We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wains Hotel Dunedin

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wains Hotel Dunedin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 259: English reviews
Start your review of Wains Hotel Dunedin
 Click to rate
Swansea Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The dreadful Copthorne Auckland City was becoming a distant memory when we encountered another contender for Overpriced Hotel (Hovel) of the Month. It seems a lift features in many of my reviews and this one is no different. There was a lift, it worked, it appeared to be well maintained and it was clean. However, it didn’t seem to serve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewisdasafety
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear lewisdasafety, Thank you for posting your review, as saddening as it is to hear that you had such a disappointing stay. We would certainly have upgraded you after we noted your wife's dissatisfaction when taking her to the room you were initially allocated however as March is a very busy month in New Zealand the hotel was fully booked,...

Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel has history which is good. The rooms were clean and the staff helpful. However, the rooms, hallways looked 2nd rate for this listed building. Breakfast were poor in our opinion with better options just up the road. We did obtain a good price so if you can then it is value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Phil M, Thank you for your review and for noting that our team provided good service to you as well as clean accommodation. Wains Hotel does indeed have a lot of history and with a bit of investment we should soon be able to restore the building to its former glory. I am pleased that you found the hotel...

Waterford, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent 5 days here in February (mainly for a conference but also a few days holidays with my husband) and I received really excellent service from the staff at the Wains. A great location close to the main center and restaurants, cafes and shops. A lovely old building with a nice room and wifi, tea and coffee making facilitates...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lreinl
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear lreinl, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you felt at home with us and had such a comfortable stay. I am most pleased to have the chance to share some positive feedback with my team who do work hard to provide the best service they can for our guests. It is also...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A place in need of upgrading and modernisation. The building once had character, but now seems seedy and noisy, with the oldest lift we have seen in use. Our room was just big enough but no furniture to speak of and very basic and noisy. Other guests complained at very small and uncomfortable rooms. Breakfast was poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael n
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Michael N, I am sorry that you were so very disappointed with your stay. You booked our very last Standard Double room- which is indeed our smallest- a few hours before you checked in and your low rate including breakfast in the busiest month of the year in Dunedin we felt was reflective of this. Regarding our lift, I...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our car park here was pre booked 3 weeks before our arrival but the staff said we hadn't booked. Room 408 is awful dim dreary two tone drab grey decor with dirt and mould round the join between the bath and wall. The room had full length curtains hiding frosted glass windows, the only opening window being over 6 feet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear John W, After meeting you on check out and hearing your feedback about your stay in person I did contact your travel agent straight away to discuss your issues with the room in which you stayed. I know that I cannot make up for your disappointing stay however trust that the agreement we reached with your agent is to...

Tadcaster
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our travel agent had booked 2 nights for us at Wain's Hotel over 6 months before our visit and thought this would mean we were allocated a decent room. On checking in we were allocated room 202, directed to the lift, no help offered with luggage. This room was described on Wains website as a standard double but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TadcasterJetsetters
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear TadcasterJetsetters, I was of course very dismayed to read your review and only wish we would have been able to move you to a larger room during your stay, however as the hotel was fully booked we were unable to upgrade you from a room with one double bed which had been booked for you. I apologise for your...

Happywanderers
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The best part of this hotel was it was easy to find and central location. The rest was pretty dire. No parking when we arrived (book a slot before you arrive). Our superior room was big but dull and dark. Stains on the carpets and sofa . On our second night we went to the bar at 9pm to order...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happywanderers20
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Happywanderers20, Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Wains Hotel Dunedin. After you brought your concerns about our bar to my attention on check out I did investigate straight away. Unfortunately we did have full beer kegs that evening as well as lemons and boxes of crisps however due to training issues as well as miscommunication...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in here towards the latter end of our trip, gotta say not overly impressed, the hotel is well situated near the centre but looks a little tired, nice rooms decent enough size and clean, no aircon and on the occasion it gets warm and with the sun facing our rooms the place was stifling hot, the room fan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hmarsh67
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear hmarsh67, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. It is always nice to be able to share positive feedback with the hotel team, I am so pleased that we made you feel welcome and that Housekeeping did a good job with your room. Dunedin was officially founded in 1831 and as...

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

A great welcome but then things went from bad to worse. Unfriendly service from room services. Bed was ting and rolled around like crazy. Two EXCELLENT staff let down by their co workers. Food delivered missing what was advertised on the menu. A real let down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elliotf485
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Elliot, Thank you for letting us know about your experiences at the hotel when you checked out, this was much appreciated as we could address the issues straight away. It is such a shame that your initial positive impression was replaced by disappointment when the service we provided- normally a source of pride for us- fell short of what...

Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is ideally located in the centre of town. They have secure parking available, would help to book parking when booking accommodation. The rooms and hotel are a bit dated. Im not a fan of shower baths, and the shower splashed all over the bathroom. Without a fan in the bathroom the towels didnt dry easily, however housekeeping did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ainslee R
WainsDunedin, General Manager at Wains Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review

Dear Ainslee, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. I am sorry that your bathroom facilities were not appealing to you- but thanks for mentioning Housekeeping, it is always nice to share positive comments with our Room Attendants. We look forward to refurbishing some of our bathrooms as well as other parts of the...

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 km away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#54 of 58 in Dunedin
100 reviews
0.9 km away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
702 reviews
0.1 km away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heritage listed Wains Hotel Dunedin is located in the heart of Dunedin offering easy access to Dunedin's many attractions. The Octagon, Town Hall, Forsyth Barr Stadium are in walking distance. Otago University & Peninsula are also only a short drive away. Wains Dunedin offers 48 boutique-style rooms and 2 function rooms suitable for conferences, weddings and events. Facilities include broadband Internet access; secure offsite valet parking at NZD$ 15.00 per night and Relish Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wains Hotel Dunedin

Address: 310 Princess Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Dunedin)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Price Range: $115 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wains Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wains Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Dunedin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wains Hotel Dunedin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“From the two we were offered there are no good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles lewisdasafety, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Probably the higher floors at the side are the most quite.”
 of 5 bubbles 397philm, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No rooms appeared to be good.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelnW1133CZ, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 202 and 714”
 of 5 bubbles TadcasterJetsetters, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid rooms at the back”
 of 5 bubbles 194grahaml, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5