We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rosie's Homestay Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rosie's Homestay Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 22 January 2016

23 years ago Rosie literally gave over her home for backpackers. She and family moved upstairs and left the rest for your convenience. You have full access to her very clean kitchen (with glasses, cups, pans, plates and utensils etc), lounge and bathrooms. There are family memorabilia and their furniture throughout. Beds comfy. There is a commercial clothes washer (does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colostomy
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I stayed with an American friend on our way to Milford Sound last November. I had been travelling for a month at that point and the warm, friendly service and homely surroundings made a real impression on me. Rosie and Alistair were genuinely interested in us and seemed to really love chatting to their guests~ it made all the difference!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethan A
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Stayed here a month or 2 ago, we had been camping previously but the rain got so bad we decided to splash out on a room! We knocked on so many hotel doors but all were fully booked, then we finally found rosies and it was absolute paradise haha, she welcomed us in to the warm cozy house that smelled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philippa93
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 May 2015

We visited Rosie's for one night, stayed in a double room. pros -easy and fast booking and check in -Place is clean -Kitchen is clean and fully equipped. cons -room is icy cold even with the tiny heater turned on - The wall is very thin, and our room is just next to the toilet, so basically, we can hear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hweeyinn
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Visited Rosie's for two nights, stayed in a twin room with no ensuite. Communications before our visit were friendly, and as we arrived, we were also welcomed warmly by Alistair. Our room was tidy, and both beds had divine (down?) doonas - there were woollen blankets just in case, as well as electronic blankets, but did not need them at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eevis77
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Rosie's backpackers homestay is really a homestay! The large kitchen and lounge, the beautifull garden, heaps of space for all the 14 guests. The friendly other backpackers that stayed here at the same time, I really enjoyed staying here, calming down after travelling. Sitting in the huge garden, I only heared the chickens, birds and the dog from the neighbours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gees717
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2015

I stayed here for two nights, using Te Anua as a gateway for Milford Sound. Rosie was very welcoming and this helped to create an atmosphere where everyone talked to everyone. It was a really friendly place and the kitchen was never particularly busy. The beds were so comfortable, it was warm and the bathroom was really clean. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndyR61
UK
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We were enjoying our stay at Rosie's until the last day when us evacuating the place seemed of higher importance than being polite and friendly. It is a nice place, I can not deny that, but unfortunately our stay was made unpleasant by being told to get on our way and leave before half past 10. In fact my partner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank turtle_muffin
Rosie P, Owner at Rosie's Homestay Backpackers, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't realize there is a checkout time of 10am but it is well advertised throughout the hostel. When guests are making themselves at home and it is after checkout we simply just let them know that there is a day charge if they wish to stay on. As we have check-ins arriving from12.30, we...

Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at Rosies for the last nights of 2014. The house made us feel at home straight away with the chickens and hammock. It is clean, well looked after and the kitchen is amazing with everything a homechef wants. Although New Year's Eve looked to become a dreadful rainy day, the hosts Jenny and Dan really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Multi-Sara
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Homestay does fit indeed. Really cozy place, extremely clean, great showers, good WIFI and with the best equipped kitchen. A bit of walking into town but lovely location, perfect to chill out after a trek. We stayed for New Year and couldn't have asked for a better place. It was great! Having homemade, delicious Pizza all together and the warm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank C_Ho207

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
2.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.6 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.4 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
1.4 km away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#5 of 27 in Te Anau
207 reviews
1.5 km away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Rosie's Homestay Backpackers

Address: 23 Tom Plato Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rosie's Homestay Backpackers Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rosie's Homestay Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you are a light sleeper, this is probably not a good place..”
 of 5 bubbles hweeyinn, 12 May 2015 | Read review
“The twin has a lovely upstairs loft for kids perhaps, and the beds are very comfy”
 of 5 bubbles eevis77, 4 May 2015 | Read review
“Anything at Rosies is amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles NoelNN, 16 Feb 2012 | Read review
“Book early and ask for the double room if you have a little more money to spend - great value!”
 of 5 bubbles Pippped, 9 Jan 2012 | Read review
4 of 4