We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 355: English reviews
Start your review of Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
 Click to rate
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked here for a couple of nights while we did a Milford Sound trip. Our room was on the second floor directly above the reception area. The room was very noisy due to the arrival and departure of coach loads of mainly Asian tourists. This started at about 7am. As several other reviewers say, this hotel appears to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suebnz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed there 4 nights and it was very enjoyable. We had every day 8-10 hours trips so it was important to have a good sleep in a quiet, clean place. The room is big enough, the bed is comfortable, the hotel reception personnel absolutely wonderful. Usually we plan everything in advance but this time I needed every day their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spirituscapirai
West Yorkshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was chosen by our tour operator. Easy to find and on the lake side with a 10 minute walk into town. We were given a king bedded room on the first floor (no lifts) facing the lake but the one storey restaurant is in front so we can only glimpse the lake in the distance but we can see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestYorksHomebird
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this place for one night en route to Milford Sound. Tried to access the internet in the evening in reception and it was unusable. Asked about this at reception and they said the town had poor internet connection and that many guests were using the wifi could be the problem. Although there were only two of us in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJBSydney
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Milford Sound is just a 2 hour bus ride away. A very good jump off point to visiting one of Aoteroa's "must see" destination. Get a headstart and beat the rushing influx of midday tourist arrivals. Our home away from home in the deep South.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDJarbadan
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

My wife and I stayed for one night prior to going on a overnight Doubtful Sound cruise. A polite reception ship checked us in. We had been upgraded to a superior room which was comfortable but overlooked the reception area where the buses offloaded their predomiantly Chinese tourists. There was an English menu in the room information pack. However we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
Canton, Ohio
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

The staff couldn't be nicer but the hotel is really run down. The beds offer no support and the rooms are worn out. The morning breakfast looked awful for the price so we didn't eat there. The shower curtain is useless and does not stay in place so water gets all over the floor. They seem to be busy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ester94
Wanneroo
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Hotel itself ok we are just shocked that they advertise room service.. Restaurant has only Asian Buffet. Room Service is basically non exsistant... all you can order is chips, wedges and toasties.. Obviosly due to the fact there is busloads of Asians arriving.. this has not happened to us elsewhere in NZ the busloads of Asians have, but restaurant still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne Fae H
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Leanne Fae H I appreciate your feedback regarding your dining experience and apologise you were unable to order off our a la carte menu. We believe the $19incl buffet represents great value and choice and apologise you were unable to enjoy the food with fantastic views over Lake Te Anau. Kind regards Nick L Hotel Manager

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Stay for one night on the way to Milford Sound. It's easily reached and has enough for a short stay. They have a comfortable room with good cleanliness. The bathroom is equipped with enough toiletries.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wida197
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Wida197 Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand. Kind regards Nick L Hotel Manager

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

The room was serviceable and clean, but not much more. The bed and furniture were tired and old. The bathroom was also very clean. The dining room was nice enough and food was fine. The hotel is near the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Susan M Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand. Kind regards Nick L Hotel Manager

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.8 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
478 reviews
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
353 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $94 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“keep away from any rooms that are close to the reception area.”
 of 5 bubbles suebnz, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Am guessing rooms are allocated on arrival. Get one near reception for a chance of accessing wifi!”
 of 5 bubbles DJBSydney, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Warm yourself by the fireplace while waiting for your tour bus to pick you up.”
 of 5 bubbles JDJarbadan, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the standard rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 90RichardT, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sorry unless an Asian don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles leannefaeh, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5