We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
See the most recent reviews
Showing 332: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Walk wise this is about 10 minutes to Te Anau walking along the lake, which is a lovely walk and the views are top notch. Prices where very good, staff friendly and helpful. The rooms where very good the only grumble I have is the TV only had small channel selection. However this is quite routine poor entertainment options whereas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VANS_HH
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful and enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Thank you for your recommendation Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Newick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights here. We had a large room on the first floor, well appointed, comfortable beds, nice towels, good shower. Couple of tips - very small car spaces, ensure you park within the lines.. Many guests did not & wasted spaces. When you check out - use cash when possible to avoid the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie2109
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the walk into the town centre. I agreed some guests do not park within the lines which makes it difficult for other guests to park. Kind Regards Anita Brown General...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Our room didn't appear clean on arrival, however the bathroom was. The beds were uncomfortable and no one in our group managed to sleep as you could hear everything going on in other rooms all night. The staff were rude at both check in and check out and unhelpful when we asked for directions to services. There was nothing remarkable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harasness
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience with us and found the staff rude and unhelpful. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Reviews of various Te Anau’s accommodations at TA are not that great and we did not expect much of Kings Gate. However, we were pleasantly surprised with its quality. Clean, spacious, comfortable. It is not located in the center of the town though and you have to walk a few blocks or drive if you have a car. Also, only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drago_ca
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

queenstown
Reviewed 28 January 2014

After walking the Kelper we had a welcome stay here.. The front desk Staff all very welcoming and accommodating to are Needs ( we left some luggage here for are return back from the Kelper) we had the dinner it was pleasant, large portion and to much sauce maybe more is less as it was restaurant prices but not up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nelly347
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you found the rooms clean and comfortable. I will have pleasure in passing on your comments to the staff regarding their service and friendliness. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

St Heliers, Auckland
Reviewed 26 January 2014

After staying in Kingsgate in Dunedin we expected a similar standard, the room however was not as comfortable as Dunedin our bed was not on legs and was very bumpy. Our parents had a room next door whose bed was on legs and therefore slightly more comfortable. The shower cubicles are tiny built for hobbits I think. On the positive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that the location was suitable to your needs and you found the staff friendly. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was the cheapest place we could find in Te Anau but there was nothing cheap about the service or the rooms. Clean, modern and very convenient. Strongly recommend this.They were very understanding when I wanted to convert from one in the room to three!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel, it was very much appreciated. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Witham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2014

What a way to spend New Years Eve, in this lively little Town. Nice Hotel a few hundred metres from the main centre. Good clean room. Graeson the night porter was excellent & very helpful. No reason but we did not use the restaurant as had things booked but looked nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your New Years eve in Te Anau. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Booked as cheaper than cabin in holiday park at $80/night. Room fine- not serviced properly - not vacuumed, surfaces not cleaned, tea/milk not always replenished. Parking fine- no issues for us. Wifi was free for 20 mins in lobby or $25 in room thought this was overpriced so used elsewhere. Low point staff who - with exception of male member-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melbournep2005
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Disappointed to read that the servicing of your room wasn't up to standard and the staff unhelpful and charmless, I will speak to the staff to ensure this comment is not made again. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

adelaide
Reviewed 17 January 2014

hotel and staff very good breakfast we had both mornings was very good with a large variety to choose once again with this hotel chain the car parking is an issue need to look at this as people with hire cars does not like to park on road

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideStranger
Anita B, General Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Unfortunately there are a few days during the busy season that the car parking becomes an issue. Kind Regards Anita Brown General Manager

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.4 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
444 reviews
0.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
330 reviews
0.4 km away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 24 in Te Anau
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Contemporary Hotel Complex located on the shore of Te Anau Lake, within walking distance of shops. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau

Address: 20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $134 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Te Anau
Te Anau Kingsgate Hotel
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau Fiordland National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper level has some mountain view rooms. Include brekky with your room booking.”
 of 5 bubbles AlokThapar, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Maybe stay away from rooms directly over the entrance - it's quite busy with coaches arriving and leaving.”
 of 5 bubbles kateb999, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieB2010, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had an upstairs room. We found it very comfortable. It was very sunny.”
 of 5 bubbles daffydolly, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try somewhere else first”
 of 5 bubbles robh982, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay