We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Radfords on the Lake

TravelocityUS$133*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Radfords on the Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Radfords on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 569: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Stayed at the radfords for one night with my family (2 adults 2 children ) the room was extremely comfortable and large. They helped book the glow worms and recommend a couple of great places to eat. Even got to meet precious with the girls loved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharnie M
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Sharnie M, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Radfords, you were all a pleasure to meet and host. Precious the cat enjoyed all the extra attention!! We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in NZ. Kind regards, Kerri & Steve James

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Great location, very central, immaculately kept and very comfortable. Kerri is very welcoming and helpful. All the dining locations Kerri recommended were great! If lucky enough to come back, will stay here again. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryFrances2012
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Mary Frances2012 Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your experience while staying with us. We are delighted that you found our recommendations meet your needs, and that your enjoyed the central location and the comforts and cleanliness of your apartment. Should you come this way again we would welcome the chance to host you again. Best Wishes Kerri...

Reviewed 15 June 2015

We are currently staying at Radfords and just had to write a review to express my happiness with the hotel. We are staying for a total of 4 nights in a spa room on the ground floor. On arrival, the first thing I noticed was all the small touches which made it so welcoming. The fresh flowers in a vase,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pookiemurray
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear pookiemurray, Wow I don't think we have ever had anyone write a review whilst still staying with us! We are always so appreciative of receiving feedback and to read this glowing review has made my day! We are delighted you are enjoying your stay and I will pass on your review to our excellent team of staff as they...

Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

I am not the one the write reviews..this is the first time im writing one as I feel compelled to after our stay at Radfords ..we stayed only for a night at Radfords but it was an experience and a really lovely one ..the decor and layout of the room was beautiful ..the bathroom very clean and shiny .. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nidhi S
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Nidhi S Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us. We are delighted that we met your expectations and I hope you have many fond memories of your time in Fiordland. We hope that we may be able to assist with your accommodation needs the next time you come this way. Best Wishes Kerri and...

Indialantic, Florida
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Lovely property, comfortable room and very friendly B&W cat, Precious! The daughter of the owners, Shelley, was so helpful with local information, especially about seeing the Milford Sound movie and suggestions for restaurants. Excellent location for a quick walk into the central part of town along the lake. A wonderful modern motel with convenient parking; the owners live on site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara K
Radfords56, Manager at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Tamara K, Thank you for placing your valued feedback. I am delighted that you found my recommendations to be helpful and that you got to sample some of our wonderful restaurants on offer. You were both an absolute pleasure to host and I trust you take away many fond memories of your time in NZ. Kind regards, Shelley Walsh

Lochinvar, Australia
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Terrific views, fabulous service, lovely spacious modern room with comfortable beds. Breakfast was supplied in our room & we had food left over ! You are only a short walk to the town centre & restaurants, cafes etc. This is a really lovely motel who also offers great value. I used the wifi each day with easy connection & good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Cathy C, Thank you Cathy for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Radfords on the Lake. You were both a pleasure to host and we hope the large amount of rain we had whilst you were staying hasn't dampened your wonderful memories of Te Anau. We trust the remainder of your holiday went well and...

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 April 2015

I'm not one to write reviews but feel compelled to after our stay at Radfords. This was not just a night in a motel - it was an experience - and a really lovely one at that. We were blown away by the exceptional service. Greeted by Shelley we were immediately made to feel welcome. She enquired as to our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen L
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Karen Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience of your recent stay with us. To know that you were well looked after in our absence by our wonderful team is heart warming to say the least and that your time here was made memorable because of the small details ie the heaters on in your room...

san jose
Reviewed 26 April 2015

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay here. Our accommodation (living room/kitchenette, separate bedroom and bathroom) was comfortable and well appointed, with a good view of the lake and a five minute walk from town. Nice collection of dvd's. Service was very good; the owner went beyond the call of duty by rousing himself early in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave40sanjose
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear dave40sanjose, We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your time spent here, we were only too happy to help by driving you to the bus stop as the rain was rather intense that morning! We do hope you are enjoying the remainder of your holiday. Kindest regards, Kerri & Steve James

Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in the two bedroom apartment. Rooms/bathroom were very clean, spacious. We arrived early (about noon) but the room was ready, so they let us check-in. The lady who checked us in was very friendly, and gave us recommendations on tours and restaurants. Our room was on the second floor. There was no elevator, so carrying our bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horacethehog
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear horacethehog, Thank you for rating your recent stay here at Radfords on the Lake. We were happy to be able to check you in early we are very flexible on this and if the room is ready we have no problem with early check ins and if the room is not ready we make it a priority to get...

Sydney
Reviewed 19 April 2015

As a family of 5 we stayed one night at Radfords on the way back from Milford Sound. We were not disappointed. This a very well run Hotel with real attention to detail and you can see why they have won awards and praise from many travellers. It was a bit of a squeeze with only one bathroom and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allens_2100
Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Allens_2100, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding the room presentation and the helpful advice you received whilst staying here. We hope the remainder of your travels are going well. Kind regards, Kerri & Steve James

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (21)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.1 km away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
362 reviews
0.8 km away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.1 km away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
485 reviews
0.2 km away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay in style at Radfords on the Lake. Our well equipped units have a warm and luxurious feel. With attention to detail and complete commitment to your stay, our service is sure to make you feel welcome. Lake and mountain views from every suite and conveniently located close to the town centre. Look out for those little extras like candles, flowers, 50+ channel SKY TV and a great selection of DVDs for guests enjoyment. With guest laundry, continental breakfasts, kitchenette, off road parking, free wireless internet for use in your room, our aim is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Winners of the NZ AA Supreme host of the year award 2013 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radfords on the Lake

Address: 56 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand (Formerly Radfords Lakeview Motel)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Price Range: $212 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radfords on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Radfords on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radfords Lakeview Hotel Te Anau
Radfords Lakeview Te Anau
Radfords On The Lake Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#4 Green Hotel in Te Anau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radfords on the Lake staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Radfords on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstair rooms have better view. Lower floors may have limited lake view due to car parking in front.”
  • Luggage rack area.
  • Heated towel rack
HanaleimomTx, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A room overlooking the lake is a must.”
962karinac, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors have the better view. But all rooms appeared to be lovely.”
14karib, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs has most privacy and best views.”
Spdmoore01, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The upstairs rooms had best views.”
MoyraF, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$133* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$133
Booking.comUS$137
Hotels.comUS$133
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates