Bay, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I stayed here for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Great central location close to the Octogon where there are lots of bars and food options. Our room was huge, loads of light, high stud, nice bathroom, extremely clean along with very good service from the staff. If you are after a nice mid range...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
Management response:

Thanks for the review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. With best wishes Randhir

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (114)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.4 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.2 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.3 km away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
328 reviews
0.5 km away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $138 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Phoenix, Arizona
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Dunedin City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you can upgrade and treat yourself it is worth it but our room was fab”
garytrish6, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Level 6 was nice and quiet”
W3595OCanthonyh, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good, though if you have small children or are a light sleeper maybe aim for a room at the opposite end of the main road.”
Argentine, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room with view of harbour but take mine!”
jellis2017, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“preferably not on the street side”
davidpB2056MG, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$110* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$217
Booking.comUS$110
Hotels.comUS$110
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates