We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchorage Motel Apartments

Show Prices
#12 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Anchorage Motel Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Motel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 301: English reviews
australia
Reviewed 26 January 2016

We were very disappointed, very expensive for the basic motel facilities. No view. No restaurant, no facilities.The room still had garbage from the previous tenants. Absolutely no privacy, had to keep the heavy curtains closed all day as well, everyone could look straight in to all rooms.no blinds or net curtains to help. Didn't help the cleaner opening them whilst...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley N
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Hi - thank you for your frank review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Yes we are a Motel Apartment and don't have the facilities that a large Hotel may offer however Te Anau is a small place and easy to get around with many eating establishments. The two bedroom unit that you booked was...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

Myself, husband and parents stayed at this motel for 1 night. Could not fault this accommodation. The female owner was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and had great facilities with kitchen and bathroom. The shower was lovely. It was a very peaceful location. Could have stayed another night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Brit2014
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and many thanks for taking the time to have your say. We do enjoy our business and hosting our guests from all around the world. Thank you again and enjoy the rest of your holiday and when you come back, do stay for a while longer. Thanks Nigel

Minnesota
Reviewed 28 December 2015

My husband and I were bracing ourselves for a Motel 6 type of experience for our hotel stay in Te Anau since there were no great in-between options (super expensive or super cheap). We were pleasantly surprised at this hotel. It was clean, had free WiFi and a kitchenette area. It was no-frills but a good option for passing through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarknAnna
smalltownlad, Owner at Anchorage Motel Apartments, responded to this review

Hi MarkinAnna, Thank you for your review and positive comments. We do aim to offer a enjoyable experience while you stay with us. Many of our guests also enjoy the additional extras like free WiFi with no restrictions. Thanks again and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your NZ experience. Nigel

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We arrived and were shown to our room,The room was a studio,we found the living area rather small and our bags had to be put on the floor as there was no where to put them which made walking around in the unit very tight.We found the bed a bit on the hard side,the room was clean,with a good kitchen,and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue Y
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We stayed there for 2 nights and every thing worked perfectly. Very clean, good bed and confortable room. It is a little far from the city center ( 1 km ) but it is not really a problem. You may walk ( 15 minutes ) or drive there ( there is plenty of parking in the city center).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benyap
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Excellent facilities, plenty of room, no noise from adjoining units. Comfortable bed good linen, everything you could ask for and more. Within comfortable walking distance of centre of town. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2015

The room was very clean and comfortable. The garden in front of rooms was a picture and a very pleasant spot to sit in the afternoon sun. A short drive to restaurants and shops.staff helpful recommending places to eat and booking tours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marjan_13
Reviewed 14 November 2015

A very well equipped and recently rennovated unit near to the lake and the village centre. Outside looks like standard older kiwi motel but unit was very modern and had everything we needed for our visit. Would definitely stay again when we next visit the amazing fiordland region.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geewiz81
Adelaide South Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We spent two nights at this motel, our room was well furnished, really comfortable bed, TWO luggage racks PLUS a wardrobe (why do so many motels/hotels only allow for one suitcase?), well stocked kitchen, heated bathroom floor and towel rails, lovely bathroom products and all in all just a really cosy place to stay. Two minute walk to the lake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BilferG
Narooma, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2015

This would have to be one of the best places we have stayed on our trip through the South Island. Not too expensive, it had everything we needed and indeed wanted. Along with a comfortable bed, good hot shower, fluffy towels and spacious room(we had been upgraded to a two bedroom unit), it also had underfloor heating in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryLT

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (120)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.5 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#4 of 24 in Te Anau
444 reviews
0.5 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
331 reviews
0.7 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#7 of 24 in Te Anau
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Anchorage Motel Apartments

Address: 47 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand (Formerly Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $163 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Motel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Anchorage Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel - Golden Chain Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Te Anau
Anchorage Hotel Te Anau
Anchorage Motel Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Anchorage Motel Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one of the spa suites if possible... A nice warm spa at the end of a busy day is worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Holidays1023, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Not so many options”
 of 5 bubbles ggabi, 15 May 2016 | Read review
“Unit 15 is actually a small house beside the motel. We loved it!”
  • Our little house (Anchorage Motel # 15): welcoming & comfortable
 of 5 bubbles NahanniRafter, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Large rooms”
 of 5 bubbles John_Allwright, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't take a tow bedroom unless you need it.”
 of 5 bubbles MinnesotaJake, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay