We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,088: English reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

After driving from North to South and staying in budget accom the whole way, DoubleTree was a nice ending to an awesome holiday. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable and not to mention the view from this hotels location is 5 star. It is a little bit out of the way from the center of Queenstown but so easy to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KateElizabeth1790
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

We hope to see you back soon

Sydney, India
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Internet wi-fi very poor. This hotel is quite far from City centre. You have to shell out 60 AUD in one trip. There is a bus service but you have to book it prior to your journey. Water tax you have to pay 10 AUD per person

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sumit Rajatkuma... D
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Thanks for your review!

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Do not let housekeepers enter your room whilst you are not there - I had 2 possessions taken from my secured luggage and the housekeeper proceeded to leave a "lovely note" to say she had been there. The same housekeeper also entered the room of my friend (separate room) when there was the "do not disturb" sign on the door...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca G
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Quite a concerning review. Did you report the missing items as we have no record. Please do contact me.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 June 2016

I booked this as a treat for my husband and myself for our wedding anniversary. On arrival a hot cookie always a winner with hubby Room was not what I had expected but a phone call and 5 mins later were moved to a room with a view and what a view...amazing. the room was warm inviting and clean, although...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue0791
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Happy wedding anniversary ! Glad you loved the stay. Hope to see you back before the next one

Reviewed 19 June 2016

My room was facing to the construction site, but it was not a big issue at all, as I live in the middle of construction site in Tokyo. I enjoyed watching Remarkable Mountain which is just awesome with New Zealand wines. I will definitely go back to the hotel next Feb or March.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mitsukot905
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

We look forward to see you back

Reviewed 19 June 2016

We stayed at the Queenstown Double Tree by Hilton and it was amazing. We wanted a location outside of the hustle and bustle with a kitchen so we could cook and not rely on eating out every meal. It was wonderful. The location was beautiful, the rooms were superb and the service was exceptional. We loved how the housekeepers went...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole B
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed the mini kitchen!

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Unfortunately due to renovations and extensions of the Hilton, our view was of a concrete slab wall. We got our room at a discounted price (still higher than other hotels) and were never notified about the view. It doesn't seem like much but when your travelling to somewhere as beautiful as Queenstown, the last thing you want to see is...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClAUDIANEVS
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Thanks

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Better than expected, more value than what you pay for. Would highly recommend anyone to stay here if they visit Queenstown. The only downside is that the shuttle bus only comes every 2 hours. But this is generally not an issue as there is water taxi available too ($10/p).

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yu-Shih Y
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Glad you loved it

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 16 June 2016

We stayed for 3 nights. Overall it is a wonderful hotel, with great services. It is quite far from town center, but if you prefer quiet places it is the one. Only disappointment was that we were assigned to a room with construction site view.... We cooked one night and we alarmed the smoke detector. The ventilation can be improved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goemonate
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Thank you I hoe you enjoyed your time in NZ

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I stayed here for four days at a business meeting. The apartment was perfect for one or two but no more. It was beautifully appointed with great beds, kitchenette and small bathroom. The downsides, were no desk or table to work on and no space for toiletries in the bathroom. However for a weekend visit for a couple it would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bellajami
ChrisEh, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Thank you and hope to see you back soon

497 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (366)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (144)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (79)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
King Deluxe Lakeview (49)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
The Hotel (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
7.2 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 57 in Queenstown
1,308 reviews
4.4 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#14 of 57 in Queenstown
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
3,000 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 km away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $143 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to get a lakeview room.”
  • Standard Room
  • Suite
 of 5 bubbles milespointstravelkom, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don,t stay unless you can be guaranteed a view”
 of 5 bubbles O9681EDneilm, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apartments require walking hills to the main lobby. My apartment had a balcony view that was fantastic.”
  • View from attached balcony from my apartment
  • The only other furnishing in this bedroom is a standing closet.
  • Nice furnishings on balcony
 of 5 bubbles Bent4161, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the north side look out on a 30-foot plus high concrete wall.”
  • Note the sink size and counter space!
 of 5 bubbles catri0nae, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“With the lake view”
 of 5 bubbles Anchousik, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5