We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Explorer Motel & Apartments

Show Prices
#14 of 24 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Explorer Motel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 158: English reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There had unfortunately been poor weather the day before we arrived, and as such, some of our activities had to be cancelled or rescheduled. The staff at the motel, though we hadn't booked through the motel, voluntarily handled all of it, calling and rearranging times. Our room was large and spotless, and the location was within easy walking distance of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Twaize
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

After an eventful & splendid trip to milford sound we decided to stay the night in te anau & we picked here how wrong were we, it was outdated Old & not very comfortable at all & management were rude & less than accommodating I wouldn't stay here again & neither should you!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JamesSS01
Management response:

Hi Pete and Kerri, I am sorry that you found our motel uncomfortable, and we do realise that our units are not completely modern. However, we normally have great comments on the spaciousness and cleanliness of our units and the outdoor garden area. Having only been here a couple of months, we are beginning a refurbishment program. I apologise if...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights after doing an overnight cruise on Doubtful Sound and in anticipation of visiting Milford Sound. The hotel is in a great location, very close to the center of town, near restaurants, stores, etc. The staff was very helpful, especially when trying to book online and having a little glitch. Mary quickly responded to emails...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathryn l
Management response:

Hi Kathryn Thanks so much for your review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We trust you are enjoying the rest of your time in our country and that you enjoyed all your Fiordland experiences! Kind regards Mary Climo

Melbourne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Relaxing place to stay. The room we had was spacious and welcoming, and the kitchen was also well equipped. We found the reception staff to be very friendly and helpful. They arranged tours for us and this was done efficiently even though we had a few changes to make. The location in Te Anau is handy too - a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank airbus777
Management response:

Thanks so much for the great review of Explorer Motel & Apartments. I am glad that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly, but would be disappointed if we weren't! We are lucky to be located nice and handy to town which is a bonus to travellers who like to go out for dinner etc. We hope that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked here for two nights when doing Milford Sound. Lovely, big, comfortable room with nice modern bathroom. The electric blankets on the beds were very welcome on a damp cold few days and the caddy of milk on arrival facilitated a quick and welcome cup of tea. Only thing might be worth doing is including instructions for the frying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emohhhhhh
Management response:

Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite the horrific summer weather we have been getting! it really should not be necessary to use electric blankets at this time of the year! We will look at putting some instructions up for the hotplate and appreciate your feedback regarding that. Enjoy the rest of...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had two rooms and both were so clean and extremely comfortable. Really close to the town but in a great quiet spot. We had been emailed info re trips before leaving the UK by a wonderful lady Monique, she was so helpful and her advice was 1st class. We had an great three days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacqui S
Management response:

Thanks so much Jacqui for the review and we are thrilled to hear that Monique has looked after you well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and trust you enjoy the rest of your time in NZ! Best regards Mary Climo

Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The manager, Mary gave us a very warm Kiwi welcome for our 3 night stay! All the staff were very polite and greeted us with smiles in the morning. The location of the motel was perfect, near the lake and town centre, and also near the petrol station. The clean room was large enough and had a verandah. The utensils...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daccord
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

After several nights camping this room was just what we needed. Spacious and comfortable with friendly staff at the desk. A great pit stop before we continued our journey and at a good price. Would stay again!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allant827
Management response:

Thanks very much for giving us a good review and we are so pleased that you found our motel comfortable and affordable. We are also very pleased to hear that you found our front desk staff helpful and friendly. We do try and give a great Kiwi welcome to our guests. Wishing you more safe travels in NZ. Kind regards...

Maraekakaho, null, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Our family of 5 loved our 2 nights at Explorer Motel. Super friendly and helpful host. Our 2 bedroom unit was great, really clean and very big bedrooms, was nice having our own outdoor area too. Awesome pressure in the shower and there was also a spa bath in our large bathroom with plenty of towels. An easy 5 minute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
Management response:

Hi Michelle Thanks so much for your review and we are so glad to hear that you loved your stay with us here. The size of our rooms does bring many good comments and we are glad you enh=joyed the location as well. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time in the South and especially around Dunedin. Many thanks...

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

The motel is 5 min walk away from the city center and the lake, which is very nice. The rooms are comfortable, however there were some trash behind our bedroom door probably left from previous room users that weren't cleaned up. But for the most part it is a nice motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mei-Cheng F
Management response:

Thanks for your feedback Mei Cheng and I am glad you liked the location of our motel. It is very handy to the lake and the town centre which is a bonus for our guests. We are really sorry that the trash had not been emptied and that should not happen! Normally our rooms are rechecked after cleaning to alleviate...

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
471 reviews
0.4 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.3 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 24 in Te Anau
344 reviews
0.5 km away
ASURE Amber Court Motel
ASURE Amber Court Motel
#9 of 24 in Te Anau
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Explorer Motel & Apartments offer warm spacious apartments with spectacular mountain & park views,free wifi and friendly service. All apartments are self contained with the choice of studios or one and two bedroom apartments. We can accommodate singles, couples, families, corporate travellers or small groups. We have a movie/games room & communal kitchen with an extensive range of equipment (i.e. rice cookers, woks & hotplates), as well as a laundry with washers and dryers for guests use. Explorer Motel & Apartments is set in a park like gardens with guest BBQ area, it is a great place for relaxing in the evenings, after a long day visiting Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound or Fiordland National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Explorer Motel & Apartments

Address: Corner of Mokoroa and Cleddau Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $105 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Explorer Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Explorer Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Te Anau
Comfort Inn Te Anau
Explorer Motel & Apartments Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Explorer Motel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Louisville, Kentucky
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Explorer Motel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book your day trips with the help of the team at Explorer”
 of 5 bubbles 849jacquis, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles Daccord, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs room offer a private balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 201xaviern, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles Jerraquaffers, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we liked being on the end room”
 of 5 bubbles alderyacht, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5