We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radfords on the Lake

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radfords on the Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radfords on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 569: English reviews
Key West, Florida
Reviewed 5 January 2016

We stayed one night, ahead of our journey down to Milford Sound. The room was clean and modern. The host gave us useful information on where to eat and what to see in Te Anau plus things to see on the way down to Milford Sound. Our room was on the floor above ground level, and the view across to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Eric M
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Eric M Thank you for your review of your time here at Radfords, we are delighted that you were happy with our property and experience staying with us. We love to share our knowledge and advise on some of the must do's and places to eat in town. We hope you have many fond memories of your time in...

Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We we're warmly greeted by staff and we're set up with our reservations to Milford Sound. Was spot on with the time frame to eat breakfast, get a lunch and allow enough time to drive to get to Milford Sound parking lot so we could catch the boat. This hotel offers a lot of suggestions to see and do in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K S
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear KS We are so pleased you enjoyed our recommendations in the area, Te Anau is a wonderful place and being the gateway to the fiords and walking tracks, has a lot to offer our guests. We always want our guests to get the most out of there time with us. We appreciate you taking the time to post your...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We stayed here for three nights in December as a base for Fiordland and it has spacious well equipped apartments with lake views, they are a little on the expensive side compared with other NZ self catering motels,but that is probably because Te Anau is a very busy tourist centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Mike N Thank you for your review and feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in our units and found them suitable for your needs. You are correct, our tariffs are seasonal and hence your stay here was in our high season this reflects the rates at this time of the year. I do hope this did not...

Daventry
Reviewed 31 December 2015

My family recently stayed for 2 nights, all excellent. Kerri was most helpful and quite rightly suggested Mitre Peak cruises at Milford & we also went to the local rodeo which was just the best. Easy location for a quick stroll into town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
Radfords56, Manager at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Charlie M Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, you and your family were a pleasure to host and we are pleased your enjoyed your stay in Te Anau and hope you have taken away many fond memories of your time in Fiordland. Happy New Year and lets hope you get back to visit...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 20 December 2015

Clean rooms, lake views, friendly staff. Rooms have a kitchenette, comfortable beds, and a small patio. It's not fancy (as in luxury), but it's elegant in a simple way. We slept well here and got excellent advice for where to eat in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbmsf
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear jbmsf, Thank you for choosing to stay here at Radford's and for taking the time to review your recent stay, we are pleased you enjoyed your time here and found our recommendations to be helpful. We wish you a very Merry Christmas a prosperous 2016. Kind regards, Kerri & Steve James

Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Top motel in a top little town. Read around a bit and it seemed that this was the best Te Anau had to offer. Having stayed in the town for five nights, I'm sure there are no better places to stay. The good news is that it would rate as a great place to stay in any town. Not cheap,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Japanangka
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Japanangka, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay, we are delighted that you decided to stay five nights and enjoyed your time spent here. We wish you a very Merry Christmas and all the very best for 2016. Kind regards, Kerri & Steve James

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Nice, new and clean motel. Comfortable. Fantastic lake front view make you want to live there forever. Close to all amenities. Helicopter shop is just by few minutes walk. Next street are all cafes, restaurants and shops. Recommend to everyone who goes Te Anau. It's pricey but meet the expectations. Reception staff Kerri is so warm and helpful. She gave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank myprettie
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear myprettie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, we are absolutely delighted that we have become one of the highlights of your trip! We love to provide little extra's that will enhance our guests experience and leave lasting memories of their time in Fiordland. Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Radfords on...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2015

My partner and I went to Te Anau for two nights. Our main aim was to see the Milford Sound, as it is closer to Te Anau than Queenstown and it meant we wouldn't spend most of the day on a bus and could see more of the area. Radfords on the Lake was great. We had an executive room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ana C
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Ana C, Thank you very much for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay at Radford's, we really do hope that you are able to come back and stay again as you were both such lovely people to host, so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay here and you loved the area - it really...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Radford's was a nice surprise, we arrived late afternoon and the manager asked what we had planned for the evening and made some suggestions and where to have dinner we had a great night, the room was clean and nice separate living area and cooking facilities. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonie S
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Leonie S, Thank you for your wonderful feedback - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found it a nice surprise! Thank you for choosing to stay at Radford's and we hope you have a very Merry Christmas and all the best for 2016. Kind regards, Kerri & Steve James

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Had the pleasure of spending the last 2 nights of my 17-day New Zealand adventure at Radfords on the Lake. I couldn't have asked for a better place to end my trip. The location was fabulous, the views from my room (and seemingly every room) even better, and Kerri -- the innkeeper/owner -- was absolutely delightful and very knowledgeable. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kettil
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Kettil, Thank you kindly for your glowing feedback, it really does make my day when I hear that we have helped to end your holiday on a high note. It was my absolute pleasure to share my local knowledge and advise to you. I trust that your trip home went well and you are settling in ready for the...

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
361 reviews
0.8 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
482 reviews
0.2 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $212 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radfords on the Lake staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Radfords on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstair rooms have better view. Lower floors may have limited lake view due to car parking in front.”
  • Luggage rack area.
  • Heated towel rack
HanaleimomTx, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A room overlooking the lake is a must.”
962karinac, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors have the better view. But all rooms appeared to be lovely.”
14karib, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs has most privacy and best views.”
Spdmoore01, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms had best views.”
MoyraF, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5