We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Anchorage Motel Apartments

Show Prices
#12 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Anchorage Motel Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Motel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 301: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

It's a fine motel and in line with expectations. It's a tad run down, but with friendly staff and all the amenities. The bed was so-so. For the price, I would have expected more -- but Te Anau is a tourist town and was full to brimming with poor saps who couldn't make it out to Fiordlands due to weather.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ianbnet
smalltownlad, Manager at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Hi - thank you for your comments. We are not in the habbit of kicking guests out however checkout time is usually around 10.ooam as is the case in many NZ Motels. We do have some flexiability sometimes depending on room avilability and your checkout time was extended to 10.30. We do not charge xtra for this and put no... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed in the motel for one night and found it quite expensive for what it offered. The room was ok, however, there was a strange smell in the room that we could not get out. Also, the whole furniture/ facitities etc. seemed to be quite cheap and poorly installed. We did not really find it to be good value... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveler1982222
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry the you did not enjoy your stay with us. Most of our property was extensively renovated 2 years ago and the fittings were not cheap as suggested. Rooms were extensively insulated as part of the renovation so we are not poorley insuated as suggested. Te Anau is a seasonal town and all... More 

HK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Stayed one night for visiting milford sound. The staff was friendly and told me that there was problem on the road to milford sound and reminded me to allow more time on road. The free wifi is a plus and not very common to other 5 motels which I stayed in South Island. The motel is a bit far from... More 

Helpful?
Thank canonLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We had altrered our original itinerary to spend two days in Te Anau, planning to visit Milford, Sadly the road was closed but staff helped us to rebook on the trip to Doubtful - well worth it despite the rain. The spa bath was very welcome after a wet day on the boat. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonnyG47
Dunedin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We pre-booked two nights at the Anchorage Motel. The young lady at the check in was very friendly and welcoming, offering us room #10. As we decided to stay a night longer we thought we had to change the room but they somehow managed to keep us in the same room for all three nights. We were offered free milk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trav459
Newborough
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Selected this motel through Trip Advisor, it was just right for our family. Affordable, neat and clean 2 bedroom motel unit with a good size bathroom, a great kitchen, including a coffee plunger with supply of coffee. The motel is a nice walk to town. The friendly receptionist recommended some restaurants to eat at, which were just great. The bus... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiwijetter
Vancouver
Level Contributor
291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We went to Te Anau specifically to visit Milford Sound and experience the Fiords and the beautiful scenery. Upon checking in at the Anchorage Motel, we voiced our desire to go there. Nigel, the inn keeper informed us that the road to Milford had been closed for the last two days because of unsafe road conditions. I was surprised because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brian021
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We spent about 2 weeks in NZ and stayed in many places during our stay. If one makes a comparison, the motel was equally clean and had decent room size. The only striking difference was the cramped parking space and the attitude of the owner. In all the places that we stayed, the managers/ owners were friendly and warm and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kritika J
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. All feedback is taken on board - the advice that was offered to you was to enjoy the drive to Milford Sound and that there is lots to see. Every visitor has different things they want to see and there is plenty to see along the way to Milford. Perhaps I misinterperted you in what... More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This place was popular. Our superior room was very modern well fitted out and had everything we needed. Modern and equipped kitchen. Heated floors in ensuite. Comfy bed. Flat screen digital TV with lots of SKY TV channels. Parking was well organised and the location was central but secluded. No issues. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do aim to please our guests and provide some amenties that you dont get at eveywhere else. It was our pleasure hosting you and welcome you back at any time in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We booked in for one night and had a one bedroom apartment. The facilities were clean and it was very well equiped. The free wi-fi was great. Borrowed the very strange bikes and enjoyed pedalling around the town and up to the wildlife centre. There's not much to do in Te Anau itself and we did appreciate the motel's ""Five... More 

Helpful?
Thank sheila c
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - we enjoyed hosting you and were pleased that you come back to stay with us twice. The bikes are used by many guests and are a great way to get around Te Anau and take in the sights. The small fee paid for the bikes is given to a local conservation trust to enable... More 

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
444 reviews
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $166 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Anchorage Motel Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one of the spa suites if possible... A nice warm spa at the end of a busy day is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Holidays1023, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Not so many options”
 of 5 bubbles ggabi, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Unit 15 is actually a small house beside the motel. We loved it!”
  • Our little house (Anchorage Motel # 15): welcoming & comfortable
 of 5 bubbles NahanniRafter, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Large rooms”
 of 5 bubbles John_Allwright, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't take a tow bedroom unless you need it.”
 of 5 bubbles MinnesotaJake, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay