We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bella Vista Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 75: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 October 2015

we travelled up the west coast and stayed in the Bella Vista's all the way up.We loved that all of them are located close to all ammenites, walking distance to restaurants and shops,very good service and very comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suntravel2015
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your Bella Vista Motels experience while travelling the West Coast. We have 27 locations throughout NZ. Regards Marilyn & Trevor

Moranbah, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

The host met me and was very helpful showing me to my room. I was happy with a ground floor option and basic kitchenette with microwave. The room was very small. In fact The smallest I've encountered in New Zealand. There was no where to put your luggage at all which is unusual. Room was nice and clean and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BlueKazandMegan
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments. The Compact studio is a smaller unit and while it suits some people they do not suit everyone. The Bella Vista Motels do have large studios. Marilyn & Trevor

Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

We drove into westport late and this was the first place we dropped into. They gave us a two bedroom apartment for the fir of us. It was warm and comfortable a welcome site after a long wet drive. The owners were lovely and when they dropped fresh milk in they also fave us a plate of yummy homemade shortbread....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hello We think you have reviewed the wrong property and that you stayed at another motel, can you check your receipts as to where you stayed. Marilyn Bella Vista Motel Westport

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 May 2015

Stayed here on an overnight business trip, me and a small overnight bag. Greeting was welcoming and room clean but far too small for todays standards. Tiny work space and 'kitchen' area, small chair, cupboard and bed took up the room. No place to put my small bag except the chair. The room felt cramped just with one person. Heater...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to make a comment. Some of our studios are compact and don't suit everyone's needs, we do have larger units with cooking options. Our guests sometimes use the wardrobe to put their bags/cases in. We look forward to having you stay again in the future. Marilyn & Trevor

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Very average. To be fair we arrived on a wet day - and cold for us. The room was extremely cold and gloomy so we turned the heater on. This was rather old and noisy and right next to the bed ...roared away and then the thermostat kicked in ...then it would roar away again etc. etc .... When the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio46
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We understand the heater issue. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Marilyn & Trevor

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Nice tidy motel as you arrive into Westport.Good Reception with good advise of what to do.Very clean Unit with Microwave etc.A bit noisy during day but by 6pm very quiet.Walking distance to the township of about 5 minutes.On main street close to all shops and Restaurants .Close to takeaway shops and supermarket.Overall very good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme S
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hello Graeme, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your kind comments are much appreciated. We look forward to having you stay again sometime. Marilyn & Trevor

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Run of the mill motel, nothing to complain about but on the other had nothing to rave over. Room was clean and bed fairly comfortable. However do not take the breakfast option as this is delivered to your room and is vastly overpriced. Several motels in the area for meals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maurice F
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Hello Maurice, thank you for your comments, we appreciate any feedback. Beds are a personal choice, we all have different opinions on which is the right bed. Your comment about the breakfasts we always give our guests the option to have breakfast at a café if they do not want it delivered to their unit. With your last comment did...

Reviewed 29 March 2015

Beautifully clean and well presented rooms. We had a spa bath suite and there was lots of space, good accessories too. The owners were very helpful pointing out local restaurants and a takeaway shop. Would certainly recommend it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EAS509
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we are only to happy to be of assistance in some way if we can. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Marilyn & Trevor

Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 March 2015

This has to be one of the top 4 of the 15 Bella Vista motels we stayed at during our recent tour of the South Island. The welcome we received from our hosts was very genuine. The units were not only clean and comfortable but were also bright and airy and they contained everything, and more, than one would expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NI_Travellers_12
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Your kind comments are much appreciated and we look forward to having you stay again one day. Here's hoping you enjoyed the remainder of your travels. Marilyn & Trevor

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We weren't expecting to stay in Westport a second night but drove back from visiting waterfalls in the north and went to Bella Vista because we wanted to stay somewhere different from the night before (Spa Motel). Our room was surprisingly large for a Bella Vista. All the usual quality/service we expect from the chain. We walked to dinner from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anaussiemusicfan
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments. Pleased we were able to have you stay another night in Westport. Hoping the remainder of your holiday was enjoyable. Marilyn & Trevor

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 km away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Westport
48 reviews
0.2 km away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 km away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#11 of 11 in Westport
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#1 of 11 in Westport
318 reviews
0.1 km away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.1 km away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#4 of 11 in Westport
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Price Range: $116 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Westport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You may want to be on the ground floor especially if you have a large suitcase.”
 of 5 bubbles serpentine2014, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Easy acess”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 May 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor has easy access. Pay the extra for king spa room - worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles TedV243, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Wifi was free but limited; typical of my experience at any hotel in NZ.”
 of 5 bubbles 250meredithc, 16 Feb 2016 | Read review
“We had upstairs which was great”
 of 5 bubbles sandmaitken, 14 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay