We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monarch Motel

633 Tay Street, Invercargill 9810 New Zealand
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (19)


#14 of 33 hotels in Invercargill
If outstanding service and inviting surroundings set in a park-like location are what you're looking for, then experience a little bit of Southern Hospitality with your hosts Karl & Kerry Mariu at the Monarch Motel. With 22 spacious units available, the Monarch Motel suits the corporate traveller or those planning to base themselves in the South while visiting the Catlins, Stewart Island, Riverton, Queenstown & Te Anau. Relax in our Sauna & Spa pool at the end of your busy day. Situated on State Highway 1, just a short walk to Stadium Southland/ Cycling Velodrome, Surrey Park sports facilities, Ascot Park raceway & convention centre. We have clean, modern facilities designed with you in mind. We hope to see you soon.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Golf course
Board games / puzzles
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
107Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 67
  • 32
  • 3
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
feebee10 wrote a review 17 Oct
otago58 contributions15 helpful votes
Excellent motel. We stayed in room 14, this has recently been refurbished. All sound Proofed so extremely quiet. New bathroom and kitchen. Very comfortable beds and room. Extremely clean and was serviced daily. We would definitely stay again and recommend this room to anyone. Staff were friendly and efficient
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
ronmQ5288TN wrote a review Apr 2021
Napier, New Zealand3 contributions3 helpful votes
owner goes beyond good to make stay good 10/10. always helpful even took us to airport at end of stay .Also units very clean and warm. highly recommend a stay also close to dairy and food outlet. .transport world a short walk also get ticket to motorbike word at same time as transport world get a discount
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Room Tip: two story but heard no noise from above
See more room tips
Kerry O wrote a review Feb 2021
Napier, New Zealand3 contributions3 helpful votes
Booked for 3 nights with a group of 28 friends, took the money then double booked room every night. Got offered fold out bed, & a bed in spa suite with terrible springs. Check your bookings- he refused any responsibility for double dipping. Lucky we had good mates who helped us out
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Response from Clark Whelan, General Manager at Monarch Motel
Responded 28 Feb 2021
Hi Kerry O We are sorry that you did not have a good experience. We also had a very hard time when your group was with us. Your tour group booked 11 rooms for 28 guests with the intention that guests would be sharing. We provided what was requested and paid for. We actually supplied an extra two rooms that were not paid for. I would suggest your displeasure is more fairly shared with the managers of your tour. Not us who were provided what was requested and more
Read more
Simon1341 wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland, New Zealand6 contributions1 helpful vote
Run of hot water , motel unit dirty , noisy , hear people from next unit talking , tv displayed snow storm on all channels , no wifi signal in room , best part was leaving ,better accomodation options available in Invercargill.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
mikelalv wrote a review Feb 2020
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain922 contributions110 helpful votes
Was quite surprised of the space we had for the price we paid. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need too. It was conveniently located, spotlessly cleaned... I would definitely recommend it to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Clark Whelan, General Manager at Monarch Motel
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Hi Mike. Thanks for your kind words. We are pleased your stay was a positive one. See you next time you are in the deep south. Kind regards. Clark &Sue.
Read more
US$70 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandSouth IslandSouthland RegionInvercargill
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Monarch Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Monarch Motel?
Nearby attractions include Dig This Invercargill (0.7 km), Bill Richardson Transport World (0.7 km), and Classic Motorcycle Mecca (3.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Monarch Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Monarch Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Monarch Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Monarch Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Elegance at 148 on Elles, Pinch of Spice, and Louies Cafe & Tapas Bar.
Are any cleaning services offered at Monarch Motel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Monarch Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Demolition World (5.1 km).
Is Monarch Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.