We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Queenstown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Queenstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Base Queenstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 414: English reviews
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

We book for two nights and was requested for lower decks as we are not comfortable sleeping on top deck. When we arrived the lady receptionist gave us upper deck beds without checking carefully the special request I did before payment, so I just thought it was fully booked & so we go up to have some rest before going...

Thank RedGemini
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia ora, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at Base Queenstown. Sorry about the loss in communication on the preference of a lower bed. I am glad that our night manager could solve this problem right then and there for you. This is a reason we have a 24 Hour reception so we...

Reviewed 12 June 2016

dry hostel- no alcohol allowed because they want you to drink at the base owned bar. The beds are so creaky and noisy that even the quietest of people will wake up every other room mate with a light roll in their sleep. The bedding is clean, but the duvet covers NEVER seem to be stripped or washed 3 plug...

Thank AlexFace A
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all positive and negative feedback. We strive to have all guests leaving with a smile. We are a dry hostel for multiple reasons. Due to our Liquor licensing and the amount of noise that socialising and drinking can create it is not what some guests are wanting throughout there hostel experience....

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Staff were so friendly. Was in a twin room which was very clean and had all the necessary amenities. Bar downstairs was lively and good atmosphere! Location is great, right in the middle of town. Reception staff were very helpful with planning trips etc.

Thank Elaine B
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Elaine, This is great feedback! I am so stoked you enjoyed your stay here. Don't be a stranger next time your in Queenstown! Happy travels Sam

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the hostel, that's fine. The bar is awful. Avoid at all costs. The rudest staff I've ever encountered. Particularly Charlotte, the manager, the dyed blonde haired bar girl and brunette bar girl. NEVER go this bar. Overpriced and terrible for nothing but poor service in exchange.

Thank madrho
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

If I could rate a zero I would. The webpage claims they have free wifi and computers for use in the lounge and also that they help with job searches .. Nope, have to pay for computers, have to pay $4/day for wifi or $20/week for wifi (pay for computers separately from wifi) which only works on the main level...

Thank kealyclick
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I can assure you we take all reviews both positive and negative very seriously. I am unable to locate where we advertise free WIFI anywhere online. We have recently just extended the kitchen and common area so we are gradually improving all around as a hostel. I am sorry to...

Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Great backpacker hostel. For backpacker: Clean and easily accessible to many places since it was situated at the city center. For family: Not that suitable. For couple who want privacy, obviously know that you should be getting a private room instead of a dorm.

Thank huiling T
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for the positive feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here at Base Queenstown. We work very hard to ensure the cleanliness of our hostel is at a high standard. Enjoy the rest of your time in this beautiful country! Kind regards Sam

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The rooms are dirty and not well vacuumed. The bedding is also not cleaned very well with many of my travelling companions requesting fresh bed linen because it was either DIRTY or previously used and just flattened out to look fresh. The noise from the Loco bar located within the building resounds right through the building making sleeping very difficult...

Thank Luke S
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. I am sorry you found the hostel to be a little noisy - with our location being so central there can sometimes be a little noise from the surrounding businesses. We have free earplugs available at reception for all guests and we are always happy to...

Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

Did not stay in the hostel, but went to the Base travel desk to arrange my horseriding at Dart Stable. The atmosphere at the desk is very good! The girl who helped me out, Kirsti, was very friendly and seemed truely interested in my travels. Very nice experience! She gave me, and my friend, all the time to decide about...

Thank Sanne A
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Sanne, Thank you for taking the time to give us positive feedback even though you didn't get to experience our awesome hostel. I am stoked you had such a great encounter with our wonderful staff. Kind regards Sam

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2016

I loved this small town village? Staff a bit hit or miss but I think a lot of them are there to party and sometimes forget they have a job to do. This isnt a bad thing and I very much enjoyed their energy and useful tips. As an older traveller I was made to feel very welcome. Thank you...

Thank ontheroadadventure
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for your insight. We are an entertainment based hostel and have some great staff working here and yes they do like to party especially with the guests! I am glad you enjoyed your time here and the energy our staff had! Come back and visit us! Cheers Sam

Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

1 night in a 8 dorm. Liked the private bathrooms. Kitchen very clean, tea and coffee for free. Central location, bit noisy. Blankets were best I had on the island until now, and necessary because heaters were not on.

Thank Yara W
Sam J, General Manager at Base Queenstown, responded to this review

Hi Yara, Cheers for your great review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Base Queenstown. We are located right in the center of town so unfortunately that means the rooms can experience a level of noise from the outside. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday! Kind regards Sam

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (42)
Room/Suite (12)
View from Room (5)
Bathroom (4)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (7)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 km away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.1 km away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
339 reviews
0.1 km away
YHA Queenstown Central
YHA Queenstown Central
#22 of 90 in Queenstown
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sir Cedrics Tahuna Pod Hostel
0.5 km away
Bumbles Backpackers
Bumbles Backpackers
#18 of 90 in Queenstown
203 reviews
0.2 km away
Southern Laughter Backpackers
Southern Laughter Backpackers
#34 of 90 in Queenstown
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The most central, modern and fun backpackers hostel in Queenstown! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Queenstown

Address: 47 - 49 Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Discovery Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $56 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Queenstown 2*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Base Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Base Queenstown staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Base Queenstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room in the third floor.... Ive heard lower you can hear the nightclub.”
  • Get in the spirit!!!
 of 5 bubbles 339bennyw, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor at the back”
 of 5 bubbles weicreation, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring a pillowcase and flip flops and you'll be sweet.”
 of 5 bubbles dmicallef22, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay slightly more and go elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles MissBex1986, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“plan your accom early in Queenstown there are lots of good backpackers just not the Base”
 of 5 bubbles WayneHelen, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5