We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,948 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,833: English reviews
New Zealand
Reviewed 6 April 2015

We have stayed at Rydges at other locations and been very happy. However, this place was tired and VERY loud. We could hear the guests above us walking and EVERYTHING else at all hours. Not very restful. Also, you have to step up and down about 1/2 a meter to the shower. Actually dangerous. I would not stay here again....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristina S
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Kristina S, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry to read that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations, I appreciate the issues you have highlighted and we are currently accessing the minor defects with our maintenance team. Regards, Vince

Manukau, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 April 2015

After searching for hotel deals, I remembered these suckas were on the back of our supermarket receipts. I think it was $99 a night. Only 5min walk to wharf restaurants, jetboats etc. The lobby is pretty modern looking, but the rooms aren't. Still, the whole place is very clean and tidy. Service was friendly and polite. Definately recommend if you'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CookieM0nster
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear CookieM0nster, Happy to hear you got yourself a bargain for your budget accommodation and our service was to your satisfaction Regards, Vince

Reviewed 5 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel is badly managed was frankly dirty and poorly maintained. The carpets were gritty and badly needing not just vacuum but also a deep cleansing. The bathroom had significant mould and the toilet dirty with faeces left under the toilet seat. There was crockery and cutlery left in the passage outside a nearby room for two days. Despite leaving...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard O
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Richard O, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are concerned by your recent experience and appreciate you bringing your feedback to our attention. we have discussed and passed on the issues you have raised to our maintenance and housekeeping department. Regards, Vince

Tuscany, Italy
Reviewed 2 April 2015

they have 2 types of room: the budget ones and the better ones. We stayed in the budget ones which show towards a parking lot. The bathroom was very old. The room was rather big but old fashioned furnished. The situation of the hotel is excellent but next time I would choose another place to stay. Glad we did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita-Nina
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Rita-Nina, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Our hotel caters for a variety of room types from spacious suites and deluxe rooms to Sleep & go budget accomodation dependent on your requirements, On this occaision I believe the Budget room type for you chose was not suitable. Regards, Vince

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 31 March 2015

The location and view is amazing. The building however redone on the outside is rather disappointing on the inside. A few of my disappoints included having to go up stairs with our suitcases to get to our room (good thing I'm in shape but this is not the case for everyone in my party), several lamps that did not work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Laura, I appreciate your honest review of our hotel, I am sorry to hear the condition of the hotel did not meet your expectations, however I am pleased to advise the hotel is marked for a refurbishment in the near future, I apologise for the issues you raised and I will investigate with the relevant departments Regards, Vince

Medway
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We had a pleasant stay here, with a comfortable suite overlooking the beautiful lake. The restaurant and bar are good, particularly the restaurant, which has panoramic views of Queenstown and the lake. The food was nicely cooked and service friendly and efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrippingSue
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear TrippingSue, Thanking you for your excellent feedback, Happy to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, I will certainly pass on your comments to the food & beverage team. Regards, Vince

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Excellent view of the lake, just 5 mins walking from the city centre. We had stayed in a standard room which had basic amenities, wished it was a bit bigger to move around easily but the lake facing balcony made up for it. The hotel has a good choice of cuisine and the breakfast spread was quite decent. Plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a j
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Ashish2311, Thanking you for your positive feedback, I was pleased to read you enjoyed our hospitality. I will definitely pass on your kind words to our entire team. Hope to see you back soon! Regards, Vince

York Haven, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I admit to being a bit apprehensive about booking two nights at the Rydges Lakeland Resort based on some of the reviews here. Fortunately, my wife and I had a very good experience. Reception was very friendly and included a free drink coupon with our room. The associate strongly recommended that my wife sign up for the Priority Guest Rewards...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slargon
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Slargon Thanking you for your positive words, I was pleased to read we were able to meet your expectations and you enjoyed our hospitality and our hotels stunning location, and yes the town was abuzz with roaring Harleys....which created a great vibe! Hope to see you back in Queenstown! Regards, Vince

Reviewed 28 March 2015

We are the 4 rooms group checked in today while other people still eating their lunch , I was checked in first with group luggage , 7 pieces together, that cost me over 10 mins for check in since I passed voucher to reception , and ' friendly ' receptionist Paula asked me , you looks in hurry , I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sun A
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 March 2015

We stayed at the hotel during Queens Birthday weekend in 2014 on a private trip and also stayed the year before while on a staff trip and both times we were extremley happy with the rooms and more so last year when we got a ground floor room overlooking the lake.The rooms are tidy and clean,staff helpful(they gave us a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crash60
Vince S, Manager at Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review

Dear Crash60, It is pleasing to hear that you had a comfortable stay and our breakfast service was met with your approval. Thank you for your recommendation and also for taking the time to review your stay Hope to see you again soon Regards, Vince

599 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (586)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
View from Room (116)
Viewed
Room/Suite (129)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
3:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (179)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 km away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 57 in Queenstown
2,978 reviews
1.1 km away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,294 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
1,376 reviews
0.8 km away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#23 of 57 in Queenstown
1,445 reviews
1.8 km away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary multi-story hotel overlooking Lake Wakatipu, 400 meters from town center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown

Address: 38 - 54 Lake Esplanade, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $173 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Lakeland Hotel Queenstown
Rydges Lakeland Queenstown
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Lakeland Resort Hotel Queenstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“lake view at front”
 of 5 bubbles 1953nigel, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Doesn't really matter they will stuff it up anyway and aren't very helpful at all in trying to solve your problems.”
 of 5 bubbles 43desk, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a walk out balcony”
 of 5 bubbles longbeach1959, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for lakeside view.”
 of 5 bubbles ShelleyQ008, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the lake offer a nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles UpNorthWoman, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5