We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
See the most recent reviews
Showing 464: English reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2017

The accommodation is well placed in the middle of the village and offers clean, comfortable 3star type rooms with very dated decor. We arrived a little early and decided to check if the room was ready, not with any real expectations given this period is busy with NZ holiday demands as well as international. The room was not ready but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deborahbC3444RB
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you found your room comfortable and our central location conducive to your needs. I am disappointed however to read you found our treatment disrespectful and based on the philosophy of "the more you complain, the more you get". I can assure you that this is...

Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Very basic hotel with free wifi. Great location. Nice staff. Clean. No bells and whistles on this place, but I think that's true with all accommodations in this town. You will barely be in your room. This works fine and we have zero complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ACD100
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad to read you found our central location conducive to your needs and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and safe travels. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Fresno, California
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The location here was nice and convenient. The hotel was fine but the walls were thin and you could easily hear your neighbors. Because of that it was hard to sleep until really late at night. The service was friendly though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lzzc
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad to read you found our central location conducive to your needs and experienced our warm southern hospitality. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and safe travels. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Omarama, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Upon booking we were told queen beds in room they were NOT - they were doubles. Not very comfortable. Tired decor and dated. For $240.00 per night it we have had better in NZ for less money. Cheap instant coffee, no Sky TV, no pen paper or guess comment sheet, Housekeeping entered room before checkout time and asked when we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank McAughtrie
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am disappointed to read you did not have an enjoyable stay and found your room to be over-priced. I can assure you our rooms are competitively priced and on par with other offerings around town for this time of the year. All our Superior rooms have 2...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

This was the only available hotel in Te Anau when I booked our travel. I hope to book something else next time. Probably because of the holidays, this was extremely expensive and non refundable. The room is ok, functional and clean but has no character, nothing interesting. Very plain and boring. Had it cost $100-120, I wouldn't complain a bit....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Monika C
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Seasons Greetings!! Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am disappointed to read you did not have a pleasant stay. I can assure you our rooms are priced competitively and on par with other offerings around town. Trust you have a good holiday in New Zealand and safe travels. Kind Regards, The Team at...

Hong Kong
Reviewed 27 December 2016

The room was 'OK', it was clean and actually quite spacious. The whole hotel felt rather down-at-heel. You got the sense that these guys made a good living from the endless stream of tour buses passing through Te Anau, forced to stop there overnight, and as a result they didn't need to try very hard. Little investment in the property,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HongKongDuncan
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Seasons Greetings!! Thank you for your review about your stay with us. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Florence, Oregon
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one night. The hotel rooms are standard fare. Bathroom was great. Pillows thin and only two per bed. Remarkably there was no air conditioning and Hotel staff suggested the portable fan in the closet. If the room is hot and stuffy I can't sleep so there you have it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Larry F
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Seasons Greetings!! Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I hope you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Reviewed 22 December 2016

Room good facilities, hotel has two restaurants. However a very good selection of restaurants are also available locally. Also worth a visit is the Department of Conservation where you can find assistance with local walks and learn about the endangered Kakapö.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad to read you enjoyed your time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Distinction Luxmore Hotel is quit large. An average hotel. Lots of rooms do not have a view. From your window most people only see neighbors rooms are not to big. Staff is friendly. The hotel is in the middle of town. It's restaurant serves good food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP v
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Seasons Greetings!! Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am glad you experienced our warm southern hospitality and found our central location conducive to your needs. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Booked online the day before and received an upgrade on arrival - bonus! Very good service, very comfortable, tidy and clean. Very good sized room. Location perfect for everything we needed - close to the attractions on lake front.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
KevinDsouza84, Manager at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review about your stay with us. I am delighted to read all aspects of your stay were enjoyable and all staff made a lasting impression. Trust you had a great time in beautiful Fiordland and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, The Team at Distinction Luxmore

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.2 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 24 in Te Anau
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
344 reviews
0.4 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.8 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#19 of 24 in Te Anau
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

Address: 41 Town Centre | PO Box 167, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $153 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Luxmore Te Anau
Hotel Distinction Luxmore
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#8 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the family room were very spacious”
 of 5 bubbles Budgie0769, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a side room and 3rd floor could see out car parked from window very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles S6975VJelizabeths, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are a long way from Reception but lift helps.There have been renovations in recent times - we keep coming back!”
 of 5 bubbles mcitours2015, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't wait for room quietly...complain!”
 of 5 bubbles deborahbC3444RB, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request 1st floor room if climbing stairs is a problem”
  • Shower
  • Room Sitting Area
  • Plenty of Counter Space for Toiletries
  • Beds in Room 227
 of 5 bubbles VW49, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5