We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alpine Village

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alpine Village
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alpine Village
See the most recent reviews
Showing 55: English reviews
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Stayed in apartment 11A - a two bedroom one - for three nights. No problems with the key collection from the box. Spotless on arrival and advised by the manager of a hob ring not working which was fine by me as I was only doing basic cooking while on holiday. Being the Friday night of the Queenstown Marathon weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holly-t69
Brisbane
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Over the previous 5 years we have had three visits here at these apartments bringing more people each time-enough to warrant paying for the penthouse for our three nights this year. The views are spectacular, really amazing and the place extremely warm. We self catered for the majority of our stay (with the exception of our visits to Fergburger, Gibbston...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandajayne81
Kobejohn, Manager at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, while the self check in system is not your usual system it does allow us not to have an office on site and all the associated costs involved which in turn means a a much better room rate for our guests. Hope to see you back for your fourth visit. Regards, Pete

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Unfortunately we booked this stay without first reading the reviews, by the time we did it was too late to change our choice. When I contacted management re: what to expect about disabled room (due to the bad reviews floating online) they were rude and very defensive, not friendly people at all, glad they aren't based on site! We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misbah S
Kobejohn, Manager at Alpine Village, responded to this review

You called twice about the disabled room, difference as I explained was a larger shower, handle beside the toilet and doors that open out not in, why that would upset you is beyond my understanding, I was not rude it was you who was rude, I called your partner/ husband and said that you could cancel for no penalty as...

Denpasar, Indonesia
Reviewed 30 July 2015

The best place we have stayed in Queenstown. The apartment was very well equiped and the views were stunning. The overall layout was also impressive, a very well designed space with the gas fire place being the highlight for us, a wonderful place to sit with a bottle of wine after a days skiing. Many thanks to Pete and Michelle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here 2 years ago and happy that we came back. Check in again a flawless process even when management aren't on site. Stayed in 1 bdr this time, 14A. Great view (again) of lake. Apartment always warm with electric blankets on bed and floor heating on bathroom. This time unfortunately we did come across some dirty bowls with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shang80
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Cleanish, bed comfortable. No coffee plunger, dirty cutlery and were given disabled access unit without being advised. Curtains in lounge coming off broken tracks. Very very basic and certainly over priced for what was on offer. Would not consider a repeat visit. Has to be zero for service as there was none. Not an office or person in sight

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MACS77B
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Overall, we had a good stay, bed extremely comfortable and immaculately clean. !! That is your opening line in your email you sent to me prior to going on Tripadvisor, then you went on about how a disabled apt upset you, ( I wonder what Disabilty NZ would think of those comments) hinting that even though you only paid $159...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 May 2015

Nicely furnished apartment that made us go wow when we entered and saw the view. The location is good. 5 min drive to Queenstown, 5-10 min drive to the supermarket near the airport and walk down a few steps to a nice leafy walkway along the lake. The room felt like a nice place to be and spend some time....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dags111
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for wonderful comments, it is greatly appreciated.

Sydney
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Stayed in a studio apartment which was large enough for what we wanted. Loved the large balcony with terrific views. We were metres from the lake. Short distance to Queenstown and airport. Not having a reception was no issue, value for money. Bed I think was 2 beds zipped together so ridge in the middle, not very comfortable. Would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, the Waterfront studios are great, it almost feels like you are hanging out over the water. You are correct the beds are split kings, so they can be made into two singles. They do have another top mattress on them plus mattress protector so can only guess the lump in the bed may have been...

Kilcoy
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

When we first arrived in Queenstown not knowing the area we were worried about the location of the property however we soon realised if you want a nice relaxing time this is the place. It is not in walking distance to the cbd however it is a huge party town with heaps of backpackers, it would be very noisy staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katkilcoy
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback, it is so refreshing after a series of moaners. The views are spectacular and I agree it is very peaceful but close enough to enjoy the day and night lights of downtown, we try to keep our rates competitive compared to the other lakefront properties, hope to see you back again very...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 January 2015

There is not much "Alpine" about the Alpine Village. The batch of apartments is squeezed in between the Frankton Main road and the lake. If you are unlucky and get too close to the road you will find it very noisy, and most locations in the congested site only get glimpses of the lake. The airport is just to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Constant T
Kobejohn, Owner at Alpine Village, responded to this review

One of the main reasons that our rates are so low for waterfront apts is that we do not have the expense of running an office on site and staff etc, and I am sure the room rate was part of the motivation to book with us. No Holiday apts are in the back row near the road they are...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
0.6 km away
Cherish Bed and Breakfast
Cherish Bed and Breakfast
#35 of 45 in Queenstown
2 reviews
4.0 km away
Lakefront Apartments
Lakefront Apartments
#66 of 90 in Queenstown
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Alpine Suites Queenstown
Alpine Suites Queenstown
#28 of 90 in Queenstown
34 reviews
0.3 km away
Pencarrow
Pencarrow
#36 of 45 in Queenstown
146 reviews
2.2 km away
Queenstown Village Apartments
Queenstown Village Apartments
#39 of 90 in Queenstown
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern, clean apartments on the shores of Lake Wakatipu; all have fantastic mountain and lake views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alpine Village

Address: 643 Frankton Road, Queenstown, New Zealand (Formerly BreakFree Alpine Village Resort)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Price Range: $163 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Hotel Queenstown
Breakfree Alpine Village Hotel
Breakfree Alpine Village Queenstown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alpine Village staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Alpine Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room not so far away from the wifi”
walmit, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Studio rooms front the water and offer a spectacular view.”
ntawali, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“It would be useful to meet the manager on entry to consider final arrangements, but automated checkin does not enable this”
Drajak, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
“All rooms appear to have lake views.”
jer-jeanne, 15 May 2013 | Read review
“book the waterfront studio, extremely quiet and comfortable with a luxury feel.”
allaird, 27 Sep 2011 | Read review
5 of 5