We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highview Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Highview Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Highview Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in a studio apartment and very pleased we did. A well appointed apartment with kitchen, washing machine, gas and electric heating, as well as underfloor heating in kitchen and bathroom. View was awesome over the lake as well as down to the township. We had a rental car so location out of the centre of town was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dominic D
ZQNtraveller, General Manager at Highview Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments Dominic, we are looking into the content of our compendiums at the moment so your review was timely. Not sure why you did not have instructions as to the lighting of the gas fires as they are (usually) in every room. Can I point out for anyone reading this review it was a One Bedroom...

Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

I am writing this review on day four of six staying at the Highview Apartments... My girlfriend and myself had treated ourselves to a Queenstown holiday from Perth. Our first room we were given looked amazing. Top floor lake view, all was well... Until ten minutes into cooking a frozen pizza (we were tired) our oven glass shattered! The receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michael J
ZQNtraveller, General Manager at Highview Apartments, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your response Michael and apologise that I was out of the country at the time of your stay and have only just caught up with your review this week, I have spent the last couple of days discussing it with key staff members and also listened to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

We didn't have a room with a view but it was reasonably priced in a good location near town. The room did feel quite small but the staff were welcoming and it was perfectly fine for a short stay. Would upgrade to lake views for a longer stay. Overall we were satisfied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reeinbris
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2016

One bedroom apartment with full kitchen and washer/dryer, gas and electric heating combined with a lovely elevated view just outside of the CBD. Great 5 night stay made better by very nice, helpful staff. I cannot fault Highview Apartments. The short downhill walk to town centre is pleasant and the hilly ascent wasn't too hard for me, a late 50s...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hspratt6
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Great place to stay. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. We had a gorgeous view looking out over the lake. The apartment was very modern and spacious. We spent a lot of time sitting on the balcony. For those not mobility challenged, short walk to the center of town. Cannot think of even one negative aspect. Well worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fern Jo K
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in an upper level apartment. The apartment was modern, a good size, immaculately clean and with a very well equipped kitchen. Loved having a washing machine hidden in the kitchen too with washing powder provided for you! Great balcony with superb views over Queenstown and the lake. Yes, it's a bit of an uphill walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We found the apartments were very spacious clean well appointed with great views and balconies. The price we considered was very reasonable and thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. We were able to walk into town in about 7 to 10 minutes so no problems with looking for parking which can be a problem. The apartment had a good size...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BERTIE14
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The apartment was exceptionally clean and well equipt to high standard. The view was fabulous with wide opening balcony overlooking the lake and harbour. The only negative was the climb up from the town, but it was worth it for the view. Parking was right outside apartment and staff were very welcoming at check in and helpful with tour bookings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LITH2016
San Francisco
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Queenstown fills up quickly and only higher-end places were available - Highview was very nice, upscale and modern, quiet and very comfortable with excellent bedding... but be aware it's a solid 15-minute walk (with one steep uphill block) from all the restaurants and buzz. Note the cheaper studios (still pricey) face directly into the parking lot.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeffp94114
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We have been travelling across NZ for 2 months and unfortunately this ranks as one of our most disappointing accommodations and the most expensive. We found accommodation generally in Queenstown to be very expensive. Ironically, there is tons of it but either very budget or high end luxury. There does not seem to be much aimed at the middle market...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsBWooster
ZQNtraveller, General Manager at Highview Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for the positive aspects you raised. We do apologize for the area that let the room down, (dusty headboard and missing plug), we aim to treat all guests in a courteous, welcoming and respectful manner no matter how busy it is. Due to the Easter weekend we weren’t able to relocate you but appreciate...

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.1 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
3,026 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,328 reviews
3.3 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
6.3 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury One & Two Bedroom Apartments overlooking Lake Wakatipu, from Queenstown Bay across the Remarkables to Walter and Cecil Peaks, watch the TSS Earnslaw steam her way across your view. A short walk from the CBD, Cafes, Restaurants and many of the local activities (or collection points) but away from the busy roads and noise. Self contained to allow that home away from home feel. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highview Apartments

Address: 66 - 70 Thompson Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Clarion Suites Highview Apartments)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $212 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highview Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Highview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highview Apartments staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Highview Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a lakeside top floor, no issues.”
SueandMick1423, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room facing Lake Wakatipu”
873jeanettem, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lake view rooms are superb but a bit more expensive.”
tabamba, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lake View Spectacular”
475trevor, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you book the lake facing suites or you'll end up looking at the parking lot”
MephistoTA, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5